Customer Reviews


443 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (134)
3 star:
 (84)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Only One of its Kind
Hancock (Will Smith) is not your garden variety superhero. He's more like your garden variety bum. He spends most of his day sleeping on benches and drinking booze. When duty calls, he awakens from his drunken coma, bottle in hand to stop the wrong-doers. If there's a lesson to be learned here, it's not to fight crime drunk because it costs millions in property damage...
Published on November 17, 2008 by Eric M. Milillo

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars [3.5] Hancock is very uneven entertainment, but still enjoyable.
This film seems to suffer from the "let's make fun of a genre and then actually strive to be that genre" duplicity which gives the movie a rather odd feel to it. It's still fun, but a rather weird trip.

The film starts off brilliantly with bad boy superhero, played to perfection by Will Smith, who is in need of a serious attitude adjustment. He is befriended...
Published on July 9, 2008 by Steven Hedge


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Only One of its Kind, November 17, 2008
Hancock (Will Smith) is not your garden variety superhero. He's more like your garden variety bum. He spends most of his day sleeping on benches and drinking booze. When duty calls, he awakens from his drunken coma, bottle in hand to stop the wrong-doers. If there's a lesson to be learned here, it's not to fight crime drunk because it costs millions in property damage and public outrage. Luckily for Hancock, somebody wants to help the poor guy. Cue Ray (Jason Batemen) a publicist who vows to change the superhero's image in exchange for Hancock's saving his life.

The first half of "Hancock" is chock full of crude humor and the superhero doing his worst at being the best. It's thoroughly entertaining and will provide plenty of laughs. The second half of "Hancock" is about the superhero in the spotlight, but this time he is depicted as a "true" superhero and the public begins to recognize him as a positive figure. The second half is what makes or breaks the movie for viewers. Why? Because of the unexpected twist in the plot.

While I won't reveal the plot twist, I will say that it will leave people feeling divided. Some will probably think it is incredibly clever and others will believe it's sheer silliness. In my opinion, it's both clever and silly at the same time. Either way you look at it, "Hancock" is an original movie...the only one of its kind. The only superhero movie that does not have to be strict to a source, i.e. a comic book, to appease fans. It is also extremely entertaining. Everything from the CGI to the performances make this movie interesting and above all, unique. "Hancock" is definitely a movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Not Easy Being a Superhero, July 2, 2008
By 
Peter Berg's "Hancock" puts a refreshing new spin on the superhero genre by keeping a majority of the conflict within. The title character fights his share of bad guys, but it's his own struggle for identity that takes center stage, a struggle that would be relatable were it not for his super-strength powers. As a man who can't remember his real name or even where he came from, Hancock may actually be worse off than Bruce Wayne; despite emotional scarring from a painful past, at least he's always known who he is. Hancock has been given powers without knowing why, and because of that, he has no idea how to use them. He's the superhero no one wants to be saved by, a lonely, miserable, self-destructive man who can't get along with anyone. As the film progresses, we wait for that climactic moment when this character is finally given the chance to redeem himself.

As interesting as this character is, "Hancock" is not everything it could have been. This is mostly due to a gigantic plot twist that I wouldn't dream of describing, not even in vague terms. All I can say is that it's outlandish, implausible, and underdeveloped, not what one would expect from a small scale, character driven superhero film. Strangely enough, it feels the most like a comic book when the secret is revealed, which would have been fine if the entire film had gone in the same direction. But it didn't; "Hancock" starts off subtly by satirizing the very concept of superheroes, from the way the act to how they look to why they're compelled to save the day in the first place. The film opens with a high-speed chase on a Los Angeles highway, one that involves heavy gunfire. Hancock (Will Smith) doesn't know what's going on because he's passed out on a sidewalk bench, drunk as a skunk; a boy no older than six has to wake him up and tell him that the bad guys are getting away.

