Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice mastering on Hammer TV anthology
One of the last gasps from Hammer before the studio closed its doors in the 80's (only to reopen under new management within the last decade), this single season TV series ran back in 1980 and, with a Night Gallery - The Complete First Season vibe, allowed Hammer to close out their history with a solid project. This reissue from Synapse films is nice featuring the UK...
Published on January 11, 2013 by Wayne Klein

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hey I'm A Hammer Fan
Even for a Hammer fan i'm obviously going to own this! However, I was disappointed in the series. They could've done much better.
Published 9 months ago by Johnny Jacked


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice mastering on Hammer TV anthology, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
One of the last gasps from Hammer before the studio closed its doors in the 80's (only to reopen under new management within the last decade), this single season TV series ran back in 1980 and, with a Night Gallery - The Complete First Season vibe, allowed Hammer to close out their history with a solid project. This reissue from Synapse films is nice featuring the UK versions of the shows without any PAL issues (meaning it doesn't sound like anyone is sucking helium when they speak).

There is some minor distortion on the audio for "Visitor from the Grave" during a brief sequence but, aside from that, the audio is clear and presented in its original mono.

Featuring a variety of guest stars including Brian Cox ("Manhunter", "The Bourne Supermacy"), Peter Cushing ("Curse of Frankenstein", "Star Wars"), Denholm Elliot ("Raiders of the Lost Ark"), Jon Finch ("Frenzy"), Katherine Leight Scott ("Dark Shadows"), Si‚n Phillips ("I, Claudius") and a small role featuring Pierce Brosnan (James Bond of course and "Remington Steele")among others, the series featured some top notch horror directors that had worked for Hammer before (Peter Sasdy,Don Sharp, Tom Clegg).

Among the outstanding episodes are "The House That Bled Blood", "Visitor from the Grave", "The Two Faces of Evil", "The Silent Scream" (a surprisingly powerful episode but you should stick with it to the end) and "The Mark of Satan". There are, of course, a couple of cringe worthy episodes as well but, on the whole, the series is remarkably good and consistent. If nothing else, the series is worthwhile for the strong performances from the cast.

There are a handful of duds but, on the whole, the writing and direction is pretty good.
This reissue features remastered episodes, a crisp picture that doesn't suffer from any PAL issues. The mono audio sounds pretty good with nice presence.

We get a couple of very good extras. Each episode features an introduction by Video Watchdog writer, filmmaker and horror host Shane M. Dallmann (that are pretty succint) as well as interviews with Katherine Leight Scott and Mia Nadasi discussing their work on the show.

The filmography and text essay from the 2001 release are not included here.

I would have liked to see a commentary track or two from the surviving members of the cast and/or crew but, given that we get fresh, nice looking transfers, I'm willing to overlook this minor issue.

I do wish that the series had subtitles or at least a close captioned option.

Each disc includes three episodes and we get a total of five discs (except for the last disc which also features the supplements). Although I don't care for the overlapping DVD holders, these are a minor annoyance (and most fans could transfer them to another holder).

Although this set is missing some essentials (subtitles, a commentary track or two), "Hammer House of Horror" includes all the unedited episodes as they were originally broadcast in the UK and no PAL speed issues with a series of nice transfers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some are ho-hum, some will scare the pants off you!, May 22, 2013
By 
K. Houlton "Kellticdogs" (Fairbanks, AK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
I love the old Hammer films and so ordered this set sight unseen. I was not disappointed! There are some episodes that are ho-hum, but there are others that pretty much freaked me out - and I'm a real fan of horror! (Check out "The Two Faces of Evil" - OMG!! CAH-REEEEEEPY!) Each episode is like an hour-long mini-movie; the characters are well-developed and the plot moves along at a good rate - not rushed, but they do build up the suspense quite nicely. Loved seeing some familiar faces, too: Peter Cushing, Denholm Elliot, Pierce Brosnan, and others. I have watched each episode three times now and am still not tired of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes! have been waiting for this for a long time, July 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
A couple years ago, if I'm not mistaken A&E released Hammer House of Horror on DVD. For the longest time it has been out of print, and the cheapest price used is $32, and new $70. I will not pay that much. But thankfully Synapse company, who has recently been releasing Hammer on Blu-Ray, just a few though, has decided to re-release this set. I know I will be buying this wonderful 80's Hammer tv show. Hopefully so will a lot of people so it stays in print. Pre-order now, and be filled with awesome Hammer Horror.

