Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire

Format: Video GameChange
Price:$20.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2011
I still think its not fair that the average halo player hates this game. I have all sorts of friends that claim "it isn't even a halo" but that is all crap. This game, although not a FPS, is a great game, (its an RTS). If you have played any of the other games made by ensemble studios, like Age Of Empires or Age Of Mythology, then you will really like this game. The campaign is very fun, and the cut scenes are also entertaining. PLaying co op with your friends is great, and skirmishes are also available on xbox live. The controls for this game are very easy to get used to. For a console RTS I think that Halo Wars is a huge success. It really is a shame that this is the last game Ensemble Studios was able to make. Overall this is a great game, and I would reccomend it to anyone who likes rts. I will admit that for an RTS it is a little dumbed down (you can only build turrets and buildings at base areas, not anywhere on the map like in AOE or AOM), but it is still a lot of fun. Oh and BTW, if you buy this, get the platinum hits edition, it comes with all the add ons free (the map pack and extra gametypes). One more warning, there are not nearly as many people playing Halo Wars on Xbox Live as other Halos, so some specific gametypes you may have trouble finding matches. What I mean by that is gametypes like 3V3 Deathmatch and 3V3 Tug Of War only have 15-30 people playing at a time. Still this is a great game, and basic gametypes like 1V1 skirmish are very popular with 1,000s of people.

I wish Ensemble Studios was still making games...
11 comment62 of 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2011
So that normal campaign mode is great, yet the real excitement lies within the online mode. The 3v3 battles are intense and the 6 different main characters bring in all sorts of variety. If you like RTS games, this is the best for the xbox out there. I only hope that they come out with a Halo 2 at some point to keep the dream alive.
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
It's really a shame that this game came out more than two years ago and i didn't get it then. Not that many people are online anymore, and if they are they are about a million time better than me. I enjoy it, and if you are the kind of gamer who likes playing the campaign, or someone who has friends that can play it against you, i highly recommend it, especially when you look at the price!
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
First and foremost, Halo Wars is an RTS (real time strategy) game, not a shooter like every other Halo game. Don't show up expecting a shooter type experience.

Also, if you play RTS games like Starcraft on the PC, be aware that Halo Wars feels a bit simplified compared to PC entries like Company of Heroes or Starcraft, both in control and depth/specificity of units. This isn't necesarily a bad thing since the 360 controller isn't quite as flexible as a keyboard or as precise as a mouse during play. This simplicity also comes with the benefit of being easier to approach/learn than the more unforgiving/"hardcore" RTS games found on the PC.

In all, Halo Wars is a good RTS game. Much smoother on console than you might expect, if a little simplistic compared to PC counterparts.

In my case, I enjoyed a more basic approach to this RTS since I'm a bit sick of all the shooters (to say nothing about having an ancient PC barely able to run the original Starcraft; forget anything as recent as Starcraft 2 or even Company of Heroes!) and was looking for a change of pace in my gaming. At a budget price, Halo Wars is a good call.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2011
Being a fan particularly of AOE1 and AOE2, this game appealed to me. It's very similar although the setting is quite different and it seems less subtle in the details than those games. Overall if you like strategy games, I think this works very well on the Xbox.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
This is a solid console RTS game that was set in the Halo universe. If you like RTS games or you enjoy the Halo universe this is a title that should be played.

Recommended.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2012
I am a pretty hardcore strategy fan, but also a pretty hardcore halo fan. If this game weren't halo themed I might be a little dissatisfied, but still a pretty good strategy game nevertheless. I was a little weary of the game controls before buying, but absolutely no complaint there.. they are fantastic. I can see that this game might not be for everybody but it is for me. My advice is do some research and see if it is your style, if it is then you will have a lot of fun!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2012
Halo Wars is an amazing strategic game. Even though it is old I like to play online. The Platinum Hits is cheaper than the normal and comes with way more add ons. It does not make sense, but I don't question it. It sometimes freezes when someone "resigns" from the game, but it does go faster after a minute. The campagn is not that great though. But overall amazing
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2011
Great storyline. The story is divided into two parts; the UNSC and the Covenate. You have to pay attention to evey detail in the cinimatics in order to understand what is completely going on with the characters. (For example: two space crusiers are fighting WITHIN a planet.)
Online play is amazing. You can choose the "leader" from six options, three from each side. Each leader has a special ability and offers bonuses while playing. Humans tend to have the better trained units while the aliens have more readily available troops and shield technology.
The amazing parts of this game are obvious and jump out at you while playing. You can see a squad of Spartan IIs in action in a cinimatic scene and you can rely on them to strengthen your forces while in-game.
I can't thing of any negatives about this game, minus the annoying flood. GREAT game!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
When Halo Wars came out I decided to pass on it since it was not a shooter. Couple years later when waiting for Halo 4 decided to give it a try. The Halo Wars Platinum version is discounted when compared to release price and includes all the follow on DLCs. Game is challenging, specially if not experienced in strategy (RTS) type gaming. It shares the buildings, vehicles, enemies, ODSTs, and Spartans with the Halo games; but since not a shooter, it stands by itself in the series.

I learned to enjoyed playing this game but struggled getting achievements and beating missions on legendary so ordered the Prima game guide and that changed things around. Once you learn how enemy AI "thinks" and develop a sense for game timeline, it becomes more rewarding and beatable, even on legendary. The COOP version is entertaining and having a buddy creates a more efficient team where one can be the logistics base/equipment builder, while the other engages the enemy.

Apparently MS will not develop a follow-up Halo Wars 2; so this is it if you want to try out the Halo universe in RTS game. Amazon processed order quickly and game arrived on time and in perfect condition to my home. A great deal at current price, it's strongly recommended.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.