We quickly learn that, while Hancock has stopped a fair number of violent criminals, he still does a lot more harm than good. Whenever he flies, his takeoffs and landings leave gaping holes in the concrete. He damages buildings and destroys cars. He's provoked far too easily, especially when he's being called a specific dirty name. He drinks far too much. He's antisocial, apathetic, and angry, not helped by the fact that no one praises him for the lowered crime rate. Then he saves the life of Ray Embrey (Jason Bateman), a down-on-his-luck public relations professional; to show his gratitude, he decides to help Hancock reestablish his image. The first step is responding to an outstanding arrest warrant and actually spending time in jail. Ray believes this will give the impression that Hancock is willing to improve. He also believes that, since the crime rate will increase, Hancock will be released much earlier than usual.

I won't get into the specifics of how long Hancock stays in jail and what happens in that time, but rest assured that he's eventually released and given a second chance. As he desperately tries to make sense of himself, Hancock gets closer to Ray and his family. The young son, Aaron (Jae Head), almost treats Hancock like his best friend, always so excited around him, always wanting to share toys and talk about trivial things. The wife, Mary (Charlize Theron), is always suspicious around Hancock; she's distant, cold, and short-winded whenever he's near her. I won't say whether or not there's a reason for this, but I will say that by the time everything is explained, we're left with more questions than answers.

That's about as much of the plot I can describe without spoiling anything. The best I can say at this point is to go see the film and find out what I couldn't describe. "Hancock" is worth seeing, even if the plot strays from itself a few too many times. There's a moment when the city is attacked by freak weather (which includes snow and multiple tornadoes), and I couldn't help but believe it was only for the sake of showing cool visual effects. I suppose that could be interpreted as satire, since visual effects are the very heart and soul of the average superhero film. The thing is, "Hancock" is not average--it brings something original to the genre, something modern and lively and (to some extent) realistic. When you get your first look at Hancock, you see not a sterile do-gooder like Superman but a filthy vagrant, with all the sadness in the world swimming in his bloodshot eyes. He's just plain pathetic.

While Ray's goal is for Hancock to make peace with the public, the film's goal is for Hancock to make peace with himself. Even after tossing a young French bully hundreds of feet into the air and catching him just before he hits the ground, we sense that Hancock is more misunderstood than anything else. He's deeply flawed, but that doesn't mean he's unwilling to change. If the plot of "Hancock" were at the same developmental level as the main character, it would be one of the decade's most thought provoking superhero films, right up there with this year's "Iron Man." Unfortunately, it isn't; it loses itself to a crafty plot twist, and the explanations that go along with it are impossible to accept. Nevertheless, the inner struggle of the title character made this movie worthwhile, as did the special effects and the satirical manipulation of the superhero genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unrated Blu-Ray disk a decent start, November 24, 2008
By 
SRFireside "ZOOM!" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Hancock wasn't the superhero movie that changed the genre like the studio's claimed, but it was good, solid entertainment. The theatrical release of the movie was rated PG-13 in order to draw the largest crowd to the box office. What you are getting here is both the R version and the released PG-13 version. The only real difference is ten extra minutes of footage here and there and a good deal more foul language from the Hancock character. Now that we got the "Unrated" question out of the way lets get down to the movie.

Hancock is one of those antihero-turned-hero type movies where you see the title character be all antisocial and then eventually learns how to respect others and be respected. Will Smith is definitely a great actor for the role. He gives the character just enough smug attitude without hamming it up. Will had gone a long way from the cut up hero he was in movies like Independence Day and MIB. He also does a good job with the transition of the character going from jerk to hero with all the awkwardness that anybody deals with when trying to change their way of thinking.

The plot progression of Hancock going from zero to hero is impeccable (love the jail time Hancock has to go through). Jason Bateman as Hancock's new PR guy pulls it off with the finesse of being straight man to Smith's antics and the comic foil when Will is playing it straight. Good chemistry with the two. I was surprised at Charlize Theron's performance to the point I didn't really recognize her. I won't say she's Oscar winning material here, but she does play her character right.

Now the story chugs along great up until you get maybe 2/3rd's in when the plot twists come regarding Hancock's origins. Eventually it's ironed out and his whole origin makes some good story sense, but before getting there you have to deal with a big, spectacular and utterly useless fight scene that seems to just be put in to add more action and show off more special effects. When they do finally dispense with the nonsense of that scene things get back on track with what I consider a pretty satisfying conclusion.

