Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hallowe'en Fix!
I'm going to do what I wish other reviewers would do for books with multiple stories, I'm going to list the contents in order:

Conversations In A Dead Language - Thomas Ligotti
Monsters - Stewart O'Nan
The Halloween Man - William F. Nolan
The Young Tamlane - Sir Walter Scott
Pork Pie Hat - Peter Straub
Three Doors - Norman...
Published on October 31, 2011 by Shelley D. Brook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hallowe'en should be year-round
A few of the stories in this collection were already familiar to me, but there were numerous discoveries awaiting me. It was a good collection representing a variety of styles and voices. A good choice.
Published 8 months ago by Steve Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hallowe'en Fix!, October 31, 2011
By 
Shelley D. Brook "boxinghelena" (Home of the 95, 2000 & 03 Stanley Cup Champions!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Paperback)
I'm going to do what I wish other reviewers would do for books with multiple stories, I'm going to list the contents in order:

Conversations In A Dead Language - Thomas Ligotti
Monsters - Stewart O'Nan
The Halloween Man - William F. Nolan
The Young Tamlane - Sir Walter Scott
Pork Pie Hat - Peter Straub
Three Doors - Norman Partridge
Auntie Elspeth's Halloween Story - Esther M. Friesner
Struwwelpeter - Glen Hirshberg
Halloween In A Suburb - H.P. Lovecraft
On The Reef - Caitlin R. Kiernan
The Sticks - Charlee Jacob
Riding Bitch - K.W. Jeter
Memories Of El Dia De Los Muertos - Nancy Kilpatrick
Halloween Street - Steve Rasnic Tem
Tricks & Treats - Steve Rasnic Tem
Memories - Pepter Crowther
Ulalume: A Ballad - Edgar Allen Poe
Mask Game - John Shirley
By The Book - Nancy Holder
Hornets - Al Sarrantonio
Pranks - Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Pumpkin Night - Gary McMahon
The Universal Soldier - Charles de Lint
Night Out - Tina Rath
One Thin Dime - Stewart Moore
Man-Size In Marble - E. Nesbit
The Great Pumpkin Arrives At Last - Sarah Langan
Sugar Skulls - Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
On A Dark October - Joe R. Landsdale
The Vow On Halloween - Lyllian Huntley Harris
The October Game - Ray Bradbury
The November Game - F. Paul Wilson
Tessellations - Gary Braunbeck

Quite entertaining and worth buying! Enjoy...Happy Hallowe'en!!

Edit: This is the correct ToC for this book. I took the list directly from my copy. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween is Scary Again!!!, January 8, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halloween (Kindle Edition)
In a country where Halloween has become a multibillion dollar industry it seems the holiday has lost its identity. I was a kid in the eighties and I looked forward to Halloween every year to dress up as scary as I could be, play it tag in the local cemetery, and attend the annual "Fright Night" haunted house celebration. All of that is gone now. It has been replaced by cute little costumes and "Harvest Parties" I long for the mystery and fear of Halloween and let me tell you - this anthology delivered! If you have enjoyed October Dreams (reprinted as Halloween Horrors by B&N books) or it sits on your bookshelf, this volume of stories belongs aside of it as a companion. Some of the stories between the two overlap but there are enough new gems in this anthology to make it very enjoyable. From Steve Tasnic Tems trip down Halloween Street to Gary Braunbecks novella there are enough here to make your halloween season frightful again. My only disappointment is Ray Bradburys story The October Game is not included on the electronic ebook so pick up Bradburys collection Long After Midnight which includes October Game so you will know why the man in F. Paul Wilsons story The November Game is in jail. Along with the movie Trick r Treat and the book October Dreams , Halloween the anthology is a must have. Trick or Treat!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of Halloween stories, October 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Paperback)
Very good short story collection celebrating Halloween! Some repeats from other notable anthologies, but enough original stories to make up for it. Huge fan of the anthology October Dreams, and this volume makes a great companion!

Entries include:
The October Game - Bradbury
The November Game - Wilson
The Halloween Man - Nolan
Three Doors - Partridge
Halloween Street - Tem
Sugar Skulls - Yarbro
On a Dark October - Lansdale
Pumpkin Night - McMahon
Pranks - Hoffman
Memories of El Dia de los Muertos - Kilpatrick
The Great Pumpkin Arrives At Last - Langan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween - Guran, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Paperback)
Other reviewers have commented on the number of "typos" in this book, so I will not re-visit that issue here.

