Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


215 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haier mini-freezer
I needed a small freezer for storing excess frozen blueberries from a bulk purchase so after researching different makes and models, I finally decided to purchase the Haier mini-freezer from Amazon. Amazon offered free shipping and the price of the unit was $20 cheaper than my local walmart and target. It was very good customer service for Fedex sending two employees to...
Published on May 28, 2010 by Soul to Steal

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So Far Third One Seems Ok
This freezer is just the size we needed. My concern was either I am going to get it without any damage. While reading the reviews, I found it doesn't come in proper packaging, which is absolutely true. In the owner's manual I found, "warranty does not cover Damages in shipping". No doubt Haier needed to mention it for their protection. But Amazon did their best by...
Published on September 29, 2011 by Muntasir M. Mamun


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

215 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haier mini-freezer, May 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
I needed a small freezer for storing excess frozen blueberries from a bulk purchase so after researching different makes and models, I finally decided to purchase the Haier mini-freezer from Amazon. Amazon offered free shipping and the price of the unit was $20 cheaper than my local walmart and target. It was very good customer service for Fedex sending two employees to deliver the mini-freezer so it arrived in excellent condition even though the way the mini-freezer was packaged from Haier was the worst I've ever encountered. There was absolutely no foam or packing material to protect the unit and after cutting one plastic strap the card board box fell apart.

After inspecting the unit for damage, I found one small dent near the top-right of the freezer door (See the images that I've posted above). I proceeded to follow the instruction booklet and plugged it in. I filled the mini-ice tray (Included with the unit) with water and left it in the freezer. Two hours later I checked to make sure the unit was still working and noticed the water had already frozen so now I have mini-ice cubes ^_^

I thought it would be helpful to include the mini-freezers interior measurements for usable space: I've measured the freezers interior top half at 15 inches wide with a depth of 12 inches, while below the removable wire shelf the bottom half measures 15 inches wide with a depth of only 7 inches (Usable space is lost due to the units motor).

Pros-
The unit is very quiet.
It looks nice and the handle is built into the top of the door.
The hinge can be moved to the opposite side depending on which way you prefer the door to open.
It has a switch in the back which allows temperature adjustment from 1-7 (I have it set on 4).
It has a removable wire rack inside the freezer.

Cons-
Some of the space in the lower section of the freezer is lost to the units motor.

I'm very happy so far with my purchase and recommend this mini-freezer to anyone that needs a little additional freezer space, but keep in mind there is a high percentage chance it will arrive with a dent >_<.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haier mini-freezer, July 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
This is a nice little freezer, but as with the other reviewers, it arrived damaged. It has a crease-like dent on the right side where it will not be seen, but if it was packaged a little better, that could be avoided. So far it runs fine and is very quiet. Being as I have very little extra room in my kitchen, this will serve my needs for extra freezer space to be able to take advantage of sales. I took away one star for the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item, August 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
I bought this item for camping, as we can never keep anything cold for the ten days we go. It's nice and small, holds alot of food, it got so cold that we had to leave the ice cream out for a bit to get a spoon into it. It would be a great item for the house to buy food in bulk, it did not freeze up inside or cause any cold burns on food. I would buy this item again, good price with Amazon.com about $140.00 cheaper than going local.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So Far Third One Seems Ok, September 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
This freezer is just the size we needed. My concern was either I am going to get it without any damage. While reading the reviews, I found it doesn't come in proper packaging, which is absolutely true. In the owner's manual I found, "warranty does not cover Damages in shipping". No doubt Haier needed to mention it for their protection. But Amazon did their best by repacking it with bubble wraps.
Mine arrived in perfect condition. After 2 days I setup the freezer on kitchen counter top. Set the temperature control dial to "4" as recommended. Waited 24 hours before plug in.
Few minutes after plug in my wife asked me from the living room, "What is that noise"? Yes the freezer was making that noise. I went through the reviews and found, almost five people reviewed this freezer as very quiet, no one complained about the noise. We thought may be after running 1 or 2 days it will come down but unfortunately it did not. We have another approximate 18 cubic-foot refrigerator in the kitchen but that doesn't make even half the noise this freezer makes. At night we can hear it any place from our 900 sqft apartment.
The compressor is running almost continuously. It stops just for 4 to 5 minutes after few hours of running. My other refrigerator's compressor remains off most of the time. I checked the manual and found everything is fine from my end. I have 2 inches gap from the top but at least 6 inches gap from other sides. Room temperature is between 68F to 72F. Door is closing tightly and at least one third space is free inside. After 24 hours running, I unplugged the freezer, reset the temperature dial to 4 again and plugged in after 10 minutes.
One more thing, both sides of the freezer get warm. But it might not be a problem. As I had another Samsung refrigerator that used to do the same.
The good thing about the freezer, it is cooling properly.
I am looking for alternatives but still did not find any better reviewed freezer with this size. It is only two days I am using the freezer. I will check one or two more days and then would request Amazon to replace it. Hopefully only this one has something wrong with it. If I find the next one better, I will update my review.
1 star less for high end noise (close to 18kHz frequency).
1 star less for continuous compressor running.
1 stat less for poor packaging.

