Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you own Halo, or just like great music - This is for you.
If you played the game, you know just how stunning and well done the music of Halo is. If you haven't... you're missing out on some of the most original and inspiring music of our time.
Here is your chance to right your wrongs and experience the aural beauty of Halo.
To begin, the CD comes with a small foldout, giving you a bit of insight into the authors and...
Published on June 20, 2002 by knight_premier

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Mediocre Soundtrack
The game "Halo" was awsome, no doubt about it. I expected a great soundtrack when I bought this. And, in some aspects, it is great. I enjoyed listening to "Opening Suite", "Rock Anthem", "Halo", and "Brothers in Arms". However, most of the other songs are ploddingly familiar drum beats and orchestral sounds.

This isn't a bad soundtrack; Halo fans (myself...
Published on August 13, 2004 by crzy_gamer


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

212 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you own Halo, or just like great music - This is for you., June 20, 2002
By 
"knight_premier" (Tucson, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
If you played the game, you know just how stunning and well done the music of Halo is. If you haven't... you're missing out on some of the most original and inspiring music of our time.
Here is your chance to right your wrongs and experience the aural beauty of Halo.
To begin, the CD comes with a small foldout, giving you a bit of insight into the authors and the music, as well as a few directions to help you on your way to becoming an adept Bungie fan.
Also, to calm the worries of Xbox owners, there is no data on the disc; so you can play it and rip it to your hard drive whenever you wish.
The music itself is a recomposition of the most dramatic scores in the game, with only a smattering of the transitional music. Which means only the good stuff. Also, the music had to be recombined from it's origional 'freeform' version. Now the tracks are a good set legnth, and will play as a normal score would; rather than loop or remix themselves as they might have in the game. Many of the scores have been combined into 'Suites' containing many smaller tracks from the game, giving the music fluidic transitions that only serve to enhance the experience. Another important point is that the in-game music was somewhat sparser, because it's job was to blend in with the game. The album version, on the other hand, has been spruced up in some slow areas - giving Halo veterans a richer experience than they would expect. Finally, the album includes tracks played only at the Halo expositions at Gamespot and E3; as well as other pieces that were not used in the game, or were hard to find...
The music itself is a broad-range of taste. Transitioning from charged pieces found in 'Brothers in Arms', to the guitar riffs of 'Rock Anthem for Saving the World', and the melodic spell of 'Ambient Wonder'. And anyone who has an afinity to cultural drumbeats will love the soundtrack, which manages to blend electronicly generated sounds with them to further a wonderful piece.
The only track which seems to deviate from perfection is 'Shadows'. It's strong guitar sounds challenge the rest of the album, and may come as a jolt to anyone listening for relaxation. It does however provide a upbeat after the darker music in tracks such as Suite Autumn and the Library Suite, particularly dark levels in the game which were matched with equally cryptic music.
For music lovers, this is a must have at a resonable price. From energetic bursts to get you going, to trance-inducing melodies, and reminiscent pieces to help you contemplate. It features music for almost any occasion, and will provide unequalled awe for anyone who has never played the game. It may even provoke you to buy an Xbox and Halo: Combat Evolved.
For gamers, this will invoke memories of the levels and lessons learned in the stunning game from Bungie. The beautiful vistas of 'Halo', the alien halls of 'The tru7h and Reconcilliation', the amazing tank run in 'Assault on the Control Room', and the fear induced by '343 Guilty Spark'. This music highlights both the places you've been and the places you haven't.
For Bungie fans, this CD is a must-have. The message behind SABABWL, the music from Halo at E3, and an hour of memories from Bungie's latest work of genius. What's there not to like?
Final Note: The music totals to well over 60 minutes of tunes, more than enough time to listen to on a drive to work, or to help pass the time durring some tedious chore. Whatever your intentions, the Halo Soundtrack CD is a great piece of work that will please everyone.
Make the right choice, buy this CD, and learn the Tru7h.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's finally here! An award winner from Bungie Studios!, June 12, 2002
