Customer Reviews


392 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (76)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome home, Michael
Halloween 4 is a terrific entry in the best slasher series of all time. While it doesn't have quite the all-pervading atmosphere, suspense, and general gloom and doom of the incomparable original, it more than lives up to the Halloween tradition. To me, the key to this movie's success is the acting talent of both Donald Pleasance (Dr. Loomis) and young newcomer Danielle...
Published on October 21, 2002 by Daniel Jolley

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Myers is back and well rested
The sequals continue in this slasher. I must say it was exilerating for me to watch due to the fact that I'm a huge fan of the series. The plot revolves around the fact that Michaels niece, Jamie, is being stalked by wicked psychopath Michael Myers. Stemming from the 1978 hit, Halloween 4 in my opinion is an good sequale which I promise will scare you stiff. Danielle...
Published on December 15, 2000 by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome home, Michael, October 21, 2002
This review is from: Halloween 4 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Halloween 4 is a terrific entry in the best slasher series of all time. While it doesn't have quite the all-pervading atmosphere, suspense, and general gloom and doom of the incomparable original, it more than lives up to the Halloween tradition. To me, the key to this movie's success is the acting talent of both Donald Pleasance (Dr. Loomis) and young newcomer Danielle Harris (Michael's niece Jamey). Disfigured from his encounter with Michael ten years earlier, Dr. Loomis strides through this movie as the avenging hero he is, having to convince foolish minds that Michael has returned home to wreak havoc yet again. Of course, you can blame a couple of paramedics for tipping Michael off that he still has a living relative, namely his sister Laurie's little girl Jamie (Laurie has supposedly died in an accident a year earlier). After Michael is transferred out from under Loomis' nose, he naturally escapes and begins leaving a trail of bodies on his way to Haddonfield. Loomis is right behind him, intent on saving the little girl from her evil uncle. The young Danielle Harris gives an incredible performance for someone so young, conveying emotion and fear quite convincingly. After this movie came out, I remember hearing some criticism of terrorizing such a young person in this type of horror atmosphere, and Harris spoke quite eloquently on the subject from her perspective. She brings to this movie talent well beyond her years.
Surprisingly, this movie is not altogether that graphic. We rarely get to see the actual coup de grace of each killing (and in a couple of cases we don't even see the actual murder), and even the remains of the slain never exhibit much blood loss. Of course, Michael uses a variety of means (including his bare hands) to murder his victims here. I for one missed the guy's trademark knifings. He does get hold of a knife eventually, but, sadly, he doesn't get much of a chance to use it. As for Michael himself, it is easy to see that the man behind the mask is not the original "shape" Nick Castle. George P. Wilbur has a slightly different build, and he just doesn't have the malevolent presence Castle possessed. He is strong in the category of standing still and watching from the shadows, but he is a little awkward in his movements and often seems to be patterning them on those of King Kong.
This movie has some really nice touches to it, several that strongly call to mind pivotal scenes from the original. Another master stroke is the conclusion, which certainly surprised me when I first saw it. Far too often a trite ending can ruin one's impression of an otherwise good horror movie, but Halloween 4 offers evidence of how much a terrific ending can increase one's enjoyment of an already satisfying experience. By inserting a whole new chapter in the Michael Myers saga, Halloween 4 actually injected the series with newfound life (and blood); it certainly excited me as a fan, and that is something that most sequels of sequels simply do not do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 YEARS AFTER HALLOWEEN II, March 4, 2012
Taking place 10 years after Halloween II, Myers and Loomis are revealed to have survived the events of II. Myers & Loomis were burned. Myers has been in a coma since then. I did like Michael's mask here. There are freakishly scary moments in the film, but some cool ones too.

Some of my favorite scenes:

- Myers & Loomis - Gas Station scene. Awesome scene that really picks up when Loomis sees and talks to Myers.

- Myers getting his mask from the costume store where Jamie was getting hers. It's just a hand grabbing the Myers mask. That's what's cool about it IMO.

- Myers stalking Rachel while she looks for Jamie, who got lost while trick or treating.

- The construction worker's death.

- Brady's death. I liked him. And I give him credit for being brave enough to tell Rachel to, "Get up there." while he took on Myers by himself. He did his best to no avail. I don;t like that Brady died. It was how Michael survived his attacks & the way he killed him that I liked. Instead of waiting for him to walk up the stairs, he should have went with Rachael & Jamie because even if he did end up dying, he would've survived longer at least. Maybe enough to help them get off the roof and running away. Wish he didn't die though. That's the problem with horror films. Usually at some point or another, the cool people die.