Guran has created an interesting mix of tales, some humorous, others - dark and sinister. Bradbury's "October Game" is here, as well as F. Paul Wilson's answer to same, "The November Game" - which makes an interesting companion piece to Bradbury's classic tale.

Nolan's tale "The Halloween Man" was chilly, and Friesner's "Autie Elspeth's Halloween Story" was both amusing and ominous...

Not all the stories had "bite. but overall, an interesting collection.

Of particular interest was Guran's introduction to the development of Halloween as a distinct American holiday.

Jeff McIntosh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Halloween review of Guran's Halloween anthology, October 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Paperback)
I love a good Halloween story, and so an anthology of Halloween stories is certain to pique my interest. Particularly when it turns out to consist mostly of stories I've never read before, as Paula Guran has managed to put together in her anthology, with many coming from the best writers in the field over the years. I can't say that every story is sure to be a winner and there were definitely a few that just didn't work for me, but most are well-written and several are stand outs that make this an anthology worth having for any Halloween enthusiast.

Among the stand-outs for me were:

"Monsters" by Stewart O'Nan - Not all hauntings are supernatural, as we see when two boys, best friends, have an accident in the weeks leading up to Halloween. A truly memorable story with a final mental image that will stay with you long after you finish reading it. Even by itself, this one's worth the price of the entire antho.

"Auntie Elsbeth's Halloween Story" by Esther Friesner - A delightful mix of darkly twisted humor and the genuinely macabre by the queen of humorous fantasy. Guaranteed to leave you never looking at Jack O'Lanterns the same way again.

"Hallowe'en in a Suburb" by H.P. Lovecraft - A highly visual and atmospheric poem by one of the greatest writers of the macabre that truly captures the dark foreboding feel of All Hallow's Eve as we both fear and wish it to be.

"On the Reef" by Caitlin R. Kiernan - An omnisciently-narrated tale, appropriately following the above poem, which suggests even older and darker origins for certain Halloween rituals than we were ever aware of. Skin-crawl creepy in true Lovecraft style.

"The Sticks" by Charlee Jacob - Some places have Halloween traditions that are different from the ones we're familiar with. Some quite different. In most towns, children dress up and roam the streets, hoping for treats on Halloween night. In The Sticks, its the adults who dress up and roam the streets. The children stay home and lock the doors, hoping to just stay alive.

"Tricks & Treats: One Night on Halloween Street" by Steve Rasnic Tem - This is actually a string of twelve micro-fictions, twelve tiny but darkly compelling little gems linked only by the setting - a once-a-year night at a place called Halloween Street. Wonderful examples of how a truly gifted writer can capture in a dozen lines what would take lesser writers a dozen pages.

"Pranks" by Nina Kiriki Hoffman - Not everything that walks the streets on Halloween is mortal. And for some, tricks are the whole reason they came.

"Pumpkin Night" by Gary McMahon - Halloween starts when it gets dark, as does this tale. But with each page, it gets darker, and darker, and even darker still, and yet you just can't look away. This is one of those stories that will stick in your mind for a long, long time.

In addition, Guran opens her anthology with a brief but interesting history of Halloween and the various traditions with which it has been observed over the years.

Recommended for any lover of all things Halloween.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Halloween story collection - for the most part, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Kindle Edition)
I've been reading Halloween / Supernatural fiction anthologies for at least 40 years, and most of the stories here are excellent as well as being new to me - haven't seen most of them anthologized before.
One notable exception to the overall quality of this collection is the story about Jack Pumpkinhead. It was awful; I couldn't finish it, too graphic and disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, November 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Kindle Edition)
This is a perfect book to curl up with on a rainy October night. It's just the right level of spook and scare to get the blood flowing and make you clutch the blanket a little tighter without giving you nightmares for weeks. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hallowe'en should be year-round, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Paperback)
A few of the stories in this collection were already familiar to me, but there were numerous discoveries awaiting me. It was a good collection representing a variety of styles and voices. A good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Hallloween" is Essential!, September 14, 2014
This review is from: Halloween (Paperback)
This is a really fun, varied compendium of funny, "spooky" and even genuinely scary stories. Something perfect for every-one.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween Fun!, August 9, 2012
This review is from: Halloween (Paperback)
There is nothing more entertaining than a spooky story that mixes horror with fun childhood memories! I loved this book! It's an interesting mix of fact and fiction by your favorite authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Halloween
Halloween by Glen Hirshberg (Paperback - September 13, 2011)
Used & New from: $1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.