The funny thing about this movie is at times you have to just suspend your disbelief farther than normal on a superhero movie in order to let this movie play out some of its jokes. In other words Hancock will do something outrageous and technically impossible just to get a laugh out of the audience. Just roll with it. It's not often and at least they are pretty funny if you let go of the laws of physics, biology and so forth.

The additional footage in this movie boils down to an opening scene with Hancock scaring some girl he tried picking up at a bar, the aforementioned cussing from Hancock (not way too gratuitous... at least not enough to detract from character) and a few little scenes that add some details here and there. No nudie scenes other than Will's butt shot that made the final cut or added violence. Nothing that would ban the movie from theaters at all.

The features on this special edition are... well... okay. Nothing to really write home about. You get over an hour's worth of content spread out over six mini-documentaries and one kinda big one, plus other blu-ray related features and a digital copy for portables. I noticed there are no commentaries on this special edition. That's kinda strange since I don't see why they couldn't just put a microphone in front of the director and some actors and other crew members to make one or two. This is supposed to be the full production version, after all. Here is a breakdown of the featurettes:

On Set Visual Diary - A picture-in-picture view of production you can see while watching the movie if your Blu-Ray player has the profile version 1.1 or better.

Superhumans: The Making of Hancock (approx 13 minutes) - Mainly interviews of the cast and crew, including details on the origin story and how it evolved.

Seeing the Future (approx. 15 minutes) - Pre-visualization sequences for some key scenes.

Building a Better Hero (approx. 15 minutes) - A special effects featurette.

Bumps and Bruises (approx 10 minutes) - Another special effects featurette focussed on some key scenes.

Mere Mortals (approx 3 minutes) - A snipped on director Peter Berg. Supposed to be funny.

Home Life (Approx 11 minutes) - Behind the scenes look at the house sets.

Suiting Up (approx 8 minutes) - Costumes featurette.

BDLive - For BR players with 2.0 profile or better. Connects you to a special Sony website for trailers and possibly additional content later on.

D-Box equipped - For those people with those crazy chairs that move around with the movie.

All of the featurettes save for the picture-in-picture stuff is all 1080p. It's getting old seeing these studios make several little making of documentaries when they can just put together a single big documentary covering all of the details. I guess they prefer many little ones because it looks better on the back of the packaging when it shows a lot of features. Be forewarned that those features are pretty short.

Being a Blu-Ray release you can expect full 1080p resolution. From what I have heard the high def really stands out in the scenes that have a slower pace while the crazy action scenes (like that useless one I mentioned before) don't really benefit from the treatment. Audio is Dolby TrueHD 5.1 lossless and I hear that while it's not going to top the best reference movies out there it's still an amazing experience.

Hancock is definitely a worthwhile superhero movie that takes a different slant on the genre, but doesn't turn it on its ear. Any superhero fan should be able to have a lot of love for this movie. Action fans will get a kick out of it too as well as comedy and sci-fi fans. As long as you can suspend your disbelief a little more than normal for the sake of humor and can forgive an awkward scene or two Hancock is the movie for you. This BR edition? Well it has the most features on any at this time. They may pull a double dip in a year or two and add some extras. Then again BDLive may future-proof that purchase for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Smith Can Not Be Stopped, November 30, 2008
This review is from: Hancock (DVD)
I read some reviews when Hancock came out in theatres. Most of them gave it mixed ratings but there were some 3 star ratings like I saw here on Amazon.com. I can't tell you enough how much I disagree. There have been so many to take a comedic shot at superhero films but they are usually either Ok or just plain bad but not this one. Anywho, Hancock is definitely a great film, so great that I could not wait to stamp a 5 star rating on it and tell ya why but first I'll tell you what it's about.

Will Smith stars as John Hancock, a loaner, alcoholic,and depressed superhero. Of course those are definitely not characteristics you want to see in the man that has superman like powers like Hancock. The story goes that Hancock woke up one morning in a hospital, he didn't know his name, birth date, or if he had any family or friends. By now you can imagine how he got that name of his, a nurse asked him for it and he thought it was his name. He only knew what the doctors told him, that he was hit on the head trying to stop a mugging. Through the years he hasn't really tried to become a perfect hero or even a good one at that but he does the minimum.

