Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lllllloooveeeee it.
i love this movie so much. i mean, i've watch this movie so much coz i just can't stop laughing. i recommend this movie to everybody..even those who aren't potheads. trust me, you'll enjoy watching it.
Published on March 18, 1999

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half Arsed Edition
A hilarious movie for everyone who likes stoner/slacker movies, Bill & Ted's, Saturday Night Live, and offbeat comedy in general. Dave Chapelle and Jim Breuer are riotous, and the movie itself is pretty decent. There are some really funny lines in here and you can see a lot of that trademark Chapelle humor that he would later make famous on his Comedy Central show. You...
Published on December 19, 2005 by buru buru piggu


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lllllloooveeeee it., March 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Half Baked [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i love this movie so much. i mean, i've watch this movie so much coz i just can't stop laughing. i recommend this movie to everybody..even those who aren't potheads. trust me, you'll enjoy watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put on a smiley face!, February 16, 2005
By 
Michael Stouffer (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition) (DVD)
I remember when this movie was first advertised. I thought it looked ridiculous and never bothered. Then I caught it on cable and was completely surprised. This movie ranks up there with the best rewatchable comedies of all time like Office Space, Caddyshack and The Big Lebowski. It has great characters, scenes, quotes and cameos. Dave Chapelle is halarious. I highly recommend this "fully baked" DVD to all comedy fans, not just stoners! The new edition features deleted scenes and an alternate ending. It was great to see some of the stuff that they cut out. I wish they would have left the additional Killer footage in. Too funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half Arsed Edition, December 19, 2005
This review is from: Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition) (DVD)
A hilarious movie for everyone who likes stoner/slacker movies, Bill & Ted's, Saturday Night Live, and offbeat comedy in general. Dave Chapelle and Jim Breuer are riotous, and the movie itself is pretty decent. There are some really funny lines in here and you can see a lot of that trademark Chapelle humor that he would later make famous on his Comedy Central show. You can read about the story elsewhere so I am going to talk about the DVD itself.

Commentaries and extras are a deciding factor for me when purchasing DVD's. Being called the "Fully Baked" edition, I had high expectations for this, but in terms of features, this DVD is only on par with current generation DVDs (commentaries, deleted scenes, featurettes).

The first problem is when you load the DVD, there's a smoking symbol and a non-smoking symbol to choose from, with no description of what they mean. Selecting either leads to the same features, with only the main background animation being different. Are they the director's cut and the theatrical release? I can't tell.

Lackluster commentary: Tamra Davis is completely dull! Of the more than 100 DVD's I own and dozens of other commentaries I have listened to on rented DVD's, I can't think of a more sleep-inducing commentary than hers. She is silent for long stretches of time and I spent as much time waiting for her to say something as I did listening to her talk. It is obvious she hadn't seen the film in years (something she even says at the beginning of the track), and she came totally unprepared to do the commentary recording.

Other directors are a treat to listen to and they talk the entire time, offering a lot of extra information about various things, like production difficulties, costs, whatever, just spontaneously as they watch the film again and comment on it. They don't just talk, they talk about interesting stuff. Davis is silent about half the time, and the things she does say when she opens her mouth are completely uninteresting.

crappy other features: The Granny's baking tips extra is dead unfunny. Don't even bother watching it. 5 Minutes With the Guy on the Couch is dead unfunny also, except maybe if you're trippin' balls. The deleted scenes (10 of them) are all strung together back to back, with no menu, selection screen, or any descriptions. The studio really skimped here. You have no idea what scene they are cut from. The guide to different types of smokers is just 4 or 5 short and crappy animations. Don't bother. All in all, an OK DVD with a standard treatment. Still worth it to own, but don't be fooled by the "Fully Baked" name. it doesn't deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samson Gets Me Lifted, September 10, 2004
This review is from: Half Baked (DVD)
(...)Half Baked is Dave Chappelle's coming out party. This movie is friggin' hilarious. Based around 4 pothead buddies, one of which (Kenny aka Harland Williams) gets thrown in jail for killing a horse leaving Chappelle, Jim Breuer and Guillermo Diaz having to come up with 100 large to free their buddy. So how else would three stoners get the kind of money they need to free their friend? "Let's sell weed yo!" So Chappelle, Diaz and Breuer become "fundraisers" not drug dealers to get their friend away from the "naughty, naughty jungle of love". There are so many funny lines from this movie that I cannot even recall them all but definitely one of the best scenes is when Chappelle dresses up as Mr. Nice Guy and goes to see Sampson. "What part of Jamaica are you from?" Chappelle answers "Right near the beeeech...lord have mercy". Half Baked is pee your pants funny and without a doubt worth owning on dvd. It is one of the funniest movies of the past 15 years. Highest Recommendation. P.S. "Yo they were doin' karate man, they had nun-chucks, they be doin' indian burns man, i'm serious". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love Half Baked; Hated This DVD, October 27, 2006
This review is from: Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition) (DVD)
If you already own "Half Baked," don't waste your money on the "Fully Baked Edition" DVD, because the extras are a huge waste of time -- the added comedy bits are so poor it's embarrassing, like something high school kids would produce. The director commentary is also thoroughly uninteresting -- she just repeatedly says "That was funny." When you watch the deleted scenes, you'll say, "I see why they deleted that." There's nothing of value here.

