Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacual Phone
Spectacular Phone!
I am a long-term Blackberry user that uses his phone mostly for business but also for managing personal accounts. For several years, I have used Blackberry to handle my messaging demands including two (2) exchange accounts and four (4) personal accounts. I had been waiting to move to phone that could smartly handle these needs, and I have found...
Published on June 15, 2011 by Charles

versus
81 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent "Smartphone" - Average "Phone"
Let me start this review by stating one thing first : This is an EXCELLENT "SMART"Phone.
This phone is a pure joy to hold it in your hand. The Build quality is top-notch and the back of the phone feels rich and stylish.
The front is full Gorilla glass - top grade.
Due to it's smart design, this does not feel big, its just the perfect size for a smartphone...
Published on June 29, 2011 by Sujoy Banerjee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing smartphone! simply Wonderful!, March 15, 2012
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The HTC Sensation is a awesome smartphone! I love mine! I have had no problems with it! It's fast, and incredibly easy to use the image quality is outstanding! This is the best phone I've ever owned and I've owned blackberries , androids, I phones, but this phone beats them all! There is so much you can do with this phone and all ability are easy to learn ! I use my phone as a wireless router,I tether my device, sync with my computer and I learned to do these things with no problems! HTC makes it easily done! I love expandable memory,I' ve changed my card to a 16GB for more apps, yes most apps can be moved to the SD card freeing up phones memory. Video is simplily fabulous on this phone ! This phone is incredibly fast! I highly recommend this phone!you can personalize the seven home screens and make it truly your style! Can't say enough about good things!you must see for yourself,you will LOVE it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing phone, a few cons, March 1, 2012
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I used to think I won't need smartphones. How wrong I was! Once I got this thing, I cant leave home without it.

This phone is a BEAST when it comes to things like office, video playback, internet, and speed of basically everything. I can study off my powerpoints on Kingsoft Office while listening to youtube music on Dolphin Browser HD, all on 4G connection.

If there was an option for a 4.5/5 I would choose it. The phone is not without imperfections, and the major hang is BATTERY LIFE! Taking calls or making calls with this smart phone drains its battery HEAVILY. Have to turn down quite a few features once you get it (most of non-essential sync, brightness), they are all unnecessary stuff you don't need.

This was my first smartphone, but I can already tell other people are jealous of my sexy phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wowwww this phone has some bugs, April 18, 2012
By 
maj71303 (shreveport, louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I got my wife this phone and months later she has demanded another phone after dealing with the constant problems. The Phone will reboot after being idle, has the worst battery life, and every time you turn around something is force closing or stopping. The issues just almost mad her throw it out the window of our car into the river.

She has said she wants no more android phones since this isn't the first one with problems like that. So we now have migrated to windows phone 7 as it was like night and day to her. We don't try to stuff a phone with apps and after a while you don't use have the apps on a phone hardly any. So for us we don't listen to this one has this many apps as most or useless anyway.

So be warned everyone the latest apps and how much it can be customized means nothing is a phone can do the simple task of being a phone first.

Update:

You know what bugs us the most is that phones that could be updated get left behind very quickly each time a new Android OS comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PHONE IN T-MOBILE HISTORY, August 10, 2011
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
THIS PHONE DOES EVERYTHING FROM 8 MEGAPIXEL CAM TO REALLY GOOD INTERNET SPEEDS. WITH THE WIFI CALLING, I CAN BE ON THE PHONE AND THE INTERNET AT THE SAME TIME WITHOUT IT SLOWING DOWN AT ALL. ALSO WITH THE WIFI CALLING I HAVE YET TO DROP A CALL! THE BEST TMOBILE PHONE EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst phone ever?, May 6, 2013
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Yes. I'm on, oh, let's see, maybe my 16th free replacement HTC Sensation from T-Mobile. I'm pretty sure no one else is going to actually purchase this buggy, erratic phone anymore, but I wanted to put my negative review in just to be sure. Any positive review for this phone is from 2011. Do your research, this phone has no longevity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great at first then went bad fast- update- good again, August 31, 2012
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
My advice is don't get it unless you get extra batteries (like Ankers Anker® 1900mAh Li-ion Battery For HTC Sensation, Sensation XE,Sensation 4G, EVO 3D, Mytouch 4G Slide, Amaze 4G - White ) and condition them properly (see bottom of review). I replaced my very old razor as I was waiting for the best phone of the moment to be out and get some feedback back from users on functionality and reliability. I had the HTC Sensation 4G for about 3 to 4 months and wrote rave reviews--I loved it. I watched YouTube videos, emailed, surfed the web, listened to Science Fridays and enjoyed lots of apps.

