Customer Reviews


348 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (69)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats in the DVD
Halloween is the best horror movie series. This DVD will be perfect even if it only included the High Def transfers. I hope they are working on the Blu-Ray Halloweens.

What is included:

* Widescreen Presentation enhanced for 16x9 TVs

* Audio commentary with director Dominique Othenin-Girard and actors Danielle Harris and Jeffrey Landman...
Published on June 14, 2006 by Nick Lavigne

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Donald Pleasance can't even save this one.
With the success of the Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers, it was inevitable that the money hungry boys in Hollywood wanted him to come back. First of all, how he came back from 200 bullets at the end of 4 is beyond me. When they replay the scene in 5, they made it look like 20 bullets, but nonetheless, he's back and alive and well.

The problem with 5 is...
Published on July 1, 2005 by John M Spangler


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only all the sequels were like this one., September 12, 2000
By 
Jerry Jason (Maidstone, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I wanna be quick in my review, because after all it's just a personal opinion. Halloween 5 presents the kind of atmosphere and characters I would like to see in a future sequel. H20 was superb, but something about the story of Jamie Lloyd and her uncle really hit a nerve with me. 4 and 5 are like 1 and 2. Made to be together, classic ti'll the end. 4 and 5 give that small town feeling, the evil presence, the fun loving teenagers who party on halloween while Michael prepares his domination. I can't put a finger on it, but 4 and 5 are very special. like 4, part 5 is scary, suspensful, moving, and dark. It takes its time (unlike the rushed H20)and sets a mood. A foundation with the residents of Haddonfield. True, Ellie Cornell (Racheal) could have lived longer, but you win and loose. But with Halloween 5 I guarantee you will WIN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER "HALLOWEEN" CLASSIC LOOKS GREAT ON DVD!, September 25, 2001
By 
Jerry Beaudin (Tecumseh, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (DVD)
HALLOWEEN 5 is a scary sequel that has all the susepnse and scares you'd expect from Michael Myers and company. You might say this is the sequel that officially made the series a "stereotypical slasher movie" but I look at movies like HALLOWEEN 5 and compare them to sequels like FRIDAY THE 13TH PART 5 and you suddenly realize HALLOWEEN 5 is a masterpiece. H5 has a dark atmosphere, some really frightening set pieces, and Donald Pleasence gives his best performance as the crazed Dr. Loomis. The DVD is pretty good, with an old documentary, "some" new interviews, a TV spot (no trailer!!) and a booklet. The new transfer is also the best looking print I have ever seen for this movie. Worth the cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Good and Scary Film", November 2, 2012
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"Halloween 5" was released in 1989 on a budget of $3,000,000 and eventually made close to $12,000,000 at the North American box office. Still most fans and critics hated "Halloween 5" as the horror genre of the 1980's began to wane as people were getting tired of the same stories being featured in "Halloween", "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and "Friday the 13th's" franchises. By 1989 the horror and good writing fell to the wayside as studios simply wanted to draw in the box office crowd to make money.

In this outing Michael Myers, again, returns to town to do some killing. Not much is new here in terms of plot, but the death sequences are mind-blowing and the finale original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A continuation of HALLOWEEN 4, December 22, 2012
Much like Halloween 2 is a direct continuation of the first film, this one serves as an immediate continuation of Halloween 4. This film focuses less on Michael Myers and more on the character of Jamie, Michael's niece. It is a good film that often gets a bad rap as one of the worse sequels in the series, but let's get real here. The films stopped being good after this one was made. However, H20, the film that featured the return of Jamie Lee Curtis, is a fine film, but it ignores the events of this story. This one is a worthy purchase for any horror fan or Halloween fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This story continues and Michael Myers gets revenge., October 21, 2004
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
Rated "R". Only allowed to see this if you are 17 years old or older. Not for children to see. Includes nudity and sexual situations, voilence and gore.
Don Shanks plays "Michael Myers" this time around. Don Shanks is best remembered as the Indian in Life and Times of Grizzly Adams [VHS] (1976), the movie and the tv series (1977-78).
Donald Pleasence returns as "Dr. Sam Loomis". Danielle Harris returns as the terrorized girl "Jamie". Ellie Cornell continues as "Rachel". Karen Alston is briefly seen as "Mrs. Carruthers" in new footage and Beau Starr continues as "Sheriff Ben Meeker".
The movie continues with the same night showing you how Michael Myers escaped his fate (not shown in previous film).
Then the film forwards to one year later as we see Jamie in the Haddonfield's Children's Clinic. Her nightmares are horrid. In fact, she can see what Michael Myers is doing. Jamie is unable to speak.
Michael wants revenge and is going to kill several more people.
Don Shanks also played the mysterious character of the man in black.

