Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new breed of crackers...
While the first reviewer didn't like the emphasis on Rootkits as opposed to also including more info on Malware, there are already plenty of books concerning Malware in my opinion.
The delivery mechanism (Rootkits) seems to be less exposed and known about in the general public.

This book deals more with actually locating, and removing Rootkits (within...
Published on December 22, 2009 by William Scarbrough

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much emphasis on rootkits
80% of the book was dedicated to rootkits. You would think that with a title of Malware & Rootkits, the delivery system for rootkits would get more emphasis. Two stars.
Published on November 21, 2009 by Alex Gimarc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new breed of crackers..., December 22, 2009
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
While the first reviewer didn't like the emphasis on Rootkits as opposed to also including more info on Malware, there are already plenty of books concerning Malware in my opinion.
The delivery mechanism (Rootkits) seems to be less exposed and known about in the general public.

This book deals more with actually locating, and removing Rootkits (within reason) where as many of the recently published Rootkit guides deal more with implementation and structuring of Rootkits.
For the above average computer user as well as IT professional, I would highly recommend this book. It's not written in laymans terms but even someone who is an avid computer user could pick up many useful tips from this read. If you have any dreams of getting into the computer security field or if you do computer security on the side, this is an absolute must have for your library.
The newest generation of crackers and black hats are quickly moving to the Rootkit delivery system because of it's totally stealth characteristics and fast deployment system rendering todays AV and Anti-Malware programs virtually useless to protect the end user.

Personally I'd recommend everyone get or read this book since Rootkits ARE the wave of the future without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filled in the Gaps, November 23, 2010
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
Well, I am a "layperson" and found an abundance of interesting and informative material in this well written manual. A close relative works in the cyber security industry so I wanted to become conversant in the language and concepts of his day-to-day mission. Although some of the terms were "above my pay grade," I understood the material and learned far more than I ever have after reading online overviews of the same topics. I especially appreciated the chapters on anti-virus and host detections systems that explain the dynamic nature of the antivirus industry and ongoing programs designed to combat ever growing malicious threats. Our increasing dependence on computers dictate that we become more knowledgable about detecting malware, etc. This book certainly helped me undertand what I need to know and do to protect my computers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Threat from cyberspace, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
Well written. Thoroughly researched by technology security professionals. For those who needed to protect their computers and data systems, this is a good resource book to keep by our side. Stay alert. Do not execute your mails blindly. Threats comes by the moment you power up your computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read with good ideas!, October 13, 2010
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
This book is succinct, yet detailed. It addresses the real-time emerging threat of not only malware and rootkits, but the individuals behind the development and deployment of them. They do a very good job of discussing possible countermeasures in each chapter which focus on specific issues and offer the common sense solutions which and IT professional should have no problem implementing. A friend recommended this to me, and I am glad he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
the book in great condition, and the information in it is valuable for people want to learn how to protect your computer system from Malware , and Root Kits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HACKING EXPOSED BOOKS ARE GREAT!!, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
I own every hacking exposed book ever printed that i am aware of. These are great sources for learning and structuring skills in many valuable situations. They are based on theory and have great examples when you would use the necessary solutions to achieve of overcome challenges.

They are Great Books!! ---That is my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
Review Your Purchases

Customers found your reviews helpful 2 times

Your public name is Eddie Change

Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions

Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions
Michael Davis

How do you rate this product?

I love it

eadline or summary for your review (required)

Write your review here (required)
Consider:
Why did you choose this rating?
What did you like or dislike?
Who would you recommend this product to?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LAYMAN'S USE, January 2, 2010
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
I am a layman when it comes to computers but did find the infomation useful to even me. Anyone who's career or job is dependent upon daily computer use should read this, it could become as asset to your next step up and advancement! Good reading!
Richard M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much emphasis on rootkits, November 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions (Paperback)
80% of the book was dedicated to rootkits. You would think that with a title of Malware & Rootkits, the delivery system for rootkits would get more emphasis. Two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hacking Exposed:  Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions
Hacking Exposed: Malware & Rootkits Secrets & Solutions by Michael A. Davis (Paperback - September 23, 2009)
$57.00 $37.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.