After a year of owning it I have a quite different story to tell (but now see update at bottom too). After you download all the apps that you want and fill the phone with texting, videos, etc., it started to wig out (but it was a simple battery problem in my case). Now that I use all the features the phone overheats, seriously lags, shuts off at random, restarts at random, drops WIFI calls when I am standing next to the wireless router. It even turned itself back on in a movie theater while I was watching a film and took a call (is it the poor on/off button location? Can it really be pressed to turn on in my pocket???) and it has done that more than once (OK, lots of times). I keep the phone in my front pocket and it has never been dropped or been near any water so I can't explain the behavior. When I pull it out of my pocket sometimes it is on when it should be off and other times it is off when I thought it was on. I've noticed that it does like to turn itself off during power changes. For example, I have 40%-50% battery left and I dial a number, as soon as it start to connect it shuts off or reboots. It did that with a text message as well. The WIFI was on once and off at other times (WIFI is a huge power sucker and the 2 new Anker 1900mAh batteries and extra charger cured all of these problems).

Right now the worst problem is the shutdown/reboot issue (cured by new batteries). After a couple hours of use, my Sensation has a nasty habit of turning itself off every 10-20 minutes. Sometimes it gets stuck in a loop and the only way I can keep it running is to plug it in and charge it (and it has plenty of juice left in the defective battery according to the battery saver application). I've tried pulling the battery (I'm really good at getting it out of the case in seconds now), restarts, turn off everything (make sure WIFI, GPS and Bluetooth is off), shut down all apps, letting it cool down and the only fix is to plug it into a charger. I've read on the forums that having extra Anker batteries around are a good work around (boy was he right, thanks again gramps!) so I'll look into those as everyone that sends their phones back get the same thing back or worse (I stuck with the devil I knew and the new batteries fixed it).

Brand new, out of the box it has a poor speaker-phone, lousy battery life and is very picky about signal strength (poor call quality when not using headset as I can't hear people without jamming it into my ear, and it drops lots of calls). The keyboard is almost impossible to use in vertical mode and it has a new bug in the new Ice Cream update that does not allow the screen to rotate to horizontal without a restart. I don't have any experience with Samsung but I'd like to try anything else at this point(see update below)...

++++++++++++++++++++++
++++++++++++++++++++++

UPDATE

On the T-Mobile forums I found many that had the exact same problems as I did. They have a bunch of troubleshooting steps and one guy recommended getting the Anker battery set (2 batteries plus a charger for about $30) and I did. All my problems went away with the new Ankers! when i received the new batteries it stated that they had to be broken in with 4-5 charges to 100% and then use the HTC until dead (as close to 0% as possible) and then charge up to 100% again without interruption. I am still doing this right now by taking one battery charged to 100% and then putting depleted spare in the charger (after about 4 hours it is fully charged) until it is back to 100% then I stick it is a plastic (non-conductive) bag and keep it in my pocket until I need it.

I must have ruined the original battery and it took about 3 or 4 months to start acting goofy and making the phone unusable. I now have 100% of the function back without any real problems. All the freezing, reboots and shutdowns (at full charge), rapid power consumption, etc have stopped and the phone is totally great again. I wish that HTC would put a warning about battery problems on the box. I have to believe that this is a random thing with "bad" batches of batteries because many on the forums never had any of my problems.

