Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story, and excellent for new reader of Hamlet
The book has an interesting layout, with definitions of words on the left, with the text of the story on the right. The book layout is the best layout I've seen of any Shakespeare book, and the size is right (you can take it with you!).

The story is legend - even speaking literally - apparently the story of Hamlet hearkens back to even older legends that...
Published on March 9, 2005 by David G. Douthitt

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Copy
This is for MY copy, which I purchased from Barnes and Nobles. I have no complaint against the play itself, it is just the publisher. My copy has two act fours and is missing scene one of act five. I don't know how this happened other than it being a misprint. I was reading straight through the play and I started thinking, "Haven't I read this part already?" Yes,...
Published 10 months ago by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story, and excellent for new reader of Hamlet, March 9, 2005
By 
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
The book has an interesting layout, with definitions of words on the left, with the text of the story on the right. The book layout is the best layout I've seen of any Shakespeare book, and the size is right (you can take it with you!).

The story is legend - even speaking literally - apparently the story of Hamlet hearkens back to even older legends that predate Shakespeare's Hamlet.

Shakespeare is so quotable, and Hamlet is no different - you often find yourself saying "Oh, that's where that comes from!" and its like finding an old friend in a new story. "To be or not to be, that is the question" is one; so is "Neither a borrower nor a lender be" and so is "To thine own self be true". The book even comes with an appendix listing commonly quoted portions of the story and their source.

However, my favorite quote (but not well-known) from the play comes from Hamlet himself, and sums the character up well:

"O, from this time forth,

My thoughts be bloody, or be nothing worth!"

Get this book, and have a good read! Then get more Shakespeare from the same series: you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamlet over Macbeth; Folgers over Free, July 29, 2007
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
Despite its antiquated setting, Hamlet speaks to the average individual in ways that Julius Caesar or Macbeth do not, although they are obviously very worthy in different ways. Further, if you are a teacher of students disenfranchised in some way, this can be a very liberating text--not because of the literal plot, but due to the rich discussions that it provokes around how *not* to end up like either a modern Ophelia or Hamlet. Frankly, I am mystified why Macbeth is the traditional choice in Senior-level textbooks, since Hamlet has proven to be so much more interesting to young adults in my six years of HS teaching.

Free or extremely inexpensive texts are available on-line; however, I have found the Folger edition particularly useful in helping my students (and me) appreciate the finer points. For example, it's fun to see the meanings behind the flowers that crazy Ophelia hands out, which Folger explains while others don't. Too, do *you* know what a petard is, even though you've likely been hoisted on your own? Folgers does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Student Edition, January 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Folger Libray edition is very useful for students who are unfamiliar with Elizabethan language, customs, and other oddities. The opposite page of the script acts as prompter, dictionary, and general explainer. My students found the edition easy to use and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Folger Edition Has the Original Words On The Right Page and The Translations On The Left---Very Helpful!!!, December 5, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, is one of the worlds greatest plays. There are many "quotes" from this play; one of my all-time favorites is written as Laertes gives advice to his son who is departing for France: Laertes continues his advice: "And this above all else, to thine own self be true. Then it must follow as the night the day, thou cans't not then be false to any man." But, for me, the idea that you can read this play with the original words by Shakespeare in Elizabethan English on the right page and the definitions and explanations of words and phrases conveniently on the left page is VERY needful and useful. This saves the reader much time in looking up words---or, as most people do, just skipping over passages that can't be understood due to words that are currently out of common usage. I think teachers who teach this stuff should be thrilled by this editon---finally most of their students can understand "Hamlet"! What a "boon" to teacher and student alike! See, I'm already starting to write like Shakespeare---well, not quite...yet! :o) If you have any comments: boland7214@aol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, January 15, 2006
By 
Jason "cajayson8301" (East Bay (SF Bay Area)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
If anybody out there is willing to give Shakespeare's Hamlet a try, please select not just any text but this one from the Folger Shakespeare Library! Not only do they give you in-depth information on Shakespeare's life, his language, his theater, and a summary of Hamlet but the text also integrates assistance for the average every day reader to understand the story's vocabulary. Anybody who needs help by understanding Hamlet need look no further than the left page, which displays any confusing words or phrases and translates them into modern day terms. This way, anybody of ANY AGE can read Shakespeare! The key to this text is to not let Shakespeare's style frustrate you and give his books a chance-and the Folger Shakespeare Library is here for a simple study on not just the text itself but the era in which Shakespeare produces such memorable works.

The Folger Shakespeare Library is an excellent resource one should utilize in researching Shakespeare for a school assignment or to simply enjoy one of his many excellent plays.

I wish I could rate this text as six stars since Hamlet is, by far, my favorite Shakespeare story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to read Shakespeare its has to be The new folger Library, April 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you ever thought about reading Shakespeare but was turned off or intimidated by the old english, not so with the new folger editions. Your basically reading the play on all the right sided pages , with the left pages reserved for all the definitions and explanations of the sayings and words that might be dificult to understand. This makes it very easy and enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Shakespeare, April 11, 2006
By 
Janet DuBois (Athens, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
It's a good edition in terms of footnotes that help to describe what is happening throught the course of the play. Hamlet is Shakespeare's longest play and in my opinion his best. The speaches are beautiful and everything comes together so nicely. Hamlet is such a great character brcause he is so colpletely loveable and yet ridiculously frustrating. I definitley reccomend this if you are starting out with Shakespeare because it is likely to leave you wanting to read more of his works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Shakespearen Play Ever!, August 27, 2007
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
Hamlet is a must read...end of review.
No, seriously who can't pass up...
"to be or not to be that is the question. Whether it is nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outragous fortune or to take on a sea of troubles and by opposing end them. To die to sleep..."
You'll have to read the play to find out the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Buy or Not To Buy Should Not Be The Question, December 23, 2003
By 
JL1984 (Athens, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
Hamlet is without a doubt Shakespeare's finest work. Aside from being a true romantic and a captivating poet, Shakespeare could also pass as being a psychological genius. Though there are numerous characters in this play, (as in most of shakespeares works) Hamlet is the main focus of the play and it is seen that his internal struggles often overshadow many of the other subplots throughout the story (though in no way does it leave the reader oblivious to the other happenings in the story). The story is about the prince of Denmark whose father was killed by Hamlet's malicious Uncle Claudius who has seized control of the throne after his brother's death. Afterwards, Hamlet undergoes a series of internal conflicts and questions the validity of his father's ghost and is ultimately thought to be insane by those around him who witness his unorthodox actions and bizarre coments. After he is ordered sent away and returns, killing Rozencrantz and Guildenstern aboard the England-bound ship, Hamlet is pushed further into his own realm of "insanity" and soon after helps catapult one of the greatest climatic endings of Shakespeare's works. The final scene of this play is appropriate as it puts an end to the spiral downfall of Hamlet and those around him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite of All of Shakespeare, June 21, 2007
This review is from: Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) (Mass Market Paperback)
This drama is my favorite of all of Shakespeare's plays. I love Shakespeare's humor, and I actually have found myself literally laughing out loud at the wry humor of the main character Hamlet. But, I'm not a person who usually enjoys books that fall into the "classics" genre. So that just shows how fantastic this drama is. Once you get used to the language, this is a quick read that is very enjoyable and I find myself going back to over an over. Shakespeare was a genius playwright!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare)
Hamlet ( Folger Library Shakespeare) by William Shakespeare (Mass Market Paperback - July 1, 1992)
$5.99 $4.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.