Many of us have been eagerly awaiting this soundtrack. The music contained within has won awards from Rolling Stone ("Best Original Soundtrack in a game") and the Game Developers Conference ("Gamer's Choice award for Best Audio")
So it's no wonder that Bungie Studios decided to release the music of Halo as a bonafide soundtrack CD. And the world is a better place for it.
In-game, the music beds played dynamically, in rhythm to the player's moves on the battlefield. Coupled with the Xbox's 5.1 Surround Sound capabilities, it made for one of the best marriages of visual and aural 'Shoot-em-up' entertainment. Marty O'Donnell and Michael Salvatori are to be commended for continuing their track-record first started with Riven, The Sequel to Myst, followed by Myth and then Oni.
In producing this soundtrack, Mr. O'Donnell had to lock-down the music. As he states in the liner notes, this creates a different experience for the listener that's familiar with the game, as the music burned on CD now follows a firmly defined beginning, middle, and end. To that end, Mr. O'Donnell has done an admirable job of letting the pieces breath on their own. By also breaking up the sequence of songs into an interspersed list of musical moods, the CD never 'gets into a rut' : each piece is well complemented by the piece before and after it. A moving percussion-heavy track, like "The Covenant Dance" (#14) is bracketed by the more symphonic "Devils... Monsters..." (#13) and synth-heavy "Alien Corridors" (#15). At the same time, the track list does follow the musical progression in the game, so if you're familiar with the storyline, the CD is a great way to re-experience your battle with the evil alien baddies known as The Covenant.
Some tracks only suffer from not being given more time to 'git all funky wit it', like a personal favorite of mine, track #6, "A Walk in the Woods" or track #16, "Rock Anthem for Saving the World" but then pieces like #22, "The Long Run" make up for it, relishing on the percussive grooves of a chase through dangerous territories.
For absolutely beautiful Bass lines, track #10, "Under Cover of Night" and the aforementioned track #6 are worthy contenders. Ambient pieces, hinting at New Age sensibilities, but not allowing itself to 'go too random.' can be found on track #7, "Ambient Wonder" and "Trace Amounts," #9. Some of the anthem/military-like pieces are #3, "Brothers in Arms", #8 "The Gun Pointed at the Head of the Universe." Be careful not to listen to these pieces while driving to work, or you may just get a speeding ticket!
One truly unique twist that seperates this music from other 'game' music is the addition of actual Monk chants, performed by Mr. O'Donnell, Mr. Salvatori, and other singers. It's a testament to their ingenuity that they pull it off! The signature piece, "Halo", #26, and tracks, #1 "Opening Suite", and #17, "The Maw" show how Monks and their chants can still 'fit' in modern music, no less in a modern console action game!
All in all, this soundtrack is a must have for anyone interesting in instrumental music that touches on different genres and infuses them with a sly personal touch. If you get a chance, you must try it out with the game it was created for, on a home theater setup, natch! You won't regret it!
I eagerly await any future soundtrack work from Bungie Studios and Total Audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best musical scores for a game, for music even, January 2, 2004
This music is great music, even since it originated from a game.
The music on this CD and in the game, Halo, consists of a mixture of Techno, Classical, Horror, and a hint of rock. Mostly, it is fantasy-like music, the typical kind of music you would find in a game, except this music surpasses the various musical scores for other games.
The music in the game, Halo, contributes to the tense, mysterious, suspense-filled aura while you are playing. The music coordinates with the storyline to effectively deliver the impact of the situation to the player. For me, I also experienced the music to coordinate with what was happening around me, where I was, and what was to come ahead.
Though this music isn't exactly something you would "bump up" while you were in a car drive downtown, it makes great background music while you are playing other games, or - in my case - doing homework. Some of the tracks on this CD are actually very relaxing, which may seem ironic given that this game is a sci-fi shooter.
My personal favorites (and a small description):
The Gun pointed at the Head of the Universe: For the Halo fans, this track appears at the end of the second level, "Halo." This track involves a fast pace and consists mostly of drums/bass type instruments. It is definitely geared to a more upbeat combat situation, and the snare drums add a militaristic feeling to it.