In my case the batteries made all the difference! Beware of breaking them in properly...also the Ankers at 1900mAh (Anker® 1900mAh Li-ion Battery For HTC Sensation, Sensation XE,Sensation 4G, EVO 3D, Mytouch 4G Slide, Amaze 4G - White)last alot longer and make the phone even better than new! So it begs the question: Why don't they ship it with the 1900mAh batteries?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would never buy this again, January 11, 2012
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Piece of junk. I am on my 4th Sensation in 2 weeks. First one would intermittently shut down (completely, and would need to be rebooted), second one had defective bluetooth, third one had dust under the screen in 1 day of use, and now the 4th one also has dust after 6 days of use. The dust issue is all over the forums, yet HTC support says they've never heard of the issue. My provider says "they all do it" when I complained of the dust. Very frustrating for a $550 phone. Hope someone gets angry enough to file a class action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Tool: Phone, Camera, Internet (and More), December 30, 2011
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
So far, several months into using the HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile), I'm pleased. As this is my first smartphone, I was concerned about how fast 4G really is as it relates to different apps. Faster is always better, but this is a fantastic start.

It is difficult to separate the device from the apps. I have been careful only to download name brand apps, avoiding the nastiness that happens when downloading some unknown company's tool.

I have a couple Gmail accounts coming through with ease. Internet use has been trouble free, and especially good when sites are mobile-ready. Netflix works well, though their updates can be dodgy, but that's a Netflix problem. LinkedIn, Peep, YouTube, Google Doc, Google Translate, TuneIn Radio, Spotify are all good here. Kindle is slow to load, but it gets the job done. How good is Angry Birds? I don't want to talk about it. I'm addicted.

The camera shots and video have all been impressive, though the sound pick-up with the video is sometimes slightly off. I use the camera daily.

Things are fast, clean, and only occasional freezes. I'm a happy customer, looking forward to the next generation. I fully recommend the HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I am on my third phone. HTC will not replace, Tmobile will charge you!, November 17, 2011
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I am on my third Sensation. The first had two issues: The charger stopped connecting (it was the charger)within 30 days then the earpiece just stopped working mid call about two weeks later... so a total of maybe 46 days of phone ownership and kaput. I though the call was dropped. It was simply that I couldn't hear the person I was speaking with. I figured out that I could use speakerphone but if you have this phone you know that he speaker is useless. You simply can't use it for a serious call. The phone has potential but I have had a number of issues and so have others.

FYI T-mobile will charge you 20$ to replace it under warranty and HTC won't replace it, but they'll fix it at your expense to ship it. AND, if replaced, you'll get a refurbished (phone (hopefully not a broken one like they sent me), and that's a shame because I paid for a new phone. All cell companies do this, I think. It's a such a scam.

As far as unlocking my phone, well Tmobile has said that is a possibility but not associated with contract which means you're stuck with it if you buy it. As a long time customer of T-mobile I'd think about something else. Avoid a contract and I'd probably avoid this phone.

The pros are the screen and picture quality and ease of use to post photos and video. I've enjoyed using this phone and if it had better support I'd consider using it longer.
The cons are the sound, slow camera, quality, and keyboard (read some other reviews for a better technical explanation.

As a nice end to my review, here's an exerpt of my cnet review of tmobile:
Overall, the services that T-mobile used to support are no longer there ...
Just got of the phone regarding the continued account issues and the executive office representative refused to let me out of my contract despite my offering to return the equipment because, says this rep, the ability to unlock my phone (an offered service and one that inspires a global traveler like me to remain with the company)is not part of my contract. She then tells me that I am using the services and must pay a penalty. during this same conversation, just five minutes later, when I point out that this call is taking place 4 days after the date promised via e-mail from this same 'executive', she claims to have called me but was unable to leave a voicemail on my phone for 'some reason'. Interesting services I pay for at T-mobile. I am offered the opportunity to call tech support and spend hours on the phone talking about my issues I didn't know I had, and we'll be talking about the wrong phone because that's what shows up on my account. If price is essential for you, consider all of your options before considering a contracted plan. I'm looking for a new provider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it except for battery and..., September 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: HTC Sensation 4G Android Phone (T-Mobile) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Great phone, fast connection, useful apps. Battery life is AWFUL. I use it for GPS en route to work (8:00am)- connected to power and some light email browsing during the day. Battery is yellow by the time I leave at 5pm. So that's the first thing that makes me not give it 5 stars.

The second thing is a T-Mobile issue: after paying full price for it ($500), I now see where others can buy it for $200. I'm on a 2 year contract! Not cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa595a444)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.