Update 10/14/2011
I got the second freezer. Fortunately noise level is acceptable, close to my other freezer. Also compressor remained off most of the time. Unfortunately, it came damaged. Both sides were dented. Not only that lot of markings or scratches on the top. I think, right side door rubber came out. Glue was used to seal it again but it was not done properly. Some portion is still open and one or two area is too stretched for using glue in an inappropriate manner. I could accept other things but door rubber is giving me uncomfortable feeling about the longevity. Definitely door rubber and top scratches were not made during shipping. It might be a refurbished one. Amazon felt sorry and going to ship me another one. I feel sorry that Amazon is paying two way shipping. I also don't feel that I should pay the shipping.
All of these could overcome if Haier made the packing little better, not sending Amazon refurbished items as new one and kept an eye on quality control.

Update 10/19/2011
For the last 2 or 3 days, I have started using my 3rd one. So far everything seems good. It makes even lower noise than the 2nd freezer. I don't expect any lower noise from any freezer. I set the temperature control dial to even below "3" (7 is highest and 1 is lowest)), even though compressor is running most of the time. I am skeptical about the quality and how long this freezer may last. How can same model 3 freezers produce different noise level?
After going through all the hassles, I could not update my ratings more than 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor packaging, May 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
This little freezer is exactly the right size and shape for my needs. When I unpacked it there was a notable lack of padding with only a thin layer of bubble wrap partially around it. Sure enough there was a large dent in the center of the door. Everything seems to work fine and the door fits tightly so I will not go to the work and expense of sending it back but people should know the chances of shipping damage are very high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little freezer, July 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
We got this freezer to use when we go on fishing trips to freeze our fish. We love our little freezer! It works great is fairly light weight and very quiet. You can barely hear it running when it is on. This wa a good buy. would highly recommend this freezer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haier HUM013EA Freezer, September 17, 2010
By 
Floss "Floss" (Philadelphia PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
Just what I needed (a bit more space to freeze things). Holds more than I expected.
Amazon packed it very well. Haier needs better packaging. Dent in side panel on bottom back
which does not effect operation. This was there before Amazon packed it for shipping and
they couldn't have seen it.
I am pleased with the amount of time for delivery as I have always been with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger than the picture!, September 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
I am currently in college and I opted out of the meal plan this year. With no meal plan, I knew I would need a freezer to keep m groceries from going bad. I bought this on a Sunday and it was delivered to my dorm by that Tuesday!!! The freezer is completely silent, and bigger than I thought it would be! For only being 1.3 cu, it's huge! I am so glad I bought this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great product, but major S&H issues, February 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
4.5-star product, 0-star shipping & handling. So, I suggest you buy it from a brick & mortar so you can return it easily after unpacking if necessary.

There are many comments in reviews about damage in shipping due to marginal packaging or rough handling, but mine arrived with a small, but deep dent, yet the packaging showed NO sign of an impact. The damage was apparently there when they packaged it yet it was shipped anyway. Fortunately, it doesn't seem to affect operation (it works extremely well), so I chose to cut my losses and live with a unit having a significant cosmetic flaw that should never have been let out of the factory.

The product itself is excellent other than defrosting is inconvenient. The instructions say "Slide a shallow pan under the freezer", but good luck finding a pan shallow enough and narrow enough to slide under it yet wide enough to catch what drips out of it. I managed without too much trouble by putting something under the rear feet and a wide square pizza pan underneath the entire front part so it was slanted forward a bit and the pan collected the drips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact, 1 2/7 cu ft, Haier Freezer, May 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haier HUM013EA 1-2/7-Cubic-Foot Compact Space-Saver Upright Freezer (Kitchen)
We are very happy with this freezer. It is the perfect size to fit on the counter in my mom's kitchenette. She had a mini refridgerator, but was unable to keep ice cream, even the little ice cream bars in it. She loves ice cream and having a freezer to keep it in is wonderful. This freezer holds 6 to 8 half gallon size containers - perfect! I had noticed some concern about packaging and dents in other reviews. Ours arrived in perfect shape and it is working very well. Now mom doesn't have to be disappointed when they don't have ice cream for desert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.