Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Hammer Horror Films For Under $10!!!
Anyone who gives this set of Hammer Horror movies a low-grade is either not a fan or is just being petty. Millenium Entertainment is offering up 3 formerly out-of-print classics that were selling for well over $20 each for a used copy - all 3 for under 10 bucks!! Two sure-fire classics (Dracula Prince Of Darkness & Frankenstein Created Woman) are paired with one weird...
Published 16 months ago by Joseph Brando

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 3-shot of Hammer Classics from Millenium, hopefully some blu-rays to follow
In early March 2013 Millenium Entertainment announced a distribution deal of Exclusive Media's library of Hammer Films - including special edition blu-rays as part of a multi-tiered marketing approach. While the UK have been getting Hammer blu-rays on a steady basis (albeit generally medicore to poor releases) here in America the pickings have been pretty slim. It's...
Published 15 months ago by A. Genard


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Hammer Horror Films For Under $10!!!, March 11, 2013
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
Anyone who gives this set of Hammer Horror movies a low-grade is either not a fan or is just being petty. Millenium Entertainment is offering up 3 formerly out-of-print classics that were selling for well over $20 each for a used copy - all 3 for under 10 bucks!! Two sure-fire classics (Dracula Prince Of Darkness & Frankenstein Created Woman) are paired with one weird latter day Hammer entry (Seven Golden Vampires - more of a Kung Fu Movie with a Vampire backplot). This is supposedly just the tip of the iceberg as Millenium plans to release many more Hammer titles in new remastered prints on DVD & Bluray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 3-shot of Hammer Classics from Millenium, hopefully some blu-rays to follow, April 3, 2013
By 
A. Genard (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
In early March 2013 Millenium Entertainment announced a distribution deal of Exclusive Media's library of Hammer Films - including special edition blu-rays as part of a multi-tiered marketing approach. While the UK have been getting Hammer blu-rays on a steady basis (albeit generally medicore to poor releases) here in America the pickings have been pretty slim. It's barely a month later and Millenium has already released a quickie barebones 3-film DVD set "at an affordable price to encourage the general public to join the Hammer fanbase" according to their press release. Sales figures of this DVD set are likely to be a gauge for future blu-rays. After considering the pre-order of a measly 8 bucks, the weight it may have on future releases, and the fact I still don't own Dracula: Prince of Darkness then this DVD set was a no-brainer. For the sake of this review I'll be referring to the LONG out print Anchor Bay DVDs, which haven't been distributed in over a decade and now command some pretty outrageous prices.

Unfortunately, being an apparent rushjob, this first release from Millenium has some drawbacks. The first thing that strikes me is the case insert - it's so plain and unattractive, clearly a 15 minute Photoshop job. Granted, this bears nothing on disc content but it helps illustrate the expedited manner this set was created. The arrangement is a bit awkward in that Dracula: POD has it's own single-sided disc and the other 2 films are on a double-sided "flipper" disc. There are no extras, not even trailers, so that is something the Anchor Bay DVDs have over this. All 3 films do feature English SDH subtitles though.

DRACULA: PRINCE OF DARKNESS - The transfer on this film is quite solid with natural skin tones, a stable image, and minimal imperfections. The audio is very consistent and adequate. I do not own the Anchor Bay version to compare. As far as the film itself goes, I think this one is a little overrated. It's still a good movie but there are other Hammer Dracula installments that I simply enjoy more (namely the 2 that followed it: Dracula Has Risen From the Grave and Taste the Blood of Dracula).

LEGEND OF THE 7 GOLDEN VAMPIRES - By far, the worst of the 3 transfers in the set. Immediately upon viewing it is obvious the film speed is off, which results in unnaturally fast motion. The runtime here is only 85 min. instead of the 89 min. length on the Anchor Bay DVD. The increased film speed acccounts for the difference and it doesn't appear as if anything is cut. However this one is in Anamorphic Widescreen and the AB release is letterboxed, which isn't' very friendly with most widescreen TVs. Surprisingly this soundtrack is much clearer and more robust than AB's which is muffled lo-fi by comparison. Also, Millenium's color palette seems more natural than the Anchor Bay transfer. Unfortunately none of these improvements overcome the terribly distracting off-kilter film speed that renders the movie almost unwatchable. Anchor Bay wins hands down on this one, and their DVD includes the American cut of the film as well (The Seven Brothers Meet Dracula). I hope they straighten out the speed issue for any further release of this interesting east-meets-west flick.