Brothers in Arms: Well, listen to the demo for yourself. This is a very militaristic-feeling song that contributes to the Human-Alien conflict in the game. The song sounds as if there is a whole symphany playing in it and is very well done.
The Maw: A relaxing, Gregorian Chant-type song, that expresses neither happiness nor sorrow, yet still ties in both feelings somehow.
Ambient Wonder: A song that fits its title very nicely, it is more geared toward the techno side. It is a slower-paced song with a nice waterfall-effect towards it. It rises and falls throughout the song and the way the notes are played makes it a relaxing piece.
A Walk in the Woods: I have to concur with one of the previous reviewers, this is by far my favorite track, probably the best. It is near the end in the level called "Assault on the Control Room." It is neither slow nor fast paced, but it is more uplifting than most of the songs. The drums aren't as intense as they are in most, but still provide a catchy beat to the song as a whole.
If the Amazon people had any sense left, they would add part of #6: A walk in the Woods, to the demo list, to get people to truly hear what this CD has to offer.
Be warned, this music is not for those of you who would rather turn off the game music, and instead play the heavy-metal or rap stuff in the background instead. This music is definitely geared to the videogame/fantasy music fans, the Halo fanatics like myself, and the true music lovers who are passionate for the song itself and not for what is the style in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely awesome! Must have for HALO fans!, July 15, 2002
By 
AMM "adrian_m" (New England, United States) - See all my reviews
What more needs to be said? If you're an XBOX gamer, there's very little doubt that HALO isn't one of your favorite games. HALO is a first person shooter done correctly, in every conceivable aspect. HALO is one of those extremely rare games that seems to do everything right-everything is done perfectly and all components compliment each other flawlessly. In addition to the gripping story and revolutionary gameplay, the soundtrack is also exceptionally well done and many HALO fans have been clamoring for an official soundtrack.
The good news is that Bungie listened to its loyal fans and with Total Audio's help, they have released the soundtrack to this epic game.
If you loved the music in HALO and wished there was some way to hear the tracks in their entirety or find some way to rip them to your hard drive, get this CD! Many of your favorite tracks are here and they sound great! The awesome variety of sounds helps set the mood from fast paced rock tracks to moody, introspective ballads complete with chanting monks. Plus, you can rip these tunes to your XBOX hard drive and play them on any game that supports a custom soundtrack!!
Buy this CD today! 100% recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, February 17, 2006
By 
M. Harold "Jedi Consular" (Dantooine, Old Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For people who love Halo, like myself, naturally they should love the music but this soundtrack is also for people who might not enjoy or have never played the game. Now the people in the category of the latter would need some sort of pyschiatric checkup but the point is the music is so wonderfully done, i do belive a nobel prize is in order for both Martin O'Donnell and Michael Salvatori.The best tracks without question include; Covenant Dance, Ambient Wonder, Brothers In Arms, and A Walk In The Woods. A pure joy to put on and relax to when you feel like chilling. Pretty cool to listen to when your baked off your ass from my own experience as well. Some tracks make you want to cry while others make you want to fight someone. First time I heard Brothers In Arms I had a sudden urge to contact my local recruiter and enlist in the Marines. Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Video Game Music EVER!, July 19, 2002
By 
Tim Howe (Batavia, New york United States) - See all my reviews
I NEVER and I mean NEVER listen to music in videogames. Ever since they started putting in the option to turn the music off, I have utilized it. Halo did not have that option, so I was "forced" to listen to it. Let me tell you...IT BLEW ME AWAY! The music adds so MUCH to the emotion of the game. Every emotion possible is released as you hear this incredible score while playing the game. I instantly went to Amazon.com to see it the soundtrack even existed, much to my surprise, and EXCITEMENT it did! I love this CD. If you liked the music in this game, dont hesitate to buy this soundtrack! You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutting Edge Music! Too bad they dont do live concerts......, July 26, 2004
Martin O' Donnel did an Awesome job of this soundtrack! This has to be my favorite game OST ever! I reccomend buying it! If the amazon staff had any sense... They would preview the Rock Anthem! This soundtrack has alot to offer from Techno to Military beats. Even a little jungle tunes mixed in it!

