Digital List Price: $3.99
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $9.99 (100%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Halfway (Wizards and Faeries Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 39 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.00

Length: 192 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Stephanie Void has been writing since she was 14. She has a variety of odd interests: exploring new places, painting, gothic fashion, singing, coffee, tea, and energy drinks. She’s a black belt and teacher of Shindoryu Aikijutsu. She’s a Louisiana native who now lives near Boston. She loves hearing from readers; you can contact her at her website and blog: stephanievoid.com.

Product Details

  • File Size: 386 KB
  • Print Length: 192 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Silver Glass Press (June 23, 2011)
  • Publication Date: June 23, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0057Y4VJU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #12,494 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Stephanie Void writes fantasy, science fiction, and children's books.
She spent most of her childhood indoors reading, since going outside meant the sun might kill her. Some of her favorite authors are Edgar Rice Burroughs, J.R.R. Tolkien, Robert Jordan, Patrick O'Brian, and Madeleine L'Engle. All this reading made her want to write stories herself, so she did.
When she isn't writing, she might be doing one of these other things: oil painting, graphic design, photography, singing, perfecting her Gollum voice for everyone's amusement, or enjoying nature.
Sometimes she mangles some songs with a string instrument and calls it violin playing.
Once somebody thought it was a good idea to give her a black belt and a teaching license in Shindoryu Aikijutsu.
She's from New Orleans, Louisiana but moved up to Boston to eat snow.

Her Books:
Running from Secrets
Halfway (Wizards and Faeries Book 1)
Wanderer's Shadow (Wizards and Faeries Book 2)
The Blue
Across the Universe with a Giant Housecat

Her Short Stories:
"Music of the Spheres"
"Formula for a Galactic Conquest"
Our Summer Garden (children's book)

She also has a YouTube channel where she offers tips and advice to other writers. Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/user/StephanieVoidWriting

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I really enjoyed Halfway. It was quite a short book and only took me two evenings to read. If you've read Running From Secrets by the same author, you will have come across one of the main characters in Halfway before - Cemagna. Saying that, Halfway is it's own story so you do not have to read Running From Secrets first.

From the synopsis you'll already know that Cemagna and her twin brother Temet grew up in hiding, and this is their story. The chapters were split between each of the protagonists and written in first person for Cemagna and third person for Temet. I know this probably sounds confusing but it worked really well and never dragged me out of the story.

Both Cemagna and Temet were good strong characters, each with their own story, although Cemagna was my favourite. She seemed more `real' to me than Temet and her journey through this story was most definitely harder than Temets, or maybe I just love female kick-ass protagonists! Saying that, I really did enjoy Temet too although I would have loved to have learned more about the Wizardly Order and what Temet was learning.

Halfway was a definite page turner. There were plenty of surprises along the way and the plot was intriguing. If you're looking for a quick read with plenty of magic and action, then I most definitely recommend you grab yourself a copy of Halfway!
Comment 9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
(Actually 3.5 Stars)
I really enjoyed Halfway. The characters were very interesting and I loved reading about the world Stephanie Void created. I will definitely be continuing on with the series and recommend it to fans of magic both adults and youths alike.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm not an expert on fantasy novels, but I don't think you need to be to enjoy this story. The author's writing voice carries the reader along nicely and the story is well paced and fun. What really worked for me was the way in which Ms. Void wove together elements of mystery, suspense and of course magic. Engaging characters and a story line that held my interest.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By MeiMei on September 16, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The worldset has great potential but there is just something missing in a big way. I understand the need for leading a reader on a bit, but there are not enough breadcrumbs to keep the trail warm to make me want to continue. My biggest issue is that Cemagna the character is rushed. She could be written as the young girl with maturing feelings but still have more depth. Teenage lusts swapping every week is real and could be explored much much better. The writer seems out of touch with the feelings that Cemagna is supposedly having. It's like research was done to see what the right things a teen girl would feel but there is no "ring-of-truth" to it to make the character believable. Temet and the other male characters have way more oomph to them. The bad thing is that the books seem to be Cemagna-centric so it's pretty bad to have that character so lacking.

Sorry this is not a series I can follow and i'll wait until this author has way more content available before considering sampling the titles again.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Danielle on August 17, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I couldn't make it past chapter 3 in the book. I really wanted too but the story did not engage me at all. Personally I felt it was rather young, in writing and the main characters. In other cases it has been done well and I have greatly enjoyed the books, but this story never really affected me. I remained indifferent while reading of the exciting and emotional things the children were facing. I am supposed to care for these characters and relate to them in some way despite the age difference, but I found them in no way engaging. Best of luck if you give it a shot
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I wanted to like this book, but the characters were very flat and the writing style just did not work for me. Sorry but I couldn't believe the main character was in love with some dude that was in maybe ten pages of the whole book. This was more of a rough sketch than a fully fledged book. It could have been really great, hopefully future books will be fleshed out better.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
While the book was entertaining, I felt like the characters were rather shallow and not well-developed. It moved almost too quickly and the author should have spent some time fleshing out the characters more. I never felt any emotional attachment to either the brother or sister.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I liked it but didn't love it. It reminded me of the Golden Compass. There were parts that I felt could have been better described, like the Wizard floating school and the people made out of water. I haven't decided yet if I want to read the next book.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in