Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes but difficult to read
This just arrived and I have loved reading through it. Interesting recipes and bakers. Well organized and a pretty book. One problem I have is the font size. I normally don't hold a cookbook right up to my nose to read the recipes while making them but this one demands it. Cookbook authors should notice the layout of their book and if you can read the recipes when the...
Published on November 28, 2011 by Kathleen Dickson

versus
97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Photos are few and far between. Text is LENGTHY and very difficult to read in many places due to the COLOR of print they chose (for example - white text on a light yellow background, or lime green text on a white background). Not many recipes for a book that is 142 pages ... there are a lot of "how to" sections, profiles on various bakeries, Not what I was...
Published on December 1, 2011 by Val Verde Grille


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 101 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
Photos are few and far between. Text is LENGTHY and very difficult to read in many places due to the COLOR of print they chose (for example - white text on a light yellow background, or lime green text on a white background). Not many recipes for a book that is 142 pages ... there are a lot of "how to" sections, profiles on various bakeries, Not what I was anticipating. With Cutie Pies as a #1 comparison, this book did not even come close to holding my interest. Cutie Pies, on the other hand - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and very, very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes but difficult to read, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
This just arrived and I have loved reading through it. Interesting recipes and bakers. Well organized and a pretty book. One problem I have is the font size. I normally don't hold a cookbook right up to my nose to read the recipes while making them but this one demands it. Cookbook authors should notice the layout of their book and if you can read the recipes when the book is on a stand or laying open. This isn't one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read. Not great for recipes., December 19, 2011
By 
stacey senters (trinity, nc United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
I was a little disappointed in this purchase. The photos were great, the stories were great, but to be honest I thought the recipes were very few (very fundimental) and nothing I couldn't find somewhere else. I was hoping there would be meat pies, veggie pies, fruit pies, cheese pies, etc. I also found a couple of errors that should have been caught when edited. All and all, its a okay book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flavor, Fun and a Warm Kitchen--Definitely Recommended, December 13, 2011
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
Small Pies reportedly are the new mini-dessert trend. Based on testing a number of recipes presented in this book, I understand why. One of the joys of small foods comes from eating. It's just more fun. At the authors state, it's okay to eat with your hands.

Handheld foods, in fact, have a long history in human culture. Farmers, peasants and many others needed nourishment that could be prepared in advance, carried along to labor and eaten during the day. Handheld pies takes this common tradition to elevated levels.

One thing I enjoyed about the structure of the book is the "Nuts and Bolts" section. Here, you choose and match the type of crust you want with the type of filling. Such flexibility means you can adjust to what's hanging around your kitchen--some leftover cream cheese? Make cream cheese pie crust. Or perhaps you have plenty of butter but no fresh fruit--not to worry, you can still have a great fruit pie.

Freezing individual servings is also a boon to for the busy kitchen. The authors give you even more options for this technique than others, such as "Mini-Pies" from other authors (a great cookbook that teases the freezing idea). This book really develops the idea.

When it came to eating the recipes, we had a couple clear favorites. Despite the fact all the tests were voted a success, you definitely want to try the Orange Marmalade-Mascarpone Pop Tarts. The Farmer Cheese Pie was also a favorite. The all-out winner however, was the Dried Apple and Raisin Filling recipe. Although most recommended for a fried pie, no one on test-day minded that it was served in the tested Sturdy Cream Cheese Crust recipe.

Dried Apple and Raisin Filling

3 cups dried apples
3 cups apple cider
½ cup dark or golden raisins
3 tbsp firmly packed light or dark brown sugar
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp ground cinnamon
¼ tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp freshly grated nutmeg
Pinch of kosher salt

1. In a large saucepan, combine the apples and cider over medium heat, bring to a simmer, and simmer uncovered, until the apples have softened, about 20 minutes. Remove from the heat, stir in the raisins, and let cool for 30 minutes.

2. Pour the mixture through a sieve placed over a measuring pitcher or bow. Reserve the liquid for flavoring a filing for structured pies or for mixing up a spritzer. In a bowl, combine the drained apples and raisins, the sugar, cornstarch, spices, and salt and mix well.

