Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween Night
Murray, Marjorie Dennis. Halloween Night. Illustrations by Brandon Dorman. HarperCollinsPublishers. 2008.

This is a delightful Halloween version of "The Night Before Christmas". "'Twas Halloween night, and all through the house Every creature was stirring, including the mouse; The walls were aflutter with little brown bats, While hordes of black spiders...
Published on October 7, 2008 by Kirsten G. Cutler

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute book for older kids
This is a cute book with great illustrations but my 3 year old was a little freaked out by it. We will read it again in a few years :)
Published on November 23, 2012 by Donna


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween Night, October 7, 2008
By 
Kirsten G. Cutler (Santa Rosa, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
Murray, Marjorie Dennis. Halloween Night. Illustrations by Brandon Dorman. HarperCollinsPublishers. 2008.

This is a delightful Halloween version of "The Night Before Christmas". "'Twas Halloween night, and all through the house Every creature was stirring, including the mouse; The walls were aflutter with little brown bats, While hordes of black spiders crept out of the cracks." The digital art illustrations are vibrant, rich in colors and diverse perspectives, and filled with humorous creepy creatures and gorgeous bugs inside a spooky haunted house. In a nice twist, the scary tricksters that include a fairy blowing bubblegum are scared away by the inhabitants of the haunted house, "From the ten little tricksters came ten little shrieks, And away they all ran down the cobblestone street, Dropping their bags and spilling their treats." This wonderful picture book is a perfect read-aloud for a Halloween story time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Illustrations!, August 24, 2010
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
A great book to get into the Halloween Spirit! The story is very cute, and the illustrations are gorgeous. My kids made me read it several times in a row, lingering over all the details in the drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Wonderful Book, October 30, 2008
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
My four-year-old daughter LOVED this book. The pictures are wonderful and it has just the right blend of gross/spooky and delightful- perfect for preschoolers and up! We checked this out at the library, but now I'm buying it for our permanent collectiong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top 2 Halloween book, December 7, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
This book has well-written rhymes and INCREDIBLE artwork. There's so much to see that reading it to a room of kindergarteners took forever because they had to examine every detail of every page and comment. And every page is worth taking a good, long look. It had a great flow to the writing, too. This is a year-round must-read/must-look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a spunky kid!!, November 29, 2010
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
my 4year old son loves this book, we read it every night for the month of October to get him in the spirit of Halloween. He loved the story, the pictures and the crickets on ice. Great book for a spunky kid. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween Night, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween Night (Library Binding)
ISBN 0061351873 - Manufactured in China. Library Binding, 29 pages. Published by Greenwillow Books in 2008. By Marjorie Dennis Murray, illustrated by Brandon Dorman. Marked for ages 5 to 9.

I'm always a happy reader when it's time for a new round of holiday-themed kids' books and starting this Halloween-reading-season with this particular book makes me extra happy!

Told in smooth-as-silk rhyming text, a witch and various friends prepare for a party on Halloween night, readying their haunted house for the trick-or-treaters who, once they get a glimpse, flee in fright!

First off, shame on me for missing this book for several years! There are so very many so-so Halloween books out there and those I find by the hundreds, but somehow the best of them allude me at first, and Halloween Night is among the best so far. The story, like many others, is clearly modeled on the "'Twas the Night Before Christmas" style. Others, however, fail where Murray succeeds. The rhyme actually flows so well that there's almost no way to avoid the built-in cadence when you read, aloud or to yourself: there's nothing clunky or trying-too-hard here! The story has a little creepy/scary edge to it, but not enough to genuinely frighten young kids, and the almost comedic running-away-in-fear reaction of the kids in the story breaks the tension nicely.

Add in the absolutely flawless and positively immense illustrations by Dorman and I'm in love. Each image takes up a full two-page spread, and every inch is used to capture the moment. From the looming brightly lit mansion on the first pages to the look of stunned fright on the faces of the trick-or-treaters and all the way to the morning sunrise on the last pages, there's so much to see that it's almost impossible to decide whether to focus on the words or the pictures. That indecision will keep readers coming back again and again to flip through the pages and see what they missed last time. I've always thought of Halloween as the total childrens' holiday - silly and spooky and full of games, candy and fun and none of the obligations of sharing time with religious services or family meals that drag on to keep you from opening gifts - and I greatly appreciate the few books I find that understand and embrace that. Halloween Night is definitely one of those books.

- AnnaLovesBooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my two year old adores this book!, October 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
I am not one to write reviews often, but just had to let anyone wondering about this book know that my two year old got it for his birthday in September and ever since then, I think we are asked to read it a minimum of 3 or 4 times a day. The illustrations are wonderful, every time we see something new in the pages. An easy read and fun for all ages. You will not be disappointed by this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, March 19, 2010
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
This is one of my kids favorite books...the illustrations are beautifully done adn the story if very fun! They read it over and over and see something new in the illustrations every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book..., May 11, 2009
By 
David Ford (Clarinda, Iowa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
Not only is it a fun read and the illustrations great to look at. There's a message in there about not judging someone by how they look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Review: Halloween Night, September 22, 2008
This review is from: Halloween Night (Hardcover)
HALLOWEEN NIGHT
Written by Marjorie Dennis Murray
Illustrated by Brandon Dorman
Paranormal Children's Book (Ages: 5 to 9)
Greenwillow
ISBN#9780061351860
40 Pages
$16.99
Hardcover--Available Now

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

What a perfect book to read on HALLOWEEN NIGHT!

Similar in style to `The Night Before Christmas' HALLOWEEN NIGHT tells the story of the witch's preparations for her Halloween party, including contributions from Ogre and Olaf, the twin ogre brothers as all the witch's friends pitch in to help everything together before the neighborhood guests to arrive. Bright colorful illustrations accompany the entertaining text.

[...]

A really fun read that everyone in the family will enjoy, HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a perfect read to kick off your own Halloween!

Marjorie Dennis Murray is a teacher of young children at a preschool in Pittsburgh. She is also the author of five other books for children, including Hippo Goes Bananas!, which was an IRA Children's Choice for 2007. She lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Brandon Dorman is the illustrator of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Wizard, written by Jack Prelutsky. He received a degree in fine arts from Brigham Young University - Idaho. [...]

Lisa
Enchanting Reviews
August 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Halloween Night
Halloween Night by Marjorie Dennis Murray (Hardcover - July 27, 2010)
Used & New from: $2.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.