Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the Weapon of Mass Destruction..., August 21, 2004
By 
J. HAUER (Huntsville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
...guaranteed to kill your sensibilities. If ever there was a movie with low-budget Hollywood cynicism at its core, this is it. SEE whiny, self-indulgent anti-heroes prove why Americans are so widely hated (sneering, mealy-mouthed pc-yet contemptuous of anything not smacking of 7 figure California materialism and white bread bias)around the world. Indeed, the whole movie reeked of some mutated brand of "white man's burden."

The heroes were unlikable. The "half-caste" monster was reminiscent of a refugee from a "cost cutter" version of "Cats." The script was plodding, dull, and worst of all, dishonest.

The only scene I viewed with growing excitement was the infants' graveyard excavation scene. I PRAYED that the writer/director of this turkey would show a flicker of conscience, dig a deep, deep pit, apologise for this travesty,put a pistol to his head, fire, then topple in...but not before reciting an 1-800 number for pissed-off customers to call for a triple refund and free gallon of mouthwash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this is the bottom people, right here, and I found it, August 12, 2004
By 
sinisterfiend666 (the master of Horror) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
Don't let the "true story" on the cover fool you. This is about as real as professional wrestling. If it was even remotely true everyone in Africa would be a half-caste (form being bitten) Its very generic. It has a blair witch feel to it, although, not even that good. Terrible movie. Poor editing (maybe on purpose) but most of all its boring. I literally got so bored I was getting sleepy, so I decided to skim the dvd chapters, and you can test this if you like, the majority of the chapters have the same 6-8 people sitting around a table, talking!! That's the whole movie....go ahead, skip ahead....no death, at least not before I shut it off! On my top 10 worst list. The people that made this should be dragged out onto the street and stoned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh What a Stinker, March 23, 2005
By 
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
I actually bought this movie because I am always on the lookout for good under-rated horror. Boy did I get hosed.

This movie has absolutely no redeeming value. The camera work is a joke. The plot is so full of holes and unrealistic dialogue you could drive a truck through it. The "special effects," and I am being very generous giving them that term, look like a pre-film school student did them. The characters are little more than cliches'. The movie had a little bit of MTV's Wild Boyz to it, but only a little, and it was the worst part of that not-do-great show.

I beg you, please don't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite Half, May 22, 2005
By 
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
"Half-Caste", released in 2004, is not based on a true story like told on the movie cover. Rather, a man is telling his story to police officers. The story explores a group of researchers and filmmakers searching for the "half-caste", a legendary creature that thrives off human flesh. They want to prove that he indeed exists. As they observe him through time, they realize the mechanisms of this creature. Through interviews and after-effects, some start believing them. Therefore, they become increasingly fearful for their lives. Meanwhile, everybody is a target.

It seems like the producers were trying to construct something fresh within the independant film indistry. Obviously, they didn't succeed. Instead, the half-caste character compares too much to that of a werewolf. They should have compiled more original effects of an attack. However, the anatomy was interesting. Much of the remaining plot was weak. They didn't maintain the eye-opening suspense long enough to keep audiences interested throughout. Many scenes were unpredictable, causing the interest to fade as the film progresses. Granted, there were some great attention-grabbing scenes that make the horror effect slightly more terrifying. However, some of them don't fit well with the remainder of the film. And the distinguishment of the film itself and the film camera in the film fits wonderfully in various scenes. Sometimes it was overly done.

The quality of the performances vary within the actors. Some give average to good performance while some never sound convincing. The man sharing his story to the police gives the strongest performance of the cast but never above good. The chase and the terror scenes are acted well during those certain scenes. However, the remainder of the film doesn't have any eye-opening performance scenes.

Those looking for a quality horror film should avoid "Half-Caste". Somewhat similar horror films "The Howling" (1981) and "Wolf" (1994) are better recommendations as they shall please their audiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Half-Aste Effort, June 24, 2005
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
In this horrible attempt at a Blair Witch mockumentary, a bunch of people go to Africa to investigate a creature called the Half-Caste. It's pretty obvious that there was no script to speak of, and that everything was improvised. That can work if you have good actors, which this film didn't.

This movie tries to gain points for originality by exploring a more obscure myth and an exotic culture. As a result, there are a lot of scenes out in the bush where characters do "quirky African stuff" like eating elephant dung. There is also some pretty good footage of lions eating (from a National Geographic perspective) but there's not a single scare in the whole movie.

If you've seen Cannibal Holocaust or the Blair Witch Project, this movie will hold no surprises for you, and you can probably watch better lion footage on the Discovery Channel.

Definitely a Half- Aste effort.

A note to the filmmakers: guys, do us all a favor and next time save the "How I spent my African Vacation" home movie for your family and close friends. Nobody else wants to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars REALITY HORROR, June 20, 2010
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
This is what you get when you cross reality TV with low budget horror. I want to start a trend that DVDs which play movie trailers when you go to the menu and select "play movie" should all get an automatic one star. After I hit the "play movie" a third time I realized I now had to skip forward to get to the actual movie.

The movie starts off with a cute girl with a nice accent getting killed in the first scene. So much for her, I thought, but then we do a flashback to 6 hours ago when a guy, whose face is covered in blood is talking to a policeman at the station (apparently one without any water) and he is telling the investigator to watch the movies which leads to a flashback during the flashback.

The movie crew had set out running a 24/7 web page with cameras looking for the half-caste, a half human, half leopard creature which eats people. This is their story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MAKE IT END! MAKE IT END!!! AHHHHHHHHHH!, May 18, 2006
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
This movie sucks. Plain and simple. If there is any other movie in the store... ANY OTHER MOVIE, get it instead...

This is a hard review to write, because I can normally find one or two things in any movie (no matter how bad) that I like. Take Redneck Zombies for instance. Bad movie, but some funny stuff in it.

Half-Caste is really bad.

Imagine the worst reality TV show out there, add a little bit of horror, surrounded by a lot of stupid subplots... and stupid shots...

The true horror of this movie is when you eventually drag yourself to the end of it, and you turn back and realize how much time in your life you just lost and you'll never be able to get it back again... AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kitty beast!, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Half-Caste (DVD)
This is actually one of my favorite totally low budget, bad acting, crapper, horror movies. I like the wereleopard-like monster even if it could have been done 1000 times cooler. I like the attempt at an original story concept. I have a werefeline and leopard bias though. If only more werecat movies where around... Damn wolves get all the glory! If you can get by the horrid acting and other low qualities of the film the story is still entertaining enough though patchy and it's fun to watch the lion attack scene and creature eating bloody hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Half-Caste
Half-Caste by Sebastian Apodaca (DVD - 2004)
$9.99 $3.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.