Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No wonder all generations call her blessed, and now I do too
I didn't want to read this book. I became a born-again believer fifteen years ago, and left the catholic church to join a local independent Reformed Baptist Fellowship. I found Jesus and the Bible. My wife did too. And then she started "backsliding," as Pastor White put it.
It started when our catholic neighbors got us to listen to some of Scott Hahn's...
Published on May 9, 2001 by Juan

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I fully expected more from a former protestant.
If I remember correctly from Rome Sweet Home, Scott Hahn has a Masters in Theology from a Protestant college and then eventually converted to Catholicism. One of the questions I have from a Protestant perspective is the Mariology of the Catholic Church, sure I'll admit that often Protestants don't give her the respect she deserves, but at the same time I don't understand...
Published on January 8, 2011 by David T.


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive book on Mary for Catholics-and all Christians, August 19, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
Scott Hahn's "Hail, Holy Queen" may well be the definitive book on Mary for the lay Catholic, or any other lay Christian, for that matter. In his usual methodical manner, Hahn takes the reader through the Bible to demonstrate step-by-step, passage-by-passage, verse-by-verse what he sees as the proper place of Mary in Christian thought.
Reflecting St. Augustine's premise that the New Testament is concealed in the Old and the Old is revealed in the New, Hahn looks carefully at the Garden of Eden story, the role of the Ark of the Covenant in Israel's history, the function of the Queen Mother in the Davidic monarchy (including not just David but his successors as well), the Gospels, the coming of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost, and the book of Revelation.
Over and again, he arrests the reader with astonishing insights, parallels that most believers--even those who consider themselves relatively familiar with Scripture--might never see on their own. Hahn uses a number of the Church fathers to support his argument, but as always his strength is his use of Scripture.
His weakness--and this is really a petty point--is his affection for puns. This little idiosyncrasy was noticeable in the title of one of his first books, "Rome Sweet Home." But he reaches new heights of punning is this latest work with section titles such as "Maternity Warred," "Mary, Mary Reliquary," and "Cutting the Unbiblical Cord."
This book is relatively easy reading, relatively short and relatively inexpensive. The text is just 175 pages, with another 15 pages of "Sources and References" to assist the reader in finding documentation and further discussion in Scripture, and other church writings and even secular documents.
As always, Hahn's enthusiasm for the Bible and all things Catholic is evident. Coming into full communion with the Catholic Church as an adult, this former Presbyterian minister, scholar, and renowed apologist loves the Bible, the Church, Jesus and Mary. While this book is not intended to be a devotional book, it cannot help leading the reader to a closer relationship with the Blessed Mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Marian beliefs, March 13, 2002
By 
Lindsay (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
Scott Hahn has been explaining Catholic beliefs to Catholics, as well as to non-Catholics, for the past decade. In this 2001 work he addresses a key area of Catholic belief that often confuses and scandalizes many Protestant Christians and maybe no few Catholics as well. His subject is, of course, Mary and the major dogmas surrounding her (i.e. Perpetual Virginity, Mother of God, Immaculate Conception, Assumption into Heaven, Queen and Mother to all Christians). He roots much of his approach in a typological understanding of Scripture texts but does not ignore literal meanings either. It is thus in keeping with the methodology of early Christian writers and a modern eye-opener to deeper understandings of Revelation. In this he takes serious Pope John Paul II's call for Scripture students to study the Fathers. His style and material are written at a level easily accessible and enjoyable to the general public. No average reader should fear this book as being "beyond" their understanding. While his text is serious but not heavy in content, Mr. Hahn continues his playful practice from other works of making corny puns with chapter and section headings. For example: "I Dream of Geneology" introduces his short excursion into the geneologies of Matthew and Luke. "Fetal Attraction" introduces a section on the Annunciation and the reason for her title as Mother of God. One final example, "Mary Had a Little Man" leads into part of his examination of Revelation 11-12 and Mary as the Ark of the New Covenant. They can seem a bit irreverent but do add levity to things. As a faithful general introduction to the scriptural roots of Catholic Marian beliefs this book is a must. It deals with all the main dogmas but in a largely non-polemical way. This makes it a safe book for a Catholic to lend to a Protestant inquirer. For a more in-depth, challenging, and polemical examination of the same issues I would recommend Robert Payesko's "The Truth About Mary" in three volumes. It is virtually a definitive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The light of truth about Mary finally came on, like a laser!, May 4, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
I finally get it. Mary is Christ's masterpiece. This book is incredible. It taught me how to discover Mary in Scripture by showing me how to read the Bible "typologically", the same way that Jesus and the New Testament writers and the Church Fathers interpreted the Old Testament. Hahn presents the truth about Mary so clearly and beautifully that I found myself praying the Rosary for the first time in my life as soon as I finished the book. Pretty wild for a Bible-believing Protestant like me. By the way, I really enjoyed the puns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful book, April 17, 2003
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
When I first started to gravitate toward the Catholic Church (from a Protestant denomination), Mary was one of the biggest stumbling blocks on that journey. While I'm not entirely there yet, it is only waiting to begin RCIA in the fall that holds me back (not that the journey ever ends in any case)--and not an objection to Marian devotion. For that, I can thank Scott Hahan and his marvelous little book. In addition to prayer and reflection, of course, but Hahn gave me much on which to pray and reflect.
Hahn writes in a lucid, conversational style; it's almost as though, in reading the book, you were having a one-on-one talk with him. He places Mary in the context of the entire Bible, in "types" from Eve onward, and shows that regarding her as Mother is not unusual (though it IS extraordinary--in a good way, that is). On this latter point, Hahn makes a particularly insightful argument about family and the Holy Family--surely God did not intend for us to be without a mother.
For those not so well versed in the Bible, I would suggest having one at your side. Hahn makes frequent biblical references, and after reading one of his points, you just want to read the original text. And that's one of the beauties and joys of this book--that it fills the reader with a desire to return to the Word and meditate on its richness and meaning.
The book is not long and can be read quickly if you want. But go slowly and spend some time with it. The experience is truly rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hyperdulia explained on a personal level, May 16, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
This is one of my favorite books on the Blessed Mother. It is not a theological or apologetic sourcebook; although it is explanatory in nature it's much more devotional and can be used effectively in one's prayer and meditation. Even so, many scripture verses are provided, references to the fathers and the councils are also to be found in large number.