Hancock wants to be loved but acts as if he doesn't care and this is when Ray (Jason Bateman)comes in. After being saved by Hancock Ray thinks of a way to recreate Hancock to give him what he wants, to be loved by the people. The both of them set out on a mission to do this but this movie is no doubt deeper than the surface. Things get more dangerous and the plot twists just enough to become one of the best dramatic comedies about a superhero I have ever seen.

First of all I think that Will Smith is one of the few actors that could take a film like this and make it so good. Good job by the writers as well for giving it a good comedic feel but keeping it a little realistic and never going over the edge. Smith did a great job, he made you think that Hancock could actually be real and he was hilarious doing it but still did great with the dramatic scenes. The rest of the cast was also good, I really liked Jason Bateman in "The Kingdom" and he did well here but Charlize Theron definitely shined the most out of the supporting cast. She and Will Smith had some great scenes together and made it believable.

The action scenes were very cool, great special effects and seeing Hancock flying like a new baby bird with arms and legs flinging all over was hilarious. One thing I thought that could have been improved were the fight scenes. There were definitely a few but it was just a lot of flying around and crashing into buildings. Had they added a bit of choreography it would have been on point for sure. Because the films acting was executed so well I can't really take a star for this cause it wasn't significant but was still noticeable.

The story was great and I have to admit that I had the film thought out all wrong. I loved the way they make it look like this sort of cool comedy but it starts to run a little bit deeper towards the end. It is not a huge jaw dropper but the twist is still cool, at least to me it was. Overall, I loved the movie, I think Will Smith is no doubt one of the greatest actors to do it. The films concept was definitely awesome and thought out and executed well. The story was written well also and the cast was picked nicely, not too much action, not too much comedy, and not too much drama. It was just right and it definitely showed. I wouldn't recommend this as a family film unless your all over 15 but it is definitely a must see. The empty Blockbuster stores definitely showed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars [3.5] Hancock is very uneven entertainment, but still enjoyable., July 9, 2008
By 
Steven Hedge "Movie Fan" (Somewhere "East of Eden") - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film seems to suffer from the "let's make fun of a genre and then actually strive to be that genre" duplicity which gives the movie a rather odd feel to it. It's still fun, but a rather weird trip.

The film starts off brilliantly with bad boy superhero, played to perfection by Will Smith, who is in need of a serious attitude adjustment. He is befriended by a public relations man, well-played by Jason Bateman, who has a wife, the gorgeous Oscar winner Charlize Theron (Monster, Mighty Joe Young, The Italian Job), that is less accepting or forgiving of Will's character. The film succeeds wonderfully for the first half of its 90 minute run until it suddenly starts to take itself seriously and strives to be the kind of film that it started out mocking. It quickly becomes less fun and far less funny at that point.

There is little one can say about the plot beyond what was not revealed in the previews without spoiling the second half of the film which was NOT revealed in any way in the previews. I'm not sure if that was done to "surprise" us somehow or because the producers knew that the second half just didn't fit with the first half of the film. It's not that the second half of the film is bad or not well acted or anything like that. The problem is the shift in focus. The film feels like it has a personality disorder or something.

I know with a five star system here people complain when a reviewer does the .5 bit like I did, but if there was ever a film that needed an in between rating, it's this one. It was better than good, three stars, but not quite excellent, which is four stars. Five stars is outstanding and it certainly wasn't that by any means. I had a great time with the first half, and just thought the second half belonged in another film.

I think most Smith fans will enjoy this light entertainment, but it will be an odd experience nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Fixer-Upper, July 13, 2008
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Boozy hero with amnesia spends his time wrecking LA while perfecting his "drunken master" crime fighting technique
2. His career is put in check after a train wreck
3. After fighting crime, he does the time
4. He gets time off for good behavior, and lends a hand to foil a bank robbery
5. He soon learns that attraction can be fatal
6. Action picks up at expense of plot
7. Action cools down at expense of plot

Will Smith's traditional summer blockbuster hero busts a lot more than a few blocks, but the movie winds up a little short of super.