- Deaths of the drunk people who try to get Rachel & Jamie to safety.

- Rachel running down Michael with the truck. He just stood there still and took it. So badass!

- Michael being shot by the cops multiple times before finally falling through a mine shaft. It took countless shots from all the cops who were there for him to finally fall.

Scary moments (I liked them):
- At night, in the house, Myers sits up. She cries & her parents find her in the closet telling her it was just a dream.

- Jamie touching Myers, who grabs his knife. As he gets up, she gets down before the cops shoot him.

- When the Sheriff's daughter brings tea for Deputy Logan, she sees that he's dead and Michael, who was in the one in the chair in the exact position as Logan was, quickly gets up, turns around and kills her. Wicked death.

- The scariest one to me. When the Sheriff and Loomis rescue Jamie & Rachel, you see the camera moving away fro mthe real Myers who just stands there still looking on.

Right now, I think this sequel is the best. But my answer always changes when I get asked which sequel I liked best lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Myers is back and well rested, December 15, 2000
By 
Mark (Rhode Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halloween 4 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The sequals continue in this slasher. I must say it was exilerating for me to watch due to the fact that I'm a huge fan of the series. The plot revolves around the fact that Michaels niece, Jamie, is being stalked by wicked psychopath Michael Myers. Stemming from the 1978 hit, Halloween 4 in my opinion is an good sequale which I promise will scare you stiff. Danielle Harris (Jamie) lights up the screen with her excellent acting along with Donald Pleasence (Sam Loomis) The reason this didn't earn a 4 is because of the some what thin plot and mediocre acting by the supporting cast members. Mostly hormone driven teens which you want to see die anyway. The movie can be a bit slow at times also. But that's kind of a contridiction due to the fact the original Halloween was slow and still was a great movie. In conclusion, I recommend this to any hard core horror flick fans. For others I think it will seem like any other "average" movie out there. Got to say something about what I said? E-mail me at: omicron_30@yahoo.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third Best Film in the Series with Harris Debuting., March 3, 2014
Halloween 4 is a great sequel and the top third best film in the entire franchise. One of the reasons is the strong cast but most notably Danielle Harris who plays the young niece of Michael Myers. Harris could have only been eight or nine in this film and acting at that age is difficult let alone in a horror film where you have to project many emotions to the audience. Harris does a great job with use of her eyes and different faces to express fear. It's a very exciting movie throughout with a good pace. The supporting cast was superb and you can really go down the line. Ellie Cornell who looks about thirty in this movie does a outstanding job as Rachel who is Danielle's older sister. Danielle was adopted and a great storyline to the movie is her wanted to have a relationship with Rachel that feels like a real sister. Rachel who is by all means a kind hearted girl but is preoccupied with her love life as she forges to start a serious relationship in Sasha Jenson. Jenson plays sort of a tweener character as he is sort of a player but also will protect Danielle and Rachel from Myers. Donald Pleasence is the heat of the film he once again plays the character of Dr. Loomis and just as good as previous outings. In this one he is more determined than every to protect Danielle and the town from harm. Pleasence in the history of horror has to be one of the greatest hero's to come along to fight the unstoppable force in evil. No matter what Dr. Loomis is never afraid of Myers or afraid of being killed to save the town from Myer's path of destruction. Loomis is brave and like Danielle we care deeply for his character who hope he does not meet his demise. Harris does a admirable job filling Jamie Lee Curtis's shoes as Harris went on to have a long career in horror that extends to this day and currently is known as the reigning scream queen. This is one of the best slasher movies of all time and a great horror movie. I recommend this to new horror movie fans. I see this as a must own for any true Halloween fan. This film represents an era of horror that was great it was one of the last great slashers of that era in the 80's. I hope you enjoy the movie and Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Myers Returns with a classic- HALLOWEEN 4 Rocks, June 29, 2004
If you thought the nightmare was over- you were DEAD wrong. Michael Myers is alive and well, and coming back to Haddonfield in "Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers", the fourth installment to the "Halloween" series and the third appearance of the sadistic Michael Myers. Without a doubt, "Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers" is the best "Halloween" sequel. It is just almost as good as the original in so many ways. "Halloween 4" sticks to a simple formula of the original but doesn't copy, it is well acted and direcred, and it is scary as they come. Halloween has returned to Haddonfield, and HE has come home... again.
