Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emerge-n-See Light
This Nifty little light will never need a bulb or new batteries. This unit is about 5.5 inches long and 2 inches wide and deep. It fits into your hand quite comfortably and cranking it up is not a strenuous execise.

The key to obtaining longevity in this product is not to over-crank it, nor under-crank it. Keep the cranking time always to about 1 minute...
Published on October 30, 2010 by G. Max Gooding

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Output quickly deteriorates. Other options available
We purchased two units. Our kids love reading in bed, and they sometimes prefer using a flashlight rather than a reading lamp. Plus, there are all the other good reasons to have dependable emergency lights.

These units provided a moderate amount of light - a bit dimmer than typical 2 D cell flashlights. And, that was OK with me.

However, the amount...
Published on December 11, 2008 by Gary Coffrin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Output quickly deteriorates. Other options available, December 11, 2008
By 
Gary Coffrin (San Jose, California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
We purchased two units. Our kids love reading in bed, and they sometimes prefer using a flashlight rather than a reading lamp. Plus, there are all the other good reasons to have dependable emergency lights.

These units provided a moderate amount of light - a bit dimmer than typical 2 D cell flashlights. And, that was OK with me.

However, the amount of time that the unit would provide light quickly decreased. After just 5 or 6 uses, light output would last only 90 seconds or so, and the brightness level also decreased. It soon became too much hassle to try to sustain light output for more than a few minutes - the frequent cranking was annoying, and every use further decreased battery life and light output.

The light's concept is appealing - but the implementation is poor. The light might be OK for a few uses, but based on the quick deterioration of performance I would not feel very confident that it would dependably work when needed and as long as needed in an emergency. Maybe the best use is in a car when you are unlikely to need light for a long period.

Another OPTION, if also less than perfect: Amazon is selling slow self-discharge rechargeable NiMH batteries. These cells retain 85% of their charge level after 1 year of sitting on a shelf. So, there is the option of buying Sanyo Eneloop (or similar) AA NiMH Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries and adding them to a few quality flashlights. Recharge once per year, and you have viable emergency lights, and perhaps keep some extra batteries around. These long shelf-life batteries are selling like hotcakes to photo enthusiasts, because you can immediately shoot photos even if your camera has been stored for 12 days or 12 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "It's too bad she won't live! But then again, who does?", May 7, 2010
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
Back in 2006/07, I bought two each of Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlight, Garrity Power Lite, and Duracell Crank Light. The Illuminator lights worked great in the beginning - able to shine for nearly one hour after one minute of cranking. But after a few months, their run time has dropped to under 10 minutes. Lately, they can hardly sustain 10 seconds of dim light. The Garrity lights are marginally better, in that they can still provide 1-2 minutes of useable light. The two Duracell lights, on the other hand, are working just fine.

The difference is due to the rechargeable batteries used in those crank lights:
- The Illuminator contains a single 3.7V Lithium-ion battery with very low capacity (around 36mAh)
- The Garrity uses three 1.2V NiMH cells with slightly higher capacity (80mAh)
- The Duracell uses three NiMH cells with the highest capacity (300mAh)

All rechargeable batteries must die eventually, just that some sooner than others. Lithium-ion rechargeable batteries are particularly delicate and will be damaged when over-charged, or over-discharged. But over-charging is inevitable in a crank light, since the user has no way to know when the battery is fully charged. That explains why the two Illuminator lights failed so quickly. In contrast, the NiMH cells used in Garrity and Duracell lights are more robust and can withstand more abuse. But sooner or later, the lower capacity battery in Garrity light will became damaged. The Duracell lights are still doing well, mainly because I have been slow-charging the battery through USB port, instead of fast-charging with the crank.

Knowing its short lifespan, I cannot recommend the Illuminator crank light. Unfortunately, the Duracell crank light has been discontinued. So your only choice left is the Garrity. Personally, I have mostly given up on crank lights. It is more reliable to use low-self-discharge batteries (such as SANYO eneloop) in LED flashlights that accept two AA cells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emerge-n-See Light, October 30, 2010
By 
G. Max Gooding (Miami, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
This Nifty little light will never need a bulb or new batteries. This unit is about 5.5 inches long and 2 inches wide and deep. It fits into your hand quite comfortably and cranking it up is not a strenuous execise.

The key to obtaining longevity in this product is not to over-crank it, nor under-crank it. Keep the cranking time always to about 1 minute. Additionally, allow the light to go almost completely out before re-cranking. This technique will optimize the life of the internal rechargeable batteries.

This is a pretty rugged device, however care should be taken not to break off the cranking handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Both broke. Christmas Day!, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
First one litterly the first time it was used. The second one broke the third time it was used! I use crank lights for my kids so that I do not have to buy batteries every time they fall asleep with thier flash lights on. I had similar ones for them before that lasted over a year. But these two were absolutly JUNK! My son unwrapped his Christmas morning, when to crank it and the handle came off in his hand. My daughter's broke that night.

At least the company did not give me any problems with the return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth it., February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
Not worth the money. Spend a little more and get better ones. They both arrived broken and had to repair the crank on one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like having another hand after dark...., September 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
Highly recommend the flashlight to everyone...can't look for a battery when the old flashlight doesn't work!!!! Bought one many years ago...it finally gave up...so purchased these two for the same price I originally bought one. It's like having a second hand after dark. Best idea in a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Christian, November 4, 2010
By 
E. Chris (Algonquin, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
You get what you pay for. This light has such tiny bulbs it barely casts any light in a dark room. A lighted match casts more light. If you want an extra bright hand crank light, buy the Garrity. Has ten times the illumination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack, March 30, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
I really love this little flashlight. I keep one in my car and one at home. It puts out a really bright light and I don't have to worry about batteries going dead. When the light starts to go dim, I just crank it up again and it is recharged. The charge lasts for a good while when fully charged. The length of the charge depends on how well you crank it up. It is great to have in an emergency, as you do not need to worry about having batteries on hand or running out of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could be a life saver in this cold weather., December 11, 2013
By 
Tinker (Oregon outback) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
I keep one of these in my car for emergencies, and one in my home for power outages. So far, they have worked and I am happy to have them as backup. This gives you a little exercise to warm yourself while doing something constructive in a blackout. I also bought one of the lantern-type units. Even if you never anticipate an emergency, it is worth having them available for peace of mind. I have used them frequently out of the car. Saves on the auto battery and works just like a battery operated unit. Plus I don't have to keep changing and throwing batteries in the cold weather. So far, a nice dependable unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for what we are using them for, July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hand Crank Illuminator Wind-up LED Flashlights - 2 Pack (Misc.)
These are great for what we are using them for in our kitchens. No batteries needed! Can't beat that! Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.