FRANKENSTEIN CREATED WOMAN - Another clean solid transfer with more natural color and even a little sharper than it's AB counterpart, although the print is a little darker overall. Audio once again is pretty tight with little to no hiss, pops, or crackles. This movie is one of the best in the Frankenstein series and definitely one of the more inventive ones. It's nice to see it in great condition here. Between the good technical aspects and artistic quality FCW is the most enjoyable in this set to watch.

All in all, this isn't a bad set. But having zero extras, minimal effort, and 7 Golden Vampires being a wash (which really needed an improved release) is enough to take off 2 stars. If you already have the Anchor Bay DVDs, then this set won't do much for you. But if you're looking for any of these films the pricetag alone makes it worthwhile. Hopefully Millenium will get around to releasing blu-rays sooner rather than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for the Price, April 3, 2013
By 
Gary A. Smith (Palm Springs, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
Here is the lowdown on the three movie Hammer set. I watched Dracula Prince of Darkness and it is the best I have ever seen the movie look. Gorgeous color and sharp picture. I am very impressed by this transfer. I spot checked the other two films and Legend of the 7 Golden Vampires appears to be taken from the same source that the Warner UK DVD is taken from, which is quite good. Frankenstein Created Woman opens with the Fox logo and has a Color by DeLuxe credit. The UK DVD of this title has far more vibrant color than this one does but at least this is anamorphic and somewhat sharper looking than the old Anchor Bay disc. Rating the quality of the transfers I would give Dracula Prince of Darkness five stars, Legend of the Seven Golden Vampires four stars, and Frankenstein Created Woman three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE OF TIME COMPRESSION, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
Considering the low price of this Milenium release, you may not mind that "The 7 Golden Vampires" is time compressed. I couldn't watch it. Both "Dracula, Prince of Darkness" and "Frankenstein Created Woman" have crisper images than their previous releases but the color is pale on the latter title. But if Dracula is the one you want, this is the best copy to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT's about time, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
I have been missing these from my hammer collection and was not going to pay the import price so this was a great find and good quality tranfers no complants here so happy to have found this !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anamorphic Widescreen on Dracula, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
Even if you have the Anchor Bay DVDs, you need this set if you are a Hammer fan. Reason is simple -- the Anchor Bay set for Dracula, Prince of Darkness was letterboxed, which means that it is basically full screen with black bars hard coded on the top and bottom, which means on a modern HD widescreen TV there are black bars on all four sides. The new release here is true anamorphic widescreen which means that the DVD expands to fill as much of the widescreen TV as possible (still bars on top and bottom as the aspect ratio is wider than the TV, but at least it fills to the left and right edges). For $7 it's worth the double dip even if you have the older DVDs just because of that. Until the US gets blu ray releases this is as good as we get and the price is very reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start!, May 12, 2013
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
I bought this set for Dracula Prince of Darkness and it looks great! True there could have been more in the way of extra material, but if you look at this as being more of a "sampler" for the future films to come From Hammer/Millenium i think you will like this set! And, Legend Of The 7 Golden Vampires looks fine to me and doesn't look speeded up at all? Maybe they have repressed the disc and corrected the problem? Bottom line if you don't mind the lack of extras and want a nice looking version of Dracula Prince Of Darkness, this set is well worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price and Great Classic Horror Films Minor Spoilers, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
I strongly recommend this set because of the price and getting three movies. Two of the three are awesome and classics. The weak link of the set being The Legend of the Seven Golden Vampires. I didn't like that one. I got this set for Dracula Prince of Darkness alone because I heard it was very awesome follow up to Horror of Dracula. It was great but the sleeper hit of the set was Frankenstein Created Woman. I didn't expect to like that one as much as Dracula Prince of Darkness. Peter Cushing gave a solid performance in Frankenstein but the supporting actors were great in that movie. Susan Denberg played a poor girl who was crippled and had the left side of her face heavily burned. Robert Morris plays her lover and assistant to Doctor. Frankenstein. Morris did a great job. Denberg and Morris had a great chemistry and they are two characters we care about. I found this Frankenstein to better than The Curse of Frankenstein which had Christopher Lee in it. Peter Blythe was great in Frankenstein Created Woman he was very evil and definitely played the part to a tee. Thorley Walters did a great as a doctor assisting Doctor Frankenstein who is a little brainwashed by Frankenstein but he has a good heart. I was not disappointed with the ending of the movie but the beginning was my favorite part.
Dracula Prince of Darkness was great as expected. It was a little slow and takes time before Christopher Lee appears. I thought this movie would suffer from the absence of Peter Cushing. Andrew Keir stepped in and filled the shoes nicely as Father Sandor. Barbara Shelley was great. I liked Suzan Farmer's performance as well. For me Farmer and Keir were tied for best performance second to Lee. The movie was very suspenseful. It had an awesome ending. In the second act it gets very exciting and I was anxious to see how the movie would end and was unsure of how it would end. I didn't find the movie predictable. It's great for a horror movie fan and those getting introduced to Lee's series of Dracula movies. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Forever, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
They just don't make em this good anymore. I had so long wanted this version of Dracula but it was always too expensive. Finally, a reasonably priced version with the bonus of two other wonderful Hammer Classics make this set a must for those who love REAL horror and not the overly gory, nonsensical, sex, nudity, and Gore and more Gore to no purpose drivel that over saturates the market today. Kudos for a good transfer to Dvd as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Lee Dracula films is back at a LOW price, April 20, 2013
By 
Mike (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) (DVD)
Under a "Hammer" imprint, this DVD delivers one CLASSIC Christopher Lee Dracula film, along with one noble (but failed) experiment ("Frankenstein Created Woman"), and an oddity that was released after Hammer's peak ("Legend Of The 7 Golden Vampires," with John Forbes-Robertson (voice dubbed) in a role that had come to be associated with Lee). The real reason to purchase this one is "Dracula Prince Of Darkness." "Dracula" is on a single disc while the other films occupy a second two-sided disc.