Edit: Also the picture for this set and sound quality is great. The reason I give the set 4 stars and not 5 is because, unfortunately there aren't any commentaries or behind the scenes looks at what Hammer House of Horror was like. Before every episode there are little intros talking about each episodes cast and a little trivia that any DIE HARD HAMMER FAN would love, but this is about as far as the special features go. Episodes are wonderful especially "Children of the Full Moon" which is a nice werewolf adaption considering that Hammer only made one werewolf movie in "Curse of the Werewolf" which is also one of my favorite Hammer movies. Overall wonderful set and very enjoyable for any Hammer Fan or and regular horror fan.

NOTE: If you were lucky enough to acquire an A&E DVD copy of Hammer House of Horror, the only reason for you to acquire this set as well would be the updated picture quality and sound quality and if your into a little bit of back story before every episode, the pre episode intros. Other than that if your A&E version still works, than you should be in good shape. Hope this answered everyone's questions. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compliment to the American series (Night Gallery & Twilight Zone), July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
If you're a fan of this type of shtick and slightly nostalgic for the 60's and 70's vibe to the horror series, then you will enjoy these stories. If you are expecting something more modern with tight filming, special effects, story lines, etc. then I wouldn't recommend this. This is more in line with the ghoulish stories from the Hammer films and the Night Gallery series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammer House of Horror - Complete Series, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
Saw these back some time ago. ALL pretty darned good. I remembered them the minute each one came on. I cannot remember Where I saw these, but they all were that memorable in my mind after all these years. GOOD purchase. No hiccups, good sound/color. Recommended.
Cecy Ivie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Hammer time!, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
What a great release. Has been on my wish list for several years - though wish this was in blu-ray but the picture and overall quality of this dvd set is spectacular. Great creepy stories with that Hammer horror atmosphere mixed with some sex, blood and gore you can't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engaging horror anthology series, October 23, 2013
Hammer House of Horror
I never watched any of the Hammer House of Horror anthology series until about a year ago, and was pleasantly surprised by the excellent story lines and above average acting. The series, produced by Hammer Films in 1980 consists of 13 episodes running around 51 minutes each. There is variety in the episodes, all of which are stand alone episodes, and some are supernatural in theme while others are not. What the episodes share in common though is that each episode has a high level of suspense, some plot twists, and a couple of scares thrown in for good measure.

Witching Time
A 17th century witch appears in 20th century England, specifically at the rural retreat of a TV composer (played by Jon Finch) and proceeds to terrorize him. Initially, his wife (who has been living in the city and has been unfaithful) does not believe him thinking he is hallucinating and mentally disturbed but she is convinced soon enough. The witch is played by Patricia Quinn, who gets very annoying with her less than convincing witches' cackling, and it is the wife who is convincingly portrayed - going all out to discover what/who the witch is and how to put an end to her specter.

The Thirteenth Reunion
A Fleet street journalist goes undercover to investigate the sinister goings-on at a slimming clinic that employs unconventional methods to trim down the customers.

Rude Awakening
In this episode, Rude Awakening, Denholm Elliott plays estate agent Norman Shenley who is trapped in a dull marriage to his plain Jane wife and fantasizes about a new life with his secretary Lolly. One day, a mysterious man turns up at the office asking if Norman would check out an old manor home in the country which he plans to put up for sale on behalf of the owners. Here is where things begin to go very wrong - Norman shows up at the empty house and witnesses something terrifying, but then finds himself coming out of a nightmare. He keeps experiencing this dream/nightmare episodes until the lines between reality and fantasy become very blurred. Is Norman losing his mind or is he the victim of some malicious plan?