The next "Halloween" films are:

Halloween - The Curse of Michael Myers (1995)
Halloween H20 - Twenty Years Later (Dimension Collector's Series) (1998)
Halloween: Resurrection (2002)
Rob Zombie's Halloween (2007)
Rob Zombie's Halloween II (2009).

Update: June 2014. Malek Akkad confirms a script is being written for a new Halloween movie. He wants to go back to the classic elements and add some new elements.

Call of Duty Ghosts Digital Bundle: Game + Season Pass - PS3 [Digital Code]. You can be Michael Myers in the special unlockable bonus on the "fog" map. Put on the mask and pick up the ax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 5, the somewhat slow, but still EXCELLENT movie!, February 20, 2000
This review is from: Halloween 5 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Halloween 5, The Revenge of Michael Myers, is among the best in the series, if you're a Halloween nut like me. With the exception of part III, the entire series graces my video collection, and I display it proudly. I was disappointed to see Rachel die so early in the movie, but at least we had Jamie and Loomis to move the story along. Donald Pleasance seems to have changed his approach to stopping Michael in this movie, trying to reach the 6-yr-old boy buried beneath the madness that makes Michael a killer, rather than killing The Shape. Danielle Harris again gives an excellent performance as Jamie Lee Curtis' daughter, although I did think the entire mute thing was stretching credibility just a bit. The two self-described lousy cops added the perfect amount of humor, especially with the goofy sound effects heard whenever they show up, until Michael hacked 'em with a pitchfork. The only thing I disliked about this movie was the transformed Myers house. At times, the movie moves somewhat slowly, such as in the barn, or when Jamie's in the laundry chute, but Halloween 5 does an excellent job of continuing the story begun in Halloween 4 and sets up the storyline for Halloween, The Curse of Michael Myers. By the way, if they release the alternate cut of Curse on video or DVD, please tell me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps You Guessing All The Way, August 11, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (DVD)
H5 was the second best of the series( H4 was the best) It has alot of mysteries: who is the man in black, whats with the mark on michael's arm, why does he kill his family in the first place? All these mysteries won't be solved till H6. Jamie Lloyd and Dr. Loomis were the coolest characters in the movie. Since H20 denies 4-6, you may want to stop after 6 even though H20 and H8 were good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An imperfect but important chapter in the series., October 27, 2006
By 
Squash 'N' Squeak "The Silencing Machine" (The Darkest Regions of Outer Space) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (DVD)
Halloween 5, like most of the sequels after Halloween 4, is greatly bashed, and doesn't deserve as much bashing as it gets, as with most of the sequels after Halloween 4 (although Halloween: Ressurection pretty much sucked). Halloween 5 further digs into the story of Michael Myers; in this sequel, it's proven that he is out to kill the rest of his female relatives, and the "rage" inside of him is driven by Jamie, the last survivor of the Myers blood, so she is obviously the target (that definately sounds disturbing, wanting to kill your niece, but hey, we all need hobbies, right?). After Michael is supposedly dead, we see that he managed to escape from the police and managed to crawl out of the manhole just before the bomb went off. So then we find Jamie in a hospital for kids, after killing her foster mother by (from what I understand) part of Michael's rage getting inside of her. Now, she can barely talk (until the end), but is now spiritually connected to Michael, and can pinpoint his exact movements and locations. Dr. Loomis depends on her to find Michael, in hopes of finally killing him or at least stopping the rage inside of him. Michael is put to sleep from some tranquilizer and put in jail, where he'll be transferred to a maximum security facility. But in the end, as Jamie walks through the jail, we see that it's trashed and he's escaped (!).

