Customer Reviews


841 Reviews
5 star:
 (369)
4 star:
 (211)
3 star:
 (106)
2 star:
 (69)
1 star:
 (86)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Awesome
I am a HUGE Halo nerd, but was never really a fan of the live action Halo productions before. I went into this with somewhat low expectations and was blown away. Many parts, especially the opening sequences between the Chief and Cortana, gave me chills. Possibly even a tear or two came to my eye.

There are a lot of little nods and references to Halo...
Published on October 23, 2012 by John D. Glenn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an ok movie.
Everything is in the title. The movie is well-filmed and edited, while the acting is decent. I think it was really for fans of the video game, which I am not.
Published 5 months ago by RGuenoun


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Awesome, October 23, 2012
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn (DVD)
I am a HUGE Halo nerd, but was never really a fan of the live action Halo productions before. I went into this with somewhat low expectations and was blown away. Many parts, especially the opening sequences between the Chief and Cortana, gave me chills. Possibly even a tear or two came to my eye.

There are a lot of little nods and references to Halo backstory for nerds like me who have read all the books (multiple times), played all the games (even more times) and know way too much about Halo in general. That being said, it is also very accessible for newcomers.

Buy this or suffer the consequences of not knowing what awesome is!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uh. Halo Fan or Not i enjoyed this., October 22, 2012
I have played the games sure, but just enough to get through the campaign. This is a must see if you're a fan of sci fi. Because it's darn good sci fi no matter what it's connected to.

Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Differences between Extended Cut (limited edition) and Webisodes, November 16, 2012
The following lists the differences between the webisodes and the full Forward Unto Dawn (hereinafter "FUD") movie (SPOILERS FOLLOW!!):

1) There is a 4-minute pre-opening credits scene that shows the incoming freshman cadets Lasky, Vickers, Sully, Chen, Silva, Tchakova and upperclassman Orenski either getting their heads shaved and/or delivering brief speeches regarding their purposes for joining CAMS. The scene is juxtaposed with various training montages and shots of CAMS & UNSC military personnel.

2) The opening/closing credits are longer.

3) There is an approximately 4-minute blooper reel following the end credits.

And that's it! Unfortunately, no added action scenes, gore, or extended clips of Master Chief. If you've watched the webisodes, then you've watched the majority of the movie.

I've never been much of a Halo gaming fan, although I have always found the mythology fascinating. I had high hopes for a Halo movie when Neill Blomkamp first directed the Halo 3: Landfall shorts. FUD gives us a taste of what we can look forward to and I hope Microsoft acts quickly. With the new Star Wars trilogy slated to be released in 2015+, perhaps there will be renewed demand for sci-fi movies.

Despite its low budget, FUD has high production values and good CGI. Battlestar Galactica veterans like Mike Dopud (Specialist Gage) and Ty Olsson (Captain Kelly) make appearances as the superintendent of CAMS and an older Lasky, respectively. The plotline is Starship Trooper-esque (the movie, not the book) formulaic. Young group of cadets enroll in military academy, with certain fortuitous events occurring just before the main character decides to abandon his promising military career. FUD builds up slowly before Master Chief is unveiled but it's an unforgettable entrance. I appreciated FUD's attention to detail, such as showing falling bodies when the space tether was destroyed, Fred-104 in Master Chief's field of view, ODSTs dropping into battle, and Master Chief's emphasis on pistol usage.

I did have an issue with the end scene where Lasky acts as a decoy to save Master Chief and his fellow cadets. I thought the point of FUD was to show Lasky's evolving maturity, but he only seemed like his usual reckless self.

Given FUD's internet popularity, I think this bodes well for a potential cinematic incarnation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sci-Fi mini series ever!, October 22, 2012
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn (DVD)
By far this is the best Halo live action vid produced by far. However, I'd go so far as to say it's the best Sci-Fi mini series ever produced. With special effects on par with TV and even movie quality, you won't be disappointed. The acting is strong and believable. There's just enough character development to understand what the major players are about. And then of course there is Master Chief. Daniel Cudmore plays the physical Master Chief and does a masterful performance. Director Stewart Hendler (Sorority Row, Whisper) gets the most from his actors throughout the series. I never felt like anyone was overacting, nor not given their all. A great balance.
Halo fans, do yourselves a HUGE favor and buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, November 29, 2012
Like most of the reviewers on here I watched this not expecting much. Was I wrong.. No big name actors, no problem, no big Hollywood budget...no problem. This film was great. If you have read the books and played the games, it has a solid story line. It ties in amazingly to the last two books and Halo 4. In terms of Cinematography, I can't believe how they pulled it off. The actors are young but great, the scope and landscape perfect. Even the CGI plays a great role in adding to the story without ruining it like most non-maintstream movies. The single greatest thing about this.....is FINALLY seeing the Master Chief in real life, it will bring chills to any Halo fan. I could ramble on for hours about this.

Long story short, buy it and watch it. A great flick and kudos to those that made it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, November 28, 2012
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn (DVD)
I'm surprised they're coming out with a retail release of this because I thought it was on youtube only. But I'll be picking it up to show some relatives. It's as good as any big budget sci-film and will leave you wanting more. I'm not a fan of Halo and never played, but if you like sci-fi films you will enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for non Halo players too., February 25, 2013
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn (DVD)
I have never played a Halo game, and it is a very good chance that I never will, although I was aware of it. I felt compelled to see this movie anyway, and I simply love it. It is fun to see the way the characters develop as the movie plot moves along, but even better than that is the music score. The music playing during the final fight scene is simply amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow starter, but HOT DAMN!!!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
From the get go, the graphics are great. The story, a little slow for my tastes, but it gets really good. The ending is a cliff hanger!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then most movies in the theater, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn (DVD)
It has been a very long time since a show i watched actually gave me goosebumps. Halo 4 Forward Unto Dawn is a instant masterpiece. With a game like halo being put into a movie format you worry if its just going to turn into a Michael Bay explosion fest. Which there is nothing wrong with that but it's over done. It was a pleasant surprise to see it not be focused the whole time on Master Chief. To anyone a fan of the series of Halo it is a must. If you never cared for the Halo games you need to step aside and still watch this movie because it's what needs to be done with all movies. This same high level of quality the only complaint that i had about it was sometimes too much slowmo segments. Glad to see they used the same voice actor from the original Halo games. So if you have not watched it on Youtube yet why you still reading this? Go watch them. I will wait for your return............................................................... AWESOME RIGHT!? Totally amazing! Now Pre-order it go on. Go ahead no one is judging you for liking a Halo movie. There you go good job. High Five!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forward Unto Dawn :), November 22, 2012
As a miniseries on Youtube, the drama was a bit drawn out at first. But the story was told very well. Another reviewer made a comment about this being a Starship Trooper knock off... apparently that reviewer only saw a few minutes of Starship Troopers, because the socioeconomic themes developed through Starship Troopers (while I do like them) are completely absent in Halo. Instead, Forward unto Dawn does an excellent job developing the premise of internal conflict and struggle of a Cadet under presure about who he is and how he makes that personal distinction, and what he does when he is called to action by one of the most powerful figures in Halo history. His struggle, his loss, his sacrifice and his choice. Wonderfully done and lovely to experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn
Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn by Stewart Hendler
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.