Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Andra Day $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services gotS5 gotS5 gotS5  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Learn more
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Played once! Hinge on case is broken.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Hammers and Anvils
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Hammers and Anvils

2 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, August 28, 2001
"Please retry"
$0.57 $0.01

Editorial Reviews

The dawn of the 21st century is the era of New Zealand comebacks; The Clean, Go-Betweens, and Robert Scott have all resurfaced. Now Graeme Downes, the founder of New Zealand's almost famous Verlaines (and guru of the rock degree at Otago University), is adding new twists to his own still-thriving legacy. You may think Downes, who plays all the instruments on his solo debut, has a multiple personality disorder given his alternating loyalties to piano-bar tunes, woodsy guitar jangle, orchestral passages, and urban guitar squeal--but it's his loose yet articulate craftsmanship, and his mastery of the relation between phrasing, hook, and lyric, that holds Hammers and Anvils together. For maximum impact, you'll return repeatedly to the opening and title track, a jarring, sparse guitar lament referencing the singer's own "dismemberment" and drunkenness, as he's "crawling in vomit and slime." Soon after, you'll appreciate the more subtle and sublime charms throughout. Hammers and Anvils is all over the map, but it will get you there. --Cyndi Elliott

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song Title Time Price
  1. Mastercontrol 3:27$0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. Hammers and Anvils 2:28$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Cole Porter 2:40$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Alright By Me 2:59$0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. January Song 2:51$0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. Cattle, Cars and Chainsaws 4:00$0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. Day of the Dead 3:14$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Shoreleave 3:22$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Song For A Hollywood Road Movie 4:02$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Gucci 2:59$0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Getting Out Of It 3:21$0.99  Buy MP3 
12. Sunday Kickaround 5:05$0.99  Buy MP3 
13. Rock'n'Roll Hero 2:55$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 28, 2001)
  • Original Release Date: 2001
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Matador Records
  • ASIN: B00005N8U3
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #773,153 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By WrtnWrd on November 17, 2001
Format: Audio CD
Hammers and Anvils, the first solo release by ex-Verlaines leader Graeme Downes, is reminiscent of his band's best and another artist, Lou Reed, both alone and with The Velvet Underground. A monastic intensity clings to these 13 tracks. Hammers and Anvils opens with the title track: a complaint against love and the industry accompanied by stark solo guitars. It ends 40 minutes later on a vamp, "Mastercontrol", about hedonism's last stand. In between, Downes revs ("Alright by Me", "Cattle, Cars and Chainsaws") and ruminates (the gorgeous "Song for a Hollywood Road Movie") with equal compassion. His attentive, impressionistic lyrics avoid cliché. He delivers salient observations about disparate subjects - Cole Porter, Gucci, aimless Sunday afternoons, AIDS - which never feel fractious or incongruous. Casting his net wide, on Hammers and Anvils Graeme Downes captures a bounty.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Bridget on October 19, 2001
Format: Audio CD
Well, I ordered this CD fully hoping to love it... I read about it, and thought that the bits of lyrics I read sounded quite lovely. Well, I will still give him that - some of his lyrics are pretty profound and interesting, but the's just not very listener-friendly. Everything sounds jangled and unplanned, unpredictable (and not in a good way), uncoordinated. It sounds sloppy and lacks a solid sense of rhythm. None of the songs really even have attempts at hooks. His voice is lacking in quality, which would be ok if he made up for it with emotion, but he does not. I'm just struggling to find a "feel" for this album, because it just sounds more like musical noise aspiring to be something beautiful, and...well, failing. Sorry...would have loved to be more positive!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in