It's weak points are pretty obvious: Some of the scenes are just flat out ridiculous, like when the friend of Jamie's foster sister Rachel, Tina goes into her house she shares with Rachel and acts out the infamous stereotypical teenage girl who's completely oblivious of the real world and doesn't even suspect that someone is in the house that shouldn't be there, and has a friend that is equally brain-dead as her. And at the party they go to, there's some guy in a costume that's hitting on Tina; we find out later that he has NOTHING to do with the plot. And while Tina is in the barn looking for the kitten she finds, can't she see the silhouette of Michael who is standing right in front of her? WTF? And finally, when Michael is in the jail cell, why don't they take off his mask? Don't they want to find out who he is? And come on, after seeing what he can do, you'd think they would immediately put him into a maximum security facility, not wait for a few days will he's put into a simplistic jail cell!

Despite these problems, I can forgive H5 because it reveals more of the story of Michael and is nonetheless well thought out. H5 will never be up there with other slasher classics (such as the fist Halloween), but it's still a strong sequel, and while not the best of the series, it's definately worth more than 3.5 stars.

P.S. On a completely unrelated topic, keep watching the Monster Fest on AMC October 22nd-31st!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have For Any Horror Library, November 13, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (DVD)
This was a one of the great horror movies of the eighties. Unfortunately it was the last great Halloween movie made until H2O. It contained the hallmark frightening trademarks including the eerie Halloween music. The opening was great and it made a decent conclusion to its predecessor Halloween 4.

However, there are a few notes of concern (which is why I rated this movie a four). The biggest problem of all, was the end didn't really end. I know this is common in many horror movies but this ending really really sucked. It was almost like they were trying to give Michael Meyers a killing buddy. Something like a chopping and dicing duo. Although for those who have seen the sequels following this one, you realize they really never ever explained the mysterious man or why he was ever even in the movie. He just blows up the police station and frees Michael Meyers. If you are going to bring in some off the wall.....(insert appropriate metaphor here), then at least bring it to conclusion in one of your sequels.

If you are a true horror fan then by all means purchase this for your library. But prepared for the mindless slicing and dicing that is the trademark of many mass murderer horror movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Donald Pleasance can't even save this one., July 1, 2005
By 
John M Spangler (Bryan, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (DVD)
With the success of the Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers, it was inevitable that the money hungry boys in Hollywood wanted him to come back. First of all, how he came back from 200 bullets at the end of 4 is beyond me. When they replay the scene in 5, they made it look like 20 bullets, but nonetheless, he's back and alive and well.

The problem with 5 is that it's simply not very scary. It takes place a year after 4, and again, Michael is after "the little girl from part 4". It's a pet peave for Halloween fans, but the mask in 5 is the worst the series as seen. It looks like a mask I could buy at Kmart on a blue light special. It looks nothing like the mask he had on in 1, 2 or 4. But annoying mask aside, the real sense of chills and thrills is really missing from this cheap imatation. They even infected the classic Halloween theme music with a horrible casio keyboard and is sorely missing from the already boring movie.

Even Donald Pleasance (Loomis) looks bored throughout his stay in 5. Again, Michael is after his little niece (Laurie Stroade's daughter), sigh,again. She obviously got away in 4. This time around she's a mute and she only regains her speach near the end of the movie. A crying shame becuase she's a good little actor.

Michael once again goes on another killing spree on Halloween to get the little girl in his clutches. Plot is weak, acting is subpar, and the murder scenes are anything but creative. They actually made it more gory than 1, 2 and 4 combined, but once again, gore does not mean better, its' about suspense, and Part V has none of that.

The best movies in the series are 1, 2, 4 and H20. Other than that, steer away from the others, especially this one. Yawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 335 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers
Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers by Dominique Othenin-Girard (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.