Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten feet tall, with a KNIFE!
This is my favorite Buttholes album by far, and I'll tellsya why. You've got pieces of the sick brilliance of the oldest stuff, mixed in with hella-solid "real songs" like what would take over subsequently... and, of course, none of that electronic Beck-ripoff crap that came way later. Track 1 is great, especially once the pitch-shift sodomy gives way to the...
Published on January 11, 2002 by High Y

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the big Hell-No for this one!
I am in total disagreemant with those who give this album a high rating. I HATE it.

There is only one ok song on it, John E. Smokes, but you can find a waay better version of that song, with more extreme vocal acrobatics, on track 10 of 'The Hole Truth...and Nothing Butt' album. Get that one instead, if you don't already have it.

Steer clear of this...
Published on January 15, 2011 by kal667


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten feet tall, with a KNIFE!, January 11, 2002
By 
High Y (Charleston, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Buttholes album by far, and I'll tellsya why. You've got pieces of the sick brilliance of the oldest stuff, mixed in with hella-solid "real songs" like what would take over subsequently... and, of course, none of that electronic Beck-ripoff crap that came way later. Track 1 is great, especially once the pitch-shift sodomy gives way to the heavenly acoustic part with bowling pens and sheep. "X-ray of a Girl Passing Gas" is terrific, and the story of Johnny, the little crippled midget lesbian boy who stood 10 feet tall with a KNIFE, may make you wet your pants. And WHAT was Julio Iglesias doing in outer space? Take the Hairway and find out. It's the deepest Butthole there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time great......, July 8, 1999
By 
"hilzabub" (Staten Island, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
Having not heard the remaster of Hairway to Steven yet, I can only tell you that in its orignal version on Touch and Go (1988), this was where I felt the Buttholes were most together and its a creative high point of their career. Capturing their full 5 person lineup, this is a tight, demented and rocking album, featuring little of their previous albums sound colleges and more straight up, blistering rock. This album alternates between humorous and terrifying, with terrific lyrics and great interplay between guitar, bass and drums. The packaging was confounding and inspired, from the cover photo of the "band", to the fact that no song titles are listed, just little pictures that represent the songs. I always felt that Janes Addiction's entire sound was stolen from this record, but with out any of the Buttholes demented humor. A classic that you should not be without! Ron Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Twinkie with a Halo Storm In It, May 16, 2000
By 
Kirk (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
An exhilirating, merciless, death defying leap of rock'n'roll derring-do which, for all of the album's shrieks and groans, somehow refines that slab of crude, turgid gold that was Locust Abortion Technician. On Hairway to Steven, the Buttholes have revealed their whole bag of dirty tricks - tortured guitarwork, lyrical acrobatics, psychobilly call-and-response, mangled sound compressors - in all their stupendous glory. This delicious, undigested smorgasboard of musical mayhem features many spooky and majestic bits, but for me the part that puts the spice in the chicken is the gently winding melody of the second half to 'Jimi,' where the dwarves whisper to chanting birds, a cock crows languidly, and bowling pins crash to the meter of a gently ebbing tide. HTS is an album well worth a Cadillac drive through the desert southwest on a bellyful of mescal, volume cranked to the big swirling sky, as you hallucinate ten-foot tall Johnny on the dashboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THEIR 2'ND BEST, June 15, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
their 2'nd best next to locust abortion technician, from the sickening music and artwork, to the members of the band and their freakish onstage antics, they scored pretty good with this, i think. since there are no song titles on the album, i thought i'd put them here and how long they are.

1. jimi (12:48)

2. ricky(2:36)

3. i saw an x-ray of a girl passing gas (4:56)

4. john e. smokes (6:40)

5. rocky (3:45)

6. julio iglesias (3:05)

7. backass (6:07)

8. fast song (1:35)

5 stars+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare I say that this is the Butthole's best..., April 2, 2005
By 
PSM/Bokor (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
I have an extensive collection of the Butthole Surfers, including their DVD. This CD is their best. Unlike some of their other creations (which do contain phenomenal songs), this CD is very consistent; it doesn't contain any down time. It flows beautifully from the first song to the last.

"Hairway to Steven" showcases their talent, musically and lyrically. For someone, who is not familiar with the Buttholes, this is a good place to start. "Hairway" does lack some of the demented/scary songs of their earlier works, but that is ok. It's almost a pleasure. You can listen to this CD with Butthole virgins and not hurt them; they might even like it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy F-ing World! Ha ha HA!, January 19, 2005
By 
Gunther Haagendazs (Up High in the Trees) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
Hairway to Steven is definitely the surfers' strangest/beautiful/trippy/artistic record out there. Released in their prime with the two drummers and a lot of acid, they managed to create a unusual masterpiece. While it may only contain eight songs, the material here is complex yet simple while at the same time brilliant. Throwing in the gibbytronix (a lot!), acousitic guitar, several sound effects, and no official song titles given (only those from the Double live records), they are only titled with crude yellow drawings. (I read somewhere that it was a tour buddy or groupie who drew them). Paul Leary's guitar work is only topped by his work on Independent Worm Saloon, as it is truly deranged on Jimi while hypnotic on Backass. I will also add the fact that this is also their most perverted record, what with songs like I Saw an X-ray of a Girl passing gas, Julio Iglesias, and the "child" in Jimi yelling "Daddy don't touch me!", and lets not forget the crippled midget lesbian boy who stood ten feet tall with a knife, named John E. Smoke. Anyone who would be offended by those things clearly doesn't need to be reading this (yeah that's right Buzz off!) It's an enjoyable ride is what I can say. This is definitely a record to listen to in the dark as it will freak you out. Here is a breakdown of the Hairway.