First, "Halloween 4" stays with a simple, chilling story like the original "Halloween" but does not completely copy the film. It is hard for sequels to not stray too far from the series basics or not to just completely rewrite the original. Many series, such as "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", "Friday the 13th", and "A Nightmare on Elm Street" tend to get repetative with their many sequels. "Halloween" however finds something new to add into the mix. Here, in "Halloween 4", the babysitter's nightmare comes true again. It's been ten years since Michael Myers killed 16 people until finally being stopped by Dr. Sam Loomis (Donald Pleasance). Myers and Loomis were both burned nearly to death, but they both lived, with Loomis gaining a limp and Myers being put into a coma. In those ten years, Lourie Strode has died with her husband Jimmy (from "Halloween II") in a car accident and left their daughter, Jamie (Danielle Harris) behind. Jamie has just arrived in a foster family under the care of the Curruthers', with Rachel Curruthers (Ellie Cornell) as her foster sister. Jamie has lived in fear of her uncle Michael waking up, but she hasn't had to worry... until now. While being transported to a different hospital, Michael awakes from his coma and brutally escapes, heading back to Haddonfield. No believes Loomis (again) that Myers is alive and heading to Haddonfield, but they are proven wrong when he arrives there, on Halloween night, and goes after little Jamie, plus anyone who gets in his way. Now this may sound like the original a bit, but the difference comes when this time Haddonfield is prepared for Myers, and when Loomis comes and warns Sheriff Meeker (Beau Starr, who has replaced Charles Cyphers as the Sheriff of Haddonfield), Haddonfield citizens and police get ready, but how is anyone safe. Meanwhie, Rachel has been assigned to take Jamie trick-or-treating, and soon enough, she looses her. Different twist from "Halloween" when Michael stalked babysitters with their children.
Second, this film is great because of its acting. The original "Halloween" had excellent acting in it, creating very believable characters. The second "Halloween" had bad acting for the most (with the exception of Donald Pleasance, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Charles Cyphers). Here, we have some very talented young people. Donald Pleasance is of course great as Dr. Loomis who is now even more obsessed with killing Michael. Pleasance is convincing and great, and without him the "Halloween" series most likely wouldn't be what turned out to be. Joining the cast of the "Halloween" series is Ellie Cornell and Danielle Harris, both young, aspiring stars. Cornell is a perfect cast for Rachel and she is both beautiful and gifted as an actress. Cornell can play the pissed girlfriend, the protective older sister, and the terrified damsil in distress all in this one movie. Harris makes herself a horror icon in this movie. I have never seen a child actor more convincing than Harris in this movie. She will have you fear for her and her character runs along the lines of 1978's Lourie. Beau Starr doesn't replace Charles Cyphers, but he does hold a candle on his own. He is a great Sheriff and a memorable one at that. Sasha Jensen plays Rache's boyfriend Brady, Kathleen Kinmont plays the cruel daughter of Sheriff Meeker, and George P. Wilbur plays the sadistic Michael Myers. This is a cast that could only be accompanied by Dwight H. Little for a director and Alan B. McElroy as the writer.
Thridly, this movie is scary. It is not disturbing or really gory, but like the first "Halloween", it is scary because it just is. Unlike the second, "Halloween 4" doesn't rely on gross out death scenes to get its point across. Yes, there are some 'creative' deaths, but none truly disgusting. There is very little blood shown and the amount of thrills shown takes care of the lack of gore. Michael is once again merciless. He goes from the hospital, to the ambulence, to the gas station, to the open road, to the electic company, to the town of Haddonfield, where he wreaks havoc on its citizens. The suspense builds to the climax where Michael is chasing his final victims while ontop a truck. Michael also continues to pop out at people and appear suddenly, making him once again just plain old creepy. A lot of times, by the fourth sequel in a series, the chills are worn out, but "Halloween" proves that theory wrong.
In conclusion, if you are going to buy any two "Halloween" movies, make sure its 1978's "Halloween" and 1988's "Halloween 4: The Curse of Michael Myers". Overall, "Halloween 4" is a sure thing for any thriller fan. It is scary, entertaining, well acted, well done, well written, and just well overall. Michael Myers returns with a bang, and the series isn't even close to being over. From its suspense driven opening to its shocking and horrifying climax, you wil be sure to scream! Get the second night HE came home and continue your collection of great films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the series!, October 17, 2002
A lot of people will hate to hear me say it, but this is my favorite HALOWEEN movie! I think mainly because I grew up with it. I was born the year the original came out so I didn't get to see it in theatres like I did this one. For me, this was the introduction of Michael Myers and Dr. Loomis (though I have of course seen the previous films since).
This sequel is very close in plot to the original film it just has a bigger budget. Michael Myers has come back to Haddonfield, only instead of his sister, it's his niece (Danielle Harris) that he's after. And of course, several innocent teenagers get in his way.
Donald Pleasance can do no wrong. Personally, I think with his death so should have come the death of this franchise. These movies are not the same since Pleasance passed. In this film, Pleasances character is more determined and crazed than he was in the first two films and the audience is better off for it.
I can't praise Danielle Harris performance enough. She was only ten yesr old when she made this movie and she does a great job. Since, though, I haven't seen in her in hardly anything other than the URBAN LEGEND.
This, like I said, is the best in the series to me. I watch it every Halloween and I can't praise it enough. Kudos to Dwight H. Little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best sequels, October 25, 2013
This review is from: Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Every October it's always a joy to give the Halloween series a good rewatch. The original is an absolute horror classic, and forever will be, but sadly the sequels can be a bit mixed overrall. None of them stand out as boring, but the quality of filmmaking dips a bit low in a couple of them. However Halloween 4 stands out as one of the best sequels alongside Halloween II, and makes a more than worthy sequel to the first 2 films.