Maybe I like this book so much because Dr. Hahn seems to agree with me that Marian devotion and Marian theology cannot be separated. You have to know a woman to love her (theology), you have to love a woman to want to know her better (devotion). Knowledge of Mary is theological in nature because of her close relation to God the blessed Trinity. This relation is one of deep love - Bishop Sheen named his popular book on Mary "The world's first Love" - so don't expect a thorough treatment of Our Lady from a "purely theological" viewpoint.

Dr. Hahn includes his own very humbling experiences in this book to demonstrate how the Lord whom he had served as a Protestant was literally dying to introduce him to his mother: "Behold thy Mother." This book makes a great gift, especially for those ignorant OR truly curious about the Church and it's teachings about Mary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast of Scripture, theology & spirituality, April 18, 2001
By 
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
In his inimitable sparkling style Scott Hahn serves up a feast of Scripture, theology and spirituality for Christians--Catholic and Protestant alike--for understanding the role of Mary in God's purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Maria nunquam satis, May 1, 2001
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
Dr. Hahn has done it again! Like _The Lamb's Supper_ or _A Father Who Keeps His Promises_, if you listen to Dr. Hahn's tapes you won't find much new in _Hail, Holy Queen_. What you will find is the insight of all his tapes on Our Lady synthesized into a single work -- complete with personal anecdotes and the usual healthy dose of excruciating puns.
The book is an analysis of Mary in Sacred Scripture, in the doctrine of the Church, and in the plan of God. Yet Dr. Hahn doesn't want us simply to know more *about* Mary -- he wants us to *know* Mary, personally, as the Mother of the Son of God and the Mother of the children of God, Our Mother. If we only know about Mary but don't allow her to lead us to Jesus, our knowledge is in vain. More than anything else, Dr. Hahn's book is a call to prayer, inviting us to get to know (especially through the Rosary) the Mother he has helped us know more about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A biblical approach to Mary for Catholics & Protestants, April 19, 2001
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
This book is a remarkable presentation of the biblical texts on Mary. They should be the soul of Catholic Mariology and it should help Protestant readers toward a better understanding of Holy Scripture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, March 5, 2004
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
Using types(somewhat of a foreshadow)throughout the Old Testament, Scott Hahn attempts and does well in proving almost all the Catholic teachings on Mary and why she deserves our veneration. This is great for all Catholics and Protestants who wonder what the whole deal with Catholics honoring Mary so much is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blessed Mother in Sacred Scripture, August 14, 2005
By 
Donje (Tell City, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hail, Holy Queen (Hardcover)
Dr Hahn began his biblical/theological study in the Protestant tradition and ended it in the Catholic tradition. He subtitles this book: The Mother of God in the Word of God.

His Biblical approach is that of Augustine: The New Testament is concealed in the Old, and the Old is revealed in the New. In tracing Mariology from Eve of the book of Genesis through the Woman Clothed with the Sun in Revelation, one is introduced to modern tools for the reading and interpretation of Sacred Scripture.

For those with little formal education in biblical studies, his use of and explanation of Typology in reading Scripture will be enlightening. An example of typology would be the well known story of Abraham and the sacrifice of Isaac. Isaac, an only begotten son, carrying the wood for his sacrifice is a "type" of Christ to come, who was an only Son of the Father, carrying the wood of the cross for his sacrifice.

Dr Hahn points out many types of Mary in the OT Bible, two principle ones being Eve and the Queen Mother in the kingdom of Solomon.

Readers who want Scriptural references to Mary, or readers who would like to deepen their understanding of Mary in God's plan of salvation will be well rewarded in the reading of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hail, Holy Queen
Hail, Holy Queen by Scott Hahn (Hardcover - April 17, 2001)
Used & New from: $1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.