The special effects are outstanding, but Jason Bateman's performance is average, Charlize Theron doesn't try very hard, and the title role seems more suited to some other actor rather than a proven summer-hit mega star like Smith. In the second half in particular, "Hancock" sometimes seems more like a Nicholas Cage role, which should tell you what I thought of it.

Still, Smith makes the movie worth watching, if only for the great first half, that tight black costume and the aforementioned special effects.

In summary: Super Smith, not so super story, superb stunts.

Amanda Richards, July 13, 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Did you shove a man's head up another man's a--?", July 2, 2008
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Sometimes you're worse off with the cure. Take Los Angeles, for instance, which boasts its own superhero. But this superhero is a misanthrope - a rude cuss, a woman-groper, and an everyday boozer. He dresses like homeless and saves lives like he's playing that Whack-the-Gopher game. In his crimefighting methods, he's not very careful or that sensitive to stuff around him. His disastrous heroics tend to cost the city millions of dollars in collateral damage, not to mention further endangering the Los Angelinos. No wonder then that Hancock isn't much appreciated. The kids don't even look up to this guy.

Hancock is an impenetrable jerk. He acts like he doesn't care much about anything (yet he keeps on saving lives, so we all know he actually does give a fig, somewhere deep inside). Things change for him when he saves a man, Ray Embrey, from death by train. Turns out Ray is a down-and-out publicity agent. To repay Hancock, he offers to revamp his public image. Surprisingly, Hancock takes him up on it.

I think we've all seen the trailers by now to know that, as part of his image rehabilitation, Hancock is convinced by Ray to turn himself in, when a warrant is issued for his arrest (based on Hancock's misconducts during his heroics). The thinking is that, with Hancock incarcerated, the crime rate will shoot up and then it's only a matter of time before the call goes out for Hancock to resume his thing. This happens, and Hancock emerges from prison a more polite, more couth superhero, clad in sleek leather threads, and cognizant of property values.

But that's only half the story. HANCOCK started out pretty much to form, raucous and punching holes in the superhero mythos. I had an amazingly good time during the first half of the film. But then things took a turn for the serious, as the film begins delving into existential stuff, as Hancock goes thru whatever one goes thru when there's only one of his kind. There's quite a bit more to John Hancock, so much more that the movie doesn't even really get into it. There's an explanation for his origin, and what an ambitious origin it is, too. His past history, we learn, is glorious and tragic and spans much longer than you'd think. There's a romance for Hancock, but it's one soaked in tragic underpinnings. The film's second half will make or break it for the moviegoers, as it goes very much against convention, strays off the safe path and onto a messier one.

I do like that HANCOCK doesn't go for the easy. As mentioned, I really enjoyed the first half, when it was all light and comic. When things took a darker turn, it startled me. Then I got curious as to where the picture would take me. Will Smith is truly one of the most bankable movie stars around, and I'll always watch whatever film he's in. HANCOCK offers up a Will Smith that we're not used to. This guy on screen is grumpy and mean and a hard drinker. Yet I liked John Hancock from the get-go, perhaps because this film was touted as a comedy (and I guess being grumpy and mean is allowed if in a comedic venue) and, more definitely, because it's Will Smith. But Smith can also act. I think that's been proven without a doubt. So he adds that extra layer of realism to his preposterous character. The other two leads are good, as well. Jason Bateman and Charlize Theron (who plays his wife) are very much key to driving the plot. And I defy you to not have your heart go out to Jason's character, who's truly a good guy at heart.

There are no mega-villains in HANCOCK (In fact, the main villain, if you can call him that, is a little weak). Surprisingly, the special effects aren't about to bowl anyone over (but they're not bad), and there's not as much superhero action as you'd like. There's much comedy gold in the first half (yes, including that initial prison scene as the inmates challenge Hancock), and lots of drama and angst and heartache in the second half. The film earns all of its PG-13 rating. I laughed myself silly in some places, and wondered about a lot of the stuff director Peter Berg and the writers were attempting. And, when all's said and done, I ended up liking the film. But it's up in the air whether you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Father's Superhero, May 25, 2010
By 
Orion E. Hubbard (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like superhero films like the Fantastic Four, Spiderman, Daredevil, Ghost Rider, or any of the other Marvel ilk then don't buy Hancock.