The second in Hammer's Lee Dracula series, "Prince" opens with the closing shots of Dracula's destruction in the first film. We then meet a traveling party that, unknowingly, is on the worst trip of their lives. All of the Hammer classic elements are here, including their answer to Universal's "angry villagers" (the angry pub dwellers who go from friendly to agitated when learning that their visitors want to cross Dracula's stomping grounds).

You have a priest intent on destroying Dracula, and a unique element in this film...Dracula's servant, Klove (Philip Latham), whose sole purpose is to wait like a spider in the web for the unknowing victims that will allow him to bring his master back to life. Klove's wait is over. It is a particularly sardonic moment when Klove, ladling up bowls of soup for the travelers, tells them that his dead master told him to always keep the castle prepared and ready for "guests."

Much of the action takes place in, and around, Dracula's castle. It is basically the flypaper that traps and holds the travelers. Lee is especially brutal in this film, with many closeups of his blood-red eyes. I'm not going to offer spoilers here, but the erotic heat registers exceptionally high on this one, too. Look for the scene where he runs his fingernail down his exposed chest and you'll see what I mean.

The next film, "Dracula Has Risen from the Grave," was the one where everything came together to perfection: atmosphere, acting, story line, better production values and the truly amazing and mesmerizing Veronica Carlson, perhaps the DEFINITIVE "Hammer Girl." But it was "Horror of Dracula" and this film that got them to that point. It's a strange, menacing little movie (especially in the scene where Klove "reanimates" what's left of Dracula, which is basically a ring and dust).

At least once a year I do a "Hammer Festival" in which I dust off all of these classics and watch them in order. "Prince" is always a highlight. It is one of the single greatest and most effective horror movies ever made. For some reason it shows up on DVD, disappears, and then returns. Don't wait for the next "downtime." This is an AMAZING price, and the print is pristine. It is an essential film for any serious (or even casual) horror fan. The other two films are a bonus...amusing, yes, but not on par with the Dracula film.

Hopefully the "Hammer" imprint on this DVD is a sign of more multi-film, high-quality, budget releases to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set)
Hammer Horror Collection (3 Film Set) by Roy Ward Baker (DVD - 2013)
$14.99 $13.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.