Dave Chapelle had nothing to do with this edition -- he's not on the commentary track or in any of the bonus materials, nor are any other actors from the film.

Don't be confused -- I LOVE LOVE LOVE Half Baked -- and I HATED the extras on this DVD. Total waste of time and money, a big disappointment to Half Baked fans.

Sampson gets me lifted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cashing in, March 16, 2005
This review is from: Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition) (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of half baked as I'm sure most people are. Hoping to receive more hilarious footage and outtakes of everyones favorite stoners I found myself buying the new edition of this dvd. How could you miss with a list of added features such as..

Five Minutes with the "The Guy on the Couch"

Different Types of Smokers

Granny's Guide to Bakin'

Well they missed big time. The guy on the couch.. some imitation rolling around for five minutes with a pillow covering his face as he rolled of the couch. Lame! Types of smokers.. animated and not even amusing. Granny's baking someone throwing a bunch of things in a pot like a cooking show. The whole thing was poorly produced. The only additional footage was things that they edited out of the film. ie originally they had Kenny calling Thurgood to do the whole scene in the movie where they visited him and tell him how they are going to get him out.

This is a pitiful attempt to turn a buck off of Half Baked's fan base. I want my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wanna talk to Samson!!!, August 15, 2005
This review is from: Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition) (DVD)
It's hard to write a review for a movie this funny, you don't want to give it away!

Basic synopsis: Four friends live in an apartment together: Thurgood (Dave Chappelle), Brian (Jim Breuer), Scarface (Guillermo Diaz), and Kenny (Harland Williams), they all get stoned one night and get the munchies, Kenny goes to the store to get food, and ends up "murdering" a police horse. The three remaining friends start an in-house drug syndicate called Mr. Nice Guy with medical marijuana stolen from Thurgood's office to raise $100,000 to bail Kenny out of jail. Needless to say, hilarity ensues. Lookout for cameos from a pre-Daily Show Jon Stewart (Enhancement Smoker), Janeane Garafalo (Creative Smoker), Snoop Dogg (Scavenger Smoker), and Willie Nelson (Hippie Smoker), they're hilarious! The drop-dead gorgeous Rachel True appears as Thurgood's non-smoking love interest aptly name Mary Jane and Clarence Williams III is Samson, the rival drug dealer with a pseudo-blaxplotative look.

If you haven't seen Half Baked, see it! If you have a sense of humor, you'll laugh until you cry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paramount Stinks!!!!, October 30, 2005
This review is from: Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition) (DVD)
This version is basically complete garbage as Dave Chappelle & Neal Brennan had absolutely nothing to do with its release. The extras are worthless. Who honestly gives a damn about Granny's recipes (something that wasn't mentioned in the movie), or 5 minutes with a fat guy sleeping on a couch that isn't Steven Wright. The extras & the Extras on The Jerk DVD that was released around the same time, are a complete embarrassment. Paramount should learn to give fans what they want, not make up new extra's with 0 context to the movie they are appearing on. This is as bad as the first season of Viva La Bam (which was censored, even though the packing said it was uncensored). You are much better off with the original copy of the DVD, as the deleted scenes on this one are incredibly grainy. It gets 3 stars because the movie is funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Wanna Talk To Sampson!", June 29, 2004
By 
This review is from: Half Baked (DVD)
Half Baked has to be one of the funniest movies around. Even if you are not a weed smoker, you can enjoy this movie. I think the big misconception here is that one must be a pot smoker to enjoy this movie and it is not true. The movie is about 3 friends trying to raise bail money for their friend who was arrested for feeding a diabetic police horse junk food which resulted in the horse dying. That right there is reason enough to see this movie. The characters are great and there are so many funny scenes in this movie. It's a must see...and if you still have doubts, watch the movie just to see the scene where Bob Saget (The dorky dad from Full House) says "I used to suck d*ck for coke."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for pot-heads & sober folk alike, May 4, 2002
By 
This review is from: Half Baked (DVD)
There's a misconception that you must be on drugs to appreciate drug humor. This could not be more false. People who smoke will bust up at this movie because, well, it's them. To an extent. But non-smokers like me may laugh even harder, because for us it is a perfect example of why we don't smoke. These characters are moronic, juvenile, brainless, pathetic, and totally hilarious in the way the flop about like stoned headless chickens. We all know how ridiculous pot-heads are, and this is one of the most affectionate movies to illustrate that. I actually consider it an anti-weed movie, because it shows the reality of what weed does to you: makes you a moron. Nothing more, nothing less, well, assuming you smoke enough of it. Drug-paranoid conservatives will no doubt fear and loathe a movie like this, as will pretentious intellectuals who think all movies must be meaningful. But for those of us who can take life and all contained therein with a grain of salt, this is perhaps one of the funniest movies of the last decade. And how can you not like the precious one-liners this film is full of? For example: when Kenny is asked how he's being treated in jail, he responds with "Let's just say I'm not getting the respect a cop killer deserves." If you like absurd, manic, and yes I'll say it about this movie, smart comedy, check out Half-Baked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition)
Half Baked (Widescreen Special Edition) by Tamra Davis (DVD - 2005)
$12.98 $8.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.