1. Jimi 10/10 (12:38)
(pt. 1) a deranged nightmare that sounds like it could belong on Locust Abortion Technician, A creepy dedication to Jimi Hendrix is obvious from the acid guitar work from Paul.
(pt.2) Once the enjoyable Nightmare is over it calms the listener down with the final half bein acoustic, very strange, Gibby is clearly mumbling in the background but its extremely difficult to make out what he's saying, but that doesn't matter because this part really leaves you in a state of mind.

2. Ricky 8/10 (2:36) a very catchy slightly acoustic song, that's much faster and one of the "friendly" tracks here.

3. I Saw an X-ray of a Girl passing Gas 9/10 (4:56) A very funny song that makes absolutely no sense what so ever, I enjoy the drums particularly. Gibby makes connections between random people such as Jesus, Budda, Hitler, and Santa. Pretty funny.

4. John E. Smoke 10/10 (6:40) Don't let the audience fool you, this isn't live, its just for effect, and if the last song didn't prove to you that Gibby is out of his mind, then this certainly well.

5. Rocky 8/20 (3:45) A partial sequel to Ricky (or at least that's how I see it) the Acoustic Guitar returns as well as old friends going insane.

6. Julio Iglesias 7/10 (3:04) A funny song, its not really meant to be taken seriously, what with talking about 69 with the pope.

7. Backass 10/10 (6:07) The guitar sounds like it was drenched in acid and then combined with a Cello. Yeah I know, that doesn't seem to make much sense and that's exactly the point!

8. Fast (AKA Fast Song) (1:35) 9/10 The Hairway starts with the longest song and ends with the shortest, Gibby returns with the Gibbytronix, and its well, FAST! Although it may seem right but amazon.com has misspelled this song as fart song.

One thing that I love about Hairway to Steven is that you can listen to it again and again. It's a very bizarre experience, once the album ends, just press play again. It's weird because for me you just can't do that very easily with their earlier or later records as easily as Hairway can. Only problem is that this record is VERY difficult to find, and outside of the one that ordered from amazon.com, I haven't seen it anyplace else. Go ahead click the buy button, I hoped this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you rang?, November 23, 2004
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
This is the very first Butthole Surfers album I ever purchased. The first track "Jimi" scared the crap out of me, but I was strangely drawn to it like people to the scene of an accident.

My fear gave way to sick delight the more I heard it. I relished other tracks such as "Jonny Smoke" and "I saw an xray...". This became the tape I wore out the quickest. (CD's were still very expensive back then)

This album is a masterpiece in the Butt's discography. The twisted humor of the songs is the very essence of the band. Do yourself a huge favor and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic recording, November 26, 2006
By 
Todd Ebert (Long Beach California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
On this classic BHS recording one hears the influences of just about every art-music genre (electro-industrial, trance, psychedelia, noise, grunge, etc.), yet each song is well-crafted and they all seamlessly flow together into one organic whole.

For me, track one seems by far the most powerful and creative. In part we listen in on a child-abusing father and his victim daughter whose innocence is completely destroyed. Part II seems just as powerful and haunting as we hear soothing guitar and farm sounds in the background. It gives the listener a chance to reflect on the sad lives of the characters, and how, although on the surface life seems tranquil and "normal", there is a very disturbing vibe carried over from part I (in part brought on by the father's mostly incoherent ramblings in the background) that undermines the otherwise peaceful sounds. A less daring and creative band would have told this painful story from the third-person narrative, but BHS takes the listener upfront into the psyches of both the attacker and victim. This makes the experience all the more powerful. Regarding the subject matter of this track, I want to emphasize that the essence of BHS lies in creating art through music. And much of art involves creating unique views of human experience and the human condition. And for this listener track one evokes much sadness and pain, because it in general speaks of human brutality towards other humans. I believe this is the effect the band wanted to achieve. For example, the father is provided one of the most demonic sounding voices one will ever hear on a music recording; but very appropriate when heard from the perspective of a child.

The other bookend to this cd are the last two tracks which seem very experimental but alluring due to the driving rhythmns and heaviness brought on by layers of electro-industrial sludge, screeches, screams, and distorted/fuzzed guitar.

Sandwiched in between these bookends are very creative yet catchy pop-rock tunes; each one having its own interesting BHS twist.

Obtaining this cd along with Locust Abortion Technician, and Rembrandt Pussyhorse will IMO capture the very essence and best of BHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Release!, June 24, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
Great album by one of the best 80's alternative bands, and probably their best. It's got the fantastic 12-minute opener "Jimi", with a major mood shift to the acoustic guitars and sheep, and the imitation-live "John E. Smokes". It's worth your money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Surfers' crowning achievement, April 2, 2005
By 
BD Obsessor (South of the equator) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hairway to Steven (Audio CD)
Although the Butthole Surfers have produced material that captures the imagination since, nowhere are they more consistent with their art than is the case on Hairway To Steven. The less commercial the Surfers are, the more their style works, and boy, does it work here. You know a band is special when they can produce a song over twelve minutes in length, more than three times what many a radio station considers its upper limit, without a single boring second. Even more amazing is how Gibby Haynes manages to take an "instrument" as tired, as boring as the human voice, and by adding a few effects or idiosyncracies, make it interesting again. Many a (c)rapper or rock star alike could learn a lot from this man. Even when Gibby sings normally, he brings enough to the table to make a more than interesting song. So what else can I tell you? Oh yeah, the opener, somewhat oddly titled Jimi, features one of the most hilarious uses of a voiceover I've ever heard. "You rang?" takes on a whole new meaning here. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hairway to Steven
Hairway to Steven by Butthole Surfers (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.