Halloween 4 centers on Myers making his way back to his hometown of Haddonfield to this time stalk Laurie's daughter and his niece Jaime. Can Loomis and Jaime's foster sister Rachel protect her and stop Michael before it's too late? Or will this be one Halloween everyone will want to forget?
Though Halloween 4 isn't able to top the original classic; it is quite the good film in it's own right. It's easily one of the more suspenseful sequels with a few well done suspense pieces executed perfectly by Dwight H. Little. The rooftop scene towards the end for example is great, and keeps the audience on the edge of their seat.
Another thing I've always liked about this one is how much more "Halloween" this one in particular is. From the creepy opening credits to the very end; the film never forgets what holiday it takes place on. It truly brings the perfect atmosphere the film needed :).
The acting in Halloween 4 is also quite good. Donald Pleasence returns and continues to do his role very well (not to mention he seems like he's slowly losing his mind lol), and both Ellie Cornell and Danielle Harris do great jobs as the leads picking up where Jaime Lee Curtis left off. The supporting cast is just as solid with Beau Starr in an underrated performance as Sheriff Meeker, and both Kelly (Kathleen Kinmont) and Brady (Sasha Jenson) make very good supporting characters themselves. Unlike it's sequel Halloween 5, nobody here is really unlikable or annoying, and you really notice the difference when you watch the two films back to back.

Overrall Halloween 4 is one heck of a good sequel. It isn't flawless (Myers mask isn't too good here, nor is the editing during the school scenes towards the end), but it's still very good, and definitly worth adding to your Halloween collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This truely was "The Return", August 24, 2004
After the failure that was Halloween III and with John Carpenter completely removed from the project, the series and Michael get revived and the result is quite impressive. Halloween 4 introduces a new group of characters that I found to be both interesting and charming enough that I must admit I was rooting for the good guys by the end of this movie!

Supposedly the ending of Halloween II is re-examined to prove that Laurie in fact died in the fire and that a burned Dr. Loomis (Pleasence) and of course an immortal Michael Meyers make it out of the fire. Michael is heading back to Haddonfield, only this time he's after the final living relative, his 7-year-old niece Jamie (Danielle Harris). Luckily for Jamie, she's got a strong half-sister Rachel (Ellie Cornell) who isn't ready to see anything happen to Jamie. When the killing starts in Haddonfield all over again it's up to Rachel to keep Jamie out of harm(Michael)'s way. Can she keep Jamie safe or will Rachel just become another one of his many victims in order to kill his relatives.

This movie rehashed the series and gave it a much more modern twist. It definitely upgraded to full blown "slasher" status and I'd even venture to say it's a "splatter" flick. This movie had another decent body count as well as a healthy set of gore, while still managing to hold on to what made Halloween a classic. Although the soundtrack is completely recycled at this point, but still effective, the use of noir and shadows is gone. What still does remain is the on the edge of your seat suspense that the original two had, and they do it well. I also like the fact that the Halloween series is almost a snotty version of a slasher film in that the body count doesn't have to be high and we almost expect the amount of blood and sex to be minimal, however I'm sure many will agree that the film still manages to remain just as scary if not more so than its competition franchises.

