Customer Reviews


594 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (94)
2 star:
 (118)
1 star:
 (175)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 119 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twist on Pipes
This is a lot like the classic "Pipes" game where you try to build a pipe network connecting the water supply with the drain...

...With a twist. In Hamster Habitat there is no time limit as there is in pipes. You have all the time you need to unravel the puzzle. Instead you are connecting little hamster houses while trying to run your hamster tubes over...
Published on January 17, 2012 by keyfox11

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Will make your Kindle SLOOOOW...
I'm glad this game was free and I tried it out, BUT, deleted it due to the difficulty in getting the tubes to move around and placed and, not only this, but it made my Kindle operate very slow. Took up a lot of memory obviously. I deleted it and now my Kindle operates much better. This game was free, but even with that said, it wasn't worth the disruption of my other...
Published on February 4, 2012 by momma in WY


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 119 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twist on Pipes, January 17, 2012
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
This is a lot like the classic "Pipes" game where you try to build a pipe network connecting the water supply with the drain...

...With a twist. In Hamster Habitat there is no time limit as there is in pipes. You have all the time you need to unravel the puzzle. Instead you are connecting little hamster houses while trying to run your hamster tubes over treats for the hamsters. The more treats you can get the better your score will be.

While you are playing you must keep track of how many habitat pieces you have left. At the begining of a level you might have say, 3 horizontal pieces, 3 vertical pieces and several corner pieces from which you must build your habitat. keeping track of these can sometimes be a headache.

There are plenty of levels to keep you busy and more than a few that will stump all puzzlers. Levels are layed out in a menu like Grid Detective with Easy, Medium and Hard catagories.

I rated this 4 stars because it seemed geared toward younger children (at least the easier levels or unless you LOVE hamsters... :) But then again, who can go wrong for free???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well designed, fun game for the Kindle, January 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
Having raised hamsters as a kid, I couldn't resist trying "Hamster Habitat." It's very similar to the iOS game of Aqueduct, except instead of water flowing through pipes, it's hamsters running around between their cages and collecting snacks. I played Hamster Habitat on my Kindle 3 (now called the Kindle Keyboard) - I can't vouch for how well it will run on the newer touchscreen Kindles, although Amazon shows that it will run okay.

The concept of Hamster Habitat is pretty simple: Using a limited supply of straight and curved tubing, connect the hamster cages to create a habitat. To keep your hamsters well fed and happy, make sure you collect the hamster treats scattered around the playing area.

The game includes a very good tutorial, and when you're ready to play, there are nine sample habitat puzzles to practice with before moving on to the main game, which includes three difficulty levels, each with nineteen screens to solve. The puzzles will give just about anyone a nice challenge, even at the easy level.

Game play itself is simple after you've practiced on a few introductory sample screens. There are some nice touches like an Undo key, and if you really get frustrated, you can restart the screen. And--bless the developers--you can view the solution to each puzzle.

Overall, Hamster Habitat is a fine example of what can be done with an e-ink Kindle as a game platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Will make your Kindle SLOOOOW..., February 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
I'm glad this game was free and I tried it out, BUT, deleted it due to the difficulty in getting the tubes to move around and placed and, not only this, but it made my Kindle operate very slow. Took up a lot of memory obviously. I deleted it and now my Kindle operates much better. This game was free, but even with that said, it wasn't worth the disruption of my other items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gymnastics for your brain!, January 26, 2012
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
If u love a challenge this great. Just finished the last puzzle and I feel like my brain just got the best workout ever. Some of the puzzles r really difficult but hang n there...all ur reasoning skills will b put to the test but I promise there is a solution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, January 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
Maybe this could be fun IF it wasn't so hard to place the tubes. I swipe and flick over and over before the pipe ever goes where I want. If you could just choose which pipe you wanted to use, the game would be good. Glad it was free but I doubt I will play it much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kind of disappointing..., March 28, 2012
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
In Hamster Habitat, it is difficult to place the tubes. I think the technology is Messed Up, and any impatient person should not try this game . Frankly, I think it is a waist of time and it just takes up space on my kindle homefront. Hamster Habitat does sound fun, yet it is so frustrating it disturbs you. Many other people agree with me; Hamster Habitat is a Waist Of Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for people who enjoy puzzles, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
This game has 57 puzzles with increasing levels of difficulty. There are 19 easy, 19 medium, and 19 hard puzzles. The object of the game is to work around obstacles and create a home for the hamsters that contains treats. This is done by connecting straight and curved tubes. The game has a detailed tutorial with nine sample games that teach people how to play. The games show solutions, there is no time limit, it is easy to change one's mind by pressing a key, and one can leave the puzzles at any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves it, August 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
My daughter downloaded this for her kindle and loves this game. We love the ease of using it. Wish there were more games like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun game, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
this is a fun little game for the Kindle. It is enjoyable to play while waiting for an appointment or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wrong tube, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hamster Habitat (Kindle Edition)
Well,'the game could be fun.But it just did not fit my KT.Every time i choose one tube and it turns out a wrong one.I have given up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hamster Habitat
Hamster Habitat by Amazon Digital Services
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.