Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User friendly and comprehensive
This book provides many charts and quick references to a broad number of psychiatric medications, but also goes beyond just a discussion of medical treatment. It provides a clear understanding of the underlying neurobiology of various psychiatric medications, presumed mechanisms of action of drugs, and practical treatment guidelines. The book also offers a nice review...
Published on June 15, 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe for beginners; not a quick reference
As a psychologist, I was looking for an updated reference for psychotropic medications. I got a book about underlying neurobiology and diagnosis with a few low-detail tables on medications. This seems to be a textbook at a student level. The "look inside" that I got did not give a good assessment of what I'd be getting.
Published on January 23, 2012 by Calluna


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User friendly and comprehensive, June 15, 2000
By A Customer
This book provides many charts and quick references to a broad number of psychiatric medications, but also goes beyond just a discussion of medical treatment. It provides a clear understanding of the underlying neurobiology of various psychiatric medications, presumed mechanisms of action of drugs, and practical treatment guidelines. The book also offers a nice review of psychaitric diagnosis with an eye towards medication treatment. The book is written in an exceptionally clear style and is current in terms of theories and research. I recommend it to all of my graduate students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, concise resource, September 24, 2005
this book is a great resource for students and practitioners alike. well-organized and written in very readable and understandable language, this book is also good for patient education purposes. it includes excellent diagrams that make information exchange with patients even easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview of the Basics, November 16, 2006
I ordered this textbook for a graduate course I took this Fall. I thought it provided a good basic overview of psychopharm. The info. was presented in a way that was pretty easy to grasp. However, the book could have been more interesting if it was more detailed. If you're looking to gain a detailed understanding of psychopharmacology, this is not the text for you. But, if you want a general, basic overview of the subject, this is a good resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new Update, July 1, 2002
By A Customer
The authors have kept up-to-date with new editions. User-friendly charts and clear explanations make this one of the best psychopharmacology books on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very accessible pharmacology text, February 10, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is for non-scientists but does a great job of explaining the basic mechanisms of the brain and how different pathologies and treatments act on the brain. Because it is a textbook, some of the latest research findings are not in it, but it always includes the leading edge of research and inquiry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent clinical resource, October 23, 2008
I fell upon this book while in graduate school. Though this book was not required for any course I was taking at the time, i bought it anyways for my own persnoal knowledge (for the price you can not go wrong). At the time, I was working in a psychiatric hospital and wanted to learn as much as possible about psychotropic medications, the disorders they treat and the neurobilological aspects of people. I used this book as one of many reference for a 2 hour presentation on psychotropic medications for a school project. I found this book indespensible then and now in clinical practice. Thank you to the authors for being able to create a concise, yet in-depth review of this subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars acknowledgement, March 9, 2006
Dr. Preston's book has been an invaluable source of information and help in my practice as a psychologist. He is a wonderful presenter and when possible I also attend his workshops. He makes it easy to understand psychopharmacology in order to better help my clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important tool for therapists, February 20, 2007
By 
Jules (Hartford, CT) - See all my reviews
This book is qpproachable about a topic that therapists need to have information about. It's a concise and informative book, and whether you agree/disagree about prescribing meds, it's still important to have this as a reference tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of three worlds, August 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I was unable to take my university's psychopharmacology course. As a master's level mental health clinician working with a poor and chronic population, knowledge of this area is key.

This book was written and edited by a Psy. D (someone who has received very advanced, completely applied training in clinical psychology), an MD, and a pharmacist. The result is a masterful blend; all three of their areas of expertise have equal import.

Every therapist should own and read a copy of this book. Packed with useful information, and fascinating- no joke; I brought this page-turner with me to the beach all summer. If you read nothing else on psychopharm, this should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pharmacology Text great for Graduate students., April 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book gives a wealth of clear and concise information regarding psychotropic medications. Included is a good write up of the history of medications in the mental health field. There are also descriptions of public and media perceptions of medications as well as historic attacks on psychotropic drugs based on rumor, politics, religion, and incorrect information. Anyone in the mental health field may benefit from having this book on their shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists
Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists by John Preston (Hardcover - February 2, 2010)
Used & New from: $6.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.