This movie has a tremendous amount of humor-- how many other superheroes do you know of that gets sued and arrested for all the damage that gets caused by crime fighting? And Hancock does do a lot of damage; sometimes it seems, just for the hell of it.

But the biggest difference-- the one that a lot of people who are fond of mindless superhero origins-- is that Hancock's background is both unique and touching, so we not only have a superhero but also something of a tragic hero. In this movie, the hero doesn't get the girl, but in this case, that's a good thing. Hancock is the superhero, but his pal Ray is subtly heroic in his own way and that adds a bit of pathos not usually found in movies of this type, yet it all works out in the end.

This is a darn good movie, though badly underrated by people stuck in the Marvel mold who can't think outside the box. If you want a superhero movie that goes beyond the usual tripe, you really should see this one. Trust me, you'll love it. :-)

Ron
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hancock is no Iron Man or Batman, but it's a fun ride, July 2, 2008
By 
Monkdude (Hampton, Virginia) - See all my reviews
I really enjoyed the first half of the Hancock, when he had a bad attitude and some great lines. The film progressed into a typical superhero movie that was still fun, but lacked anything original. I'm not the biggest Will Smith fan, though I think he was the only actor for this role and it is one of my favorite Will Smith characters yet. Charlize Theron was cast to look good and she does, while Jason Bateman provides good and often funny support to Smith's Hancock. The CGI is very good throughout and there is even a couple of twists thrown in that might catch you off guard.

Hancock is a good summer flick that isn't in the same league as Iron Man or the greatness that will likely be The Dark Knight, but it is exactly what you would expect from Will "Summer Blockbuster" Smith.

3 and 1/2 out of 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A unique take on the superhero genre, but missing something., November 26, 2008
Hancock is a superhero. He's also a raging alcoholic, a complete jerk, and an unkempt recluse. When he saves the life of a failing public relations expert, he gets the change to reinvent his image. If only he can surive the humiliation of the leather suit...

"Hancock" is a unique, interesting take on the superhero genre. What would it be like to be a superhero? You would be different from everyone around you; you would be alien, the unknown...basically, not exactly the stereotypical image of a superhero. Perhaps it's a moot point, but it's certainly something worth exploring within the realm of Hollywood. Thus, "Hancock." Will Smith is the perfect choice to play this character: He's got the charisma to play the loveable hero (oh dear, I hope I didn't give anything away); the surly "I don't give a damn ain't I so cool" attitude to play a drunkard; and the dramatic chops to portray a character conflicted with himself. Add to this the wonderfully talented Jason Bateman, a great comedic actor whose dramatical nuance is often overlooked (check out "Juno" to see how great he can really be). Bateman's Ray is loveable, pitiable, and admirable, all at the same time. As for the film's other lead, Charlize Theron...she's a great actress, but she isn't given a whole lot to work with here, especially in the film's first half. After the twist (which you can see coming a mile away; still, they play it up well enough), she gets to let loose a little more, but we still don't get to see her in all her glory (stop snickering).

The reason I only gave this film three stars...its potential is wasted. The actors are all talented enough to go there, but the script (or at least the final version of the script, as seen here) holds them back. Being alone in the world, the only one of your kind, is a dark and haunting concept; the idea of alienated superheroes, forced to face their own hated immortality, is better explored in the graphic novel "Watchmen," which (should) be coming to theaters in 2009. That is a dark and twisted tale, one that leaves a bitter tase in your mouth. "Hancock," even with all the talent going into it, winds up being little more than a popcorn flick with a few philosophical ideas that are tossed in there for good measure. Like I said, it's a shame, because the actors (especially Smith and Bateman) are perfectly capable of going the distance. If only Hollywood would've taken more of a risk. They really need to start gambling on Smith; he's a steady draw, and a great actor to boot. Maybe one day, he'll get the chance to show that an action movie can be more than a mere action movie. Until then..."Hancock" is all good fun, and a few good laughs, but it's not what could have been, and that is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hancock
Hancock by Peter Berg
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.