Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars29
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$43.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 5, 2012
Well written and (relatively) concise book. It contains numerous techniques for efficiently managing binary data and various examinations of bitwise arithmetic.

The algorithms explained are detailed and useful. I've used a number of them 'in anger' and they've worked perfectly. I haven't come across any other book that addresses the field as well as this one does.
22 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
The book is full of useful bit-twiddling tricks. How do you quickly count the number of bits set in a 2's complement long integer? If you can't imagine caring, then this book isn't for you, but if you need to write fast, low-level code on occasion, the price of the book will be repaid the first time you find a clear explanation of some trick, instead of having to figure it out for yourself. It's a more polished, restricted version of Hackmem, which I also recommend.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I rarely recommend a second edition of anything to someone who owns the first, but this stands out as a worthy exception. It starts with the amazing menagerie of slick tricks that the first edition had, but adds material regarding CRCs, error correction, creative arithmetic, and more. Oh, I'm sure you can get by without these for lots of purposes. When efficiency really matters, though, or when you need to work in constrained environments (like small embedded processors that lack floating point or maybe even division instructions), approaches like these more than make up for the effort involved in using them. And, if you code in VHDL or Verilog instead of sequential languages, tools like these can help you past that last nanosecond to meet timing.

Highly recommended, not just because my copy of the first edition came with so many poorly-bound, loose pages.

-- wiredweird
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Hacker's Delight first edition was resourceful. This second edition even more so.

The bit manipulation chapters have lots of hints on how to code without branches.

There are some "scary" math on later chapters but you can ignore it.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
I develop for embedded systems. Mostly in C, but sometimes in assembly. This book is fantastic. I just got it today and can't put it down. You may have picked up a few of these tricks along the line, but THIS is the definitive collection, and I plan to keep it right on my desk.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
nice book, good for reviewing it once in a while. Don't read before interviews, it might confuse you and most interviewers won't understand what you want to do. This is for very advanced and out-of-norm programmers
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
This not what you might think the title implies. This is on the level of Donald Knuth's books although there's no attempt to be comprehensive. These are tips for hacker's with the equivalent knowledge of a hacker with a PhD in Computer Science. Great stuff for the serious programmer.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2016
This book was recommended by my professor.

It's basically a collection of binary math tricks that really help out in understanding the algorithms that are best suited for whatever you are trying to accomplish.

It's pretty advanced so if you don't have a basic understanding of coding yet, then this will be pretty hard to grasp and make adequate use of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2014
This book focuses on low-level programming algorithms designed to optimize code efficiency and execution speed. Serious programmers will benefit from studying this volume.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
Everybody knows Colman's algorithm book and Knuth's TAOCP is great book. but Nobody(?) read those. those books are too hard for mere mortals. This book can be solution. many practical algorithms are explained quite well. easy to read. and can be used directly - C source code provided - . This book reduces significant time for searching algorithms in internet.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.