I don't particularly like this episode as it's not the type of horror story that I appreciate but I did enjoy Elliott's credible portrayal of a man slowly descending into an abyss of horror.

Growing Pains
An antique book serves as a conduit for the resurrection of a malevolent spirit.

The House that Bled to Death
In The House that Bled to Death, a young family moves into a dilapidated house because it is the only one they can afford. The house has a dark secret which the new occupants are unaware of, i.e. an old man had butchered his wife in it and buried her remains in the garden. Soon enough, strange occurrences plague the family, including their young daughter who is terrified of living in the house. The neighbors across the street are a well-meaning couple and the wife in particular struggles with whether she should tell the family what happened there years earlier.

Suspense abounds in this tale though I admit some of the effects are rather cheesy by today's standards. However, there is a strong sense of looming menace and the acting is top-notch.

Charlie Boy
A man inherits his late uncle's artwork and his girlfriend expresses a particular interest in an African fetish doll with bits stuck in it. A series of bizarre deaths leads the man to suspect it is linked to the African fetish doll and discovers to his horror that he and his girlfriend may be the next targets. Can he undo what has been unleashed or pay the price for ill intentions?

This is one of the more suspenseful stories in this anthology. The suspense keeps building up and even though I sort of predicted the ending, it still gave me the chills.

The Silent Scream
I had been looking forward to viewing The Silent Scream because one of my all-time favorite horror actors, Peter Cushing plays a major role in it. I was not disappointed. In this episode, Brian Cox plays a prisoner who is visited by Peter Cushing's character while serving time in prison. Cushing's character gives Cox's character some money and wishes him well. When Cox's character is released from prison, he reunites with his young wife and then visits the pet shop which Cushing's character owns to express his gratitude. Whilst at the store, he discovers that Cushing is no mere pet store owner, but a man who is deep into psychological experimentation involving wild animals. Unbeknownst to Cox's character, he is the next intended target for experimentation.

This is one the best episodes in this anthology - a true exploration of the darker recesses of the human heart and mind, and man's capacity for cruelty. This is psychological horror at its best.

Children of the Full Moon
In Children of the Full Moon (one of my favorites in this series), a young successful couple find themselves stranded in a remote country area when their car goes off the road. The couple finds a large manor house deep in the woods, and upon knocking, receive an overly warm welcome by the caretaker of the house, a benign-looking older woman. The husband is unable to call for help and the wife finds that the house has other occupants namely a 'pack' of children of varying ages and looks, all beautiful. There is definitely something odd though - the children stay up way past their bedtime and their mannerisms are decidedly odd. The couple stay the night but something sinister awaits them.

I was glad to see the story take a twist in a direction that though not completely unexpected, kept me engaged and in suspense till the end. The stellar acting by the ensemble cast especially the role of the caretaker (played by Diana Dors) was enough to inspire chills by her very words.

The Carpathian Eagle
In The Carpathian Eagle, a police inspector (played by Anthony Valentine) is determined to solve a string of serial killings. Men have been murdered in the most gruesome manner and the similar pattern convinces the inspector that a serial killer is at large. Investigations reveal the murderer could be a woman, and the inspector zeroes in on one suspect, a female researcher working on some material for a book (played by Suzanne Danielle). Let's just say the story has plenty of suspense and the plot twists will keep viewers at the edge of their seats. Pierce Brosnan plays a very small role here too.

