Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halo Fiction = Yes; Karen Traviss = No
As with all novels in the Halo Universe, I gobbled this one up as quickly as time would allow. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and am craving the next book in the series.

That being said, I agree with several other reviewers, that Karen Traviss really should not have passed on her strong moral opinion about any character's actions prior to the onset of this...
Published on December 22, 2011 by stephen

versus
398 of 431 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Title of the book should have been "Let's Crucify Halsey"
Karen Traviss has a rather interesting history writing tie-in novels for a number of well-respected science fiction properties, from the wildly popular like Star Wars, to testosterone-laden splatterfests like Gears of War. She is known for ignoring important details from the canon and basically creating things from whole cloth to fill the gaps, out of fear of becoming too...
Published on November 1, 2011 by N. Stallman


‹ Previous | 110 11 1226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much-needed, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: Glasslands (Kindle Edition)
A long-time fan of Eric Nylund's Halo novels (and having plowed my way through horrendous works such as 'The Flood') I must say I was somewhat skeptical of giving someone else a chance at it. Still, the novel's price was low enough for me to actually try it and the results are outright surprising. I really enjoyed Mrs. Traviss's perspective on the Halo universe (where Dr. Halsey is no longer revered) and I read all three novels (including Mortal Dictata) in under a week. Definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a Halo fan I took it on my self to read these books, and they are pretty good., January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While it is no "Game of Thrones" I still very much enjoyed delving into aftermath of Halo 3 for both sides. Nice character development, and good plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved Glasslands, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: Glasslands (Kindle Edition)
Traviss is amazing ... I have read her gears of war books. And her stories do not disappoint. She explores so many complex characters and issues. I love her work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its a nice book but people have their opinions, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: Glasslands (Kindle Edition)
Its a very good book and its halo so that makes it even better but people DO have their opinions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanding the Halo universe, December 14, 2013
By 
Steven Mccoy (Paradise, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kept adding to the universe of Halo, more characters and their background, for me was great, if only interested in direct information of the story line of the ancient history of Halo, the book might seem to be more than you want to read through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good continuation, not up to par with the previous 3, however., December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the book was good, but I don't think Eric Nylund had intended for most of the story to talk the route that it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall good book, July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: Glasslands (Kindle Edition)
It was a pretty good book. The author didn't use combat as an interest point which I find to be hard to do in a halo book. Anyhow, it was done well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, but has some weak points, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: Glasslands (Kindle Edition)
Ok so Traviss is a good author people, don't listen to those who say she is not, but she is NOT Nylund. We are used to Nylunds serious tone and militaristic atmosphere in First Strike and ghosts of Onyx, and Traviss does not do that as much here. While I will admit she does an excellent job of getting to the emotional aspect of the story line and showing how thing such as the Spartan program and an alien war effect even the strongest human minds. Expect Dr. Halsy to be a fundamentally changed character here (but don't worry its easy to get used to and fits in to the plot) and pay attention in the beginning, its kind of choppy the first few chapters but soon Traviss settles into a stable plot and then your just along for the ride. A good book and a great way to finish what Nylund started and start some side plots that leave me wanting Thursday War all that much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love hardcover, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
had it soft cover but wanted a hard cover
was inexpensive
described as new but had marker marks on the side of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halo: Glasslands (Paperback)
its ok i liked it better during the covenant war this is to much cload and dagger for me kinda drags out but is a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Halo: Glasslands
Halo: Glasslands by Karen Traviss
$7.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.