My top 5 Favs:

5.Maw

4. Opening Suite

3. Brothers in Arms

2. Covenant

1. Rock Anthem

Rock Anthem: A cool gutair mixed with the save the world theme used in several levels.

Covenant: A jungly dance beat

Brothers in Arms: A military-Like theme with heavy drums! Its sounds as if the whole orchestra is pounding out the notes

Opening Suite: A mixed track... Starts out slow.. Then it speeds up on you! When you least expect it

I cant say one bad thing about HALO music. No one made a mistake or note wrong in this. Its awesome! BUY IT! BUY IT!

---------

SJR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long... BUT WORTH READING, November 24, 2004
All the tracks have no lyrics (besides "ahhhhhhhhhhh") but that is what the music actually good. All the tracks have a special feeling involved, which makes it worth buying. This review is special. In all, the soundtrack is great. I would have to say thanks to all. And I am the guy that wrote, "the reason for five stars is..." BUT IM NOW THIRTEEN! I AM NOW WORKING ON A WEB PAGE CALLED gamersmagazineweekly.net. Anyway, to the point, the halo soundtrack (this is worth reading).

1.Opening suit;

The song starts really slow, making monk chants NOT sound out of date. It picks up soon when not expected.

2.Truth and Reconciliation suit;

The song is pretty much slow beat. And the violin background is what picks up the atmosphere of this track.

3.Brothers in Arms;

The Most of the song is up beat and it keeps that way in a military feeling. the violins and trumpets are the great part. The song is really neat!

4.Enough dead heroes;

It gives that "I want revenge" feeling at most parts of the song. The drums make it feel that way and the trumpets and tubas make that air feel that way.

5. Perilous Journey;

It is fast beat and it French horns give it that "Ooh new stuff" feeling. With a taste of hyper added. I love the xylophones (I think those were) with that fast tapping like staccato

6. Walk in woods;

The base is REALLY good and gives that Ambience some how. The drum set gives the interest a lot.

7.Ambient wonder;

Kind of random but has that "the roof is filled with crystal chandeliers" feeling. Like glass is hitting each other and echoing into other parts of a "great hall"

8.Gun Pointed at the Head of the Universe;

Gives that "i am going to kill you!" feeling. It isn't that random but it has that military speed music feeling.

9.Trace amounts;

Has that "glass" feeling again. the track reminds me of dead things and the sound a submarine's props' make underwater.

10.Under Cover of Night;

ANOTHER great base play. And the name has the meaning. It is still good without the drum set.

11.What once was Lost;

It has that dead people atmosphere. It sounds more like an atmosphere than a song. its pretty good.

12.Lament for PVT. Jenkins;

The heavy drum gave away that dramatic feeling. It's really good with that downed violin in the background. That supports the feeling of the song.

13.Devils... Monsters...

This is a great song. The drums give this a RUN AWAY NOW! Feeling and the violins (or cellos) give that feeling up. The drums make the "scary" atmosphere and the violins give that "brave dude" atmosphere with it.

14.Covenant dance.

This is another good song. The choir did that "brave dude" feeling and the drums made the whole song sound like a chorus. After the drums go away, the electric gives the track that advanced techno feeling after

15.Alien Corridors;

It is another atmosphere song. The electronic sounds give it that "everything around you is advanced techno feeling"

16.Rock Anthem for saving the World;

Rock anthem it says; Rock anthem you get. And it does give that feeling like you are saving the world. I can't say. Its cool

17.Maw;

This is a great track that makes monk chants not sound out of date.

18.Drumrun;

It gives that "I am rambo with a big gun!" feeling in the song. Thanks to the drums that are in the music.

19.On a Pale horse;

It is really fast pased and has that "he is coming" feeling in the track. The title of the song does sound like it is meant to be there.

20.Perchance to dream;

The digital sound does give the song a ghostly atmosphere. A slow beat and the drums make me feel like I am in that level where I am surrounded by sleeping grunts.

21.Library suite;

The track to that level I really really hate. The track makes the Air fill with gold. It reminds me way too much of 343 Guilty Spark.

22.Long Run;

It sounds a little random at first, but it sounds like another drumming atmosphere track.

23.Suite Autumn;

It has that GIANT overhead tingle. Like the Pillar of Autumn is BIG. (even though it is really big) It deserved such a title.

24.Shadows;

Has that evil screaming kind of fast paced music. Reminds me of the game Diablo 2. Random song. But still good.

25.Dust an Echos;

The monks sounds like it is meant to be there in memory of the pillar of Autumn.

26.Halo;

Really fast pace. Its fast, and everything in the song deserves to be in there. In the first 45 seconds, it sounds like the violins, cellos, etc. are being played like a guitar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Game and a Good Soundtrack, July 25, 2003
By 
Antonio (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
I really enjoyed Halo and I really enjoyed the soundtrack. Its funny, but listening to the soundtrack at home and in the car made me realized how much ambient music Halo had.
Playing the game after listening to the soundtrack is more of a treat. It really places you more in the game and you anticipate your favorite sections. Lasty, if you have a sub in your car prepare to be blown away. This CD is heavy on the bass and will keep you awake.
PS - This soundtrack won Rolling Stones Soundtrack of the year for an electronic game (PC and Console). That's how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally awesome!, December 26, 2005
i really love the music in the game, it has that awesome electronica feel, i normally play this cd all the time when i am surfing the web, fans of the game and even non fans of the game that like this type of music will be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Halo: Original Soundtrack
Halo: Original Soundtrack by Martin O'Donnell/Michael Salvatori
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.