Guardian of the Abyss
In Guardian of the Abyss, occultists are planning on resurrecting a gatekeeper demon and need the perfect sacrifice. Unfortunately, one victim goes crazy and another escapes. The young woman who escapes runs into the path of an oncoming car driven by a man who is also an antiques dealer. As fate would have it, the antiques dealer has taken temporary possession of an ancient scrying glass believed to have been made by a famous ancient occultist. The present-day occultists are after both the woman and the scrying glass and the entire story centers around this. Though it felt dragged out in parts, I enjoyed it for the most part because there are a couple of twists in the plot which kept things interesting.

Visitor from the Grave
I was underwhelmed by the plot in "Visitor from the Grave". A young, emotionally unstable American heiress (played by Katherine Leigh Scott) shoots a man in self-defense when the man attempts to rape her. She is found the next morning, delirious and hysterical by her boyfriend (played by Simon Macorkindale) and he aids her by covering up the death and burying the dead man's body in the woods.

Soon enough, the heiress begins to have disturbing visions of the dead man and is convinced that she is haunted by the man's ghost. The trouble with this plot is that it's not original and I was able to figure out what was going on almost from the very beginning. The heiress came across as whiny and just got on my nerves, so it was difficult to actually sympathize with her plight. By the time the climax came, I was ready to move on to the next episode. This is one of the more underwhelming stories in the series, at least in my opinion.

The Two Faces of Evil
The Two Faces of Evil is quite scary and contains some surreal elements. A family of three (dad, mom, and young son) are on their way to a holiday cottage when they pick up a hitchhiker and soon after a struggle breaks out between the hitchhiker and the dad. The wife awakens in hospital to find her son is fine but her husband has suffered some injuries, particularly around the throat area and is unable to speak for a while. The wife is the only one who is able to voice that she saw the hitchhiker attack her husband but recoils when asked to identify the body of the hitchhiker who was purportedly killed in the altercation.

Soon after, the wife and son go off to the cottage while the husband recuperates in the hospital. The wife is suffering from PTSD and keeps experiencing flashbacks of the incident. When the husband arrives at the cottage, the wife makes a startling discovery - is she losing her mind, or has a doppelganger taken over her husband's body? There are quite a few scary twists in this terrifying tale. I think I might have to view it again just to make sure I didn't miss anything the first time around. Like several other well-made stories in this anthology, repeat viewings reveal more that eluded the eyes the first time.

The Mark of Satan
A man begins to see the number "9" all over, and suspects that sinister forces have been unleashed.

Conclusion - I'd recommend this series to all fans of classic horror, especially those who are nostalgic for Hammer productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series Review, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
This British TV series were made in 1980; each episode is independent from the others and deals with crime and horror stories. Acting and dialog are very good. The 1.33:1 picture is sharp and quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
I haven't watched them all yet, savoring each episode, but so far I love it. I did not know about this show until I became obsessed with Hammer films several years ago. I had found a single dvd used at Rasputin's in Concord CA, but it only contained 2 or 3 episodes. I was extremely stoked to find the complete set for such a low price. The show is really cool as it comes complete with gore, nudity, and that unmistakable Hammer style. If you like anthology horror, you can't go wrong. Belongs right next your Tales From The Crypt and Twilight Zone sets.

**update**

Still enjoying this set and wanted to comment to others about this show not being scary enough. I seriously don't understand why people except older shows to have the same impact as modern day productions. If you watch the original King Kong it doesn't seem scary to our contemporary eyes, but that doesn't make it bad! It's from another era and without the old shows we wouldn't have progressed to where we are now. It's like saying old Rock N Roll isn't that good because of the one track recording process! How was Elvis considered shocking?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still scary after all these years!!, July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series (DVD)
I remember watching these with my dad when I was a teenager when they came on television. Some of them scared me terribly!
I have been looking all over for a set like this. Every few weeks, we get together and watch an episode or two. I have even gotten my husband hooked on them! The picture quality and clarity is amazing for the price. Definite must see for British horror buffs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series
Hammer House Of Horror - The Complete Series by Peter Cushing (DVD - 2012)
$39.95 $22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.