The DVD was quite impressive with the expectations set by the previous DVDs and the competition. It gives us the film, clean and in widescreen, as well as giving us a surround sound track (modernize it a little). What I liked was the documentary about the fourth movie and the rebirth of the Halloween series with this new "small child" dynamic. I didn't know it was on the DVD when I purchased it, but knowing that it's on there explains the extra couple of bucks and is definitely worth it! If you're a fan of the series, this is a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evil on two legs!, May 22, 2004
By 
Michael Myers has been under strict surveillance while recovering from the burn wounds received ten years ago. During his transfer, on Halloween of course, someone lets him know that he has a surviving niece living in Haddonfield and once again Michael goes on the rampage. Jamie Lee Curtis didn't return for this sequel, as her character (Laurie Strode) was killed years ago in a car crash. Her daughter, Jamie (Danielle Harris), is living with a foster family. Donald Pleasance returns as the ever-so-cautious Dr. Loomis who makes it his mission to stop the otherworldly abomination known as Michael Myers.
At first glance, this movie seems like a mere rehashing of the original film and it's first sequel (as part three had little to do with the Michael Myers saga). Time and again we horror fans keep coming back for more of the same with insatiable thirst. However, this film has a twist at the end that makes it all worthwhile. Besides, what fan of the genre doesn't want to see an unkillable monster repeatedly returning from the dead to wreak havoc on an unsuspecting small suburban town?
The acting in this movie is great. Donald Pleasance turns in his usual stellar performance, cheesy lines and all. Danielle Harris does a great job as Jamie, and George P. Wilbur does a superb job of being the line-less Michael Myers. The pace maintains the suspenseful atmosphere quite well, and the soundtrack only serves to complement in that respect. Furthermore, this film is yet another example of how you don't need spectacularly ridiculous effects and a mega-sized budget to make a great horror film. With a well-written script, decent and dedicated actors and directors, and good cinematography (and some decent gore has never been a hindrance either), the fans will just keep lining up for more. Though cheesy at times, this film is well worth some attention, especially on a dark and stormy Halloween night!
Overall a great film to add to your horror library, and one of the better Halloween sequels by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Myers Returns, August 11, 2001
By 
Bruno S. (Bronx, New York USA) - See all my reviews
In the late 80's horror sequels flodded the market. With all the "Friday The 13th" movies comming out it was nice to see the return of the boogey man in Halloween 4. While Jason slices and dices without suspense, our man Mikey actually manages to scare us before he does it. The 4th part in the venerable "Halloween" series is not as good as the first 2 but comes pretty close.
The film completely ignores the debacle which was "Halloween 3: Season Of The Witch" and continues where H2 left off. Michael survived the fire and has been ina coma in an asylum ever since. I love how screen writers think up ways to negate the previous films endings. But in this film it actually works. Of course we all know Mikey wakes up to wreak some havoc. He returns to his stomping grounds "Haddonfield" to now chase after his neice, Jamie Lloyd, (Jamie being an homage to the absent Jamie Lee Curtis) finely played by the young Danielle Harris.
There are cool death scenes, like the one where Mikey impales Kathleen Kinmont onto a wall with a rifle. And great chase sequences, the trapped in the house sequence is a highlight.
What takes away from the film is the way nothing is explained fully, horror genre fans watch these movies and love to connect the dots. We don't know how Michael really knows Jamie Lloyd (Danielle Harris) is his neice. Also how did Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis) die? There are some continuity problems too, e.g. the way Myers paleface mask seems to change from scene to scene. Also the film rehashes some of the originals scenes, like Jamie's scene where she is screaming down the street "Somebody Help Me Please!", the same way Laurie did in H1.
But the film has one key thing going for it, Michael Myers. He is one of the scariest Psycho's and it helps the film a great deal. The supporting performances by Ellie Cornell, and Donald Pleasance add to the whole mix. You actually believe that Ellie's character Rachael will risk her life to save her Foster- Sister Jamie.
If you can get over the minor mistakes and plotholes and take the film for what it is worth, you will enjoy this movie. This movie brings the series back to form, too bad the producers destroyed the momentum with the ending of Part 5 and all of Part 6. Had they just improved on this flick without adding bogus, silly, plot details, the franchise would still be healthy today. This is the last good "Halloween" flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers [Blu-ray]
Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers [Blu-ray] by Dwight H. Little (Blu-ray - 2012)
$24.99 $10.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.