3. Use immediately, or cover and refrigerate for up to 3 days.

I was a little short on raisins when making this recipe. As mentioned by the authors, I substituted some dried cranberries for the remainder and we all loved the results.

If you want to get in on the fun and trend of the small-pie craze, this book will get you well equipped. You'll get good instructions, complete suggestions, and ways to mix or match as needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some potential, some disappointment, May 3, 2012
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
Sweet and savoury pies - finger food - are immensely addictive to many people and there seems to be no limit to what you can encase in a piece of pastry. Yet many cooks seem to fall back on the same old traditional, albeit tasty, options. Maybe this book will change things.
Forty recipes, both sweet and savoury, are presented in a form that seeks to educate, inform and inspire at the same time. Written for an American audience, to this European reviewer some of the ingredients are not so well known (or come with prejudices that are perhaps irrational), yet this book manages to inspire one to want to try them out. Although one remains sceptical to the idea of peanut butter and jelly pop tarts!
The authors have cleverly organised the book by crust, filling and technique in a bid to encourage the cook to explore the diverse range of pie types, and when combined with different combinations of filling the sky is the limit. A lot of information, expertise and tips are provided so that one learns as one reads (and tries the various recipes) - something that many books fail at when they just present recipes and maybe a bit of "small talk" from the author.
This is not, however, a picture-heavy aspirational book but a friendly "text book" that guides the reader throughout. The book does not, however, feel "kitchen-friendly" due to the overall layout and style of presentation and the choice of font and styling could make reading whilst cooking a tad problematical for some. A common bugbear is the binding - one feels one has to be slightly violent to make it stay open which is a horrific thing to do for a book-lover, so maybe one should restrict this book to one's favourite chair, read in a peaceful atmosphere and maybe copy out the recipe you wish to try when in the kitchen.
These small niggles are only practical things that can be very personal to a person. The content, however, remains king and the book provides an interesting array of things to dream about, to learn about and to hopefully try. Measured by those metrics, the book does reach the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars delish, December 29, 2011
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
This book has some great pie recipes and lovely pictures. The downside for me was that, along with recipes, there were reviews of pie shops around the country- which is fine but I will never get to go to any of these places (are they still even open?) and I feel cheated on the use of space because i would have preferred more recipes. Otherwise, lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, inspiring, and illuminating, December 19, 2011
By 
A. Whitney (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
I have had some less than positive past experiences with creating dough, so when I saw this book I thought (maybe naively) that smaller pies might be easier to make. While the process of making pies isn't much different, I found the instruction in Handheld Pies to be very helpful for someone who is inexperienced with making doughs. The basic instructions and tips in the front of the book are thorough and encouraging. They offer info on different techniques and ingredients, and give detailed descriptions on how the process works (i.e. how to tell when dough is too cold or warm) so that I felt much more prepared than I had from previous guides. The book is structured by type: Free-Form Pies like Pop Tarts (both savory and sweet); Structured Pies (i.e. Pecan Pie, Buttermilk-Whiskey, Bacon, Egg & Cheese); Jar Pies (such as Coconut Cream, Peanut Butter, Shepherd's); and finishes with a Nuts & Bolts chapter which explores different crusts (butter, lard, cornmeal, cream cheese) and fillings. In addition, the chapters are punctuated with stories and recipes from restaurants from around the country that specialize in handheld pies. The food styling and photography will get your appetite going and make you want to try all of these tasty pies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, May 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
FINALLY an easy to read and understand book on how to make different types of pastry. I have already made about 6 pies and will delve into the sweets very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet sweet, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
my dad is so happy that I got this book, he loves all this kinda stuff and this book has it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these little pies!, September 21, 2012
By 
Erica (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories (Hardcover)
I am a home baker, and I love to bake for friends parties. These mini pies are the perfect thing to bring- no need to worry about how to cut, or if there are enough to go around! They are also great to freeze and have on hand as mid-week desserts! So far, every recipe has be useable as-is; no need to fiddle with ingredients or times! Highly recommend for the home cook- easy to follow instructions and deliciousness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories
Handheld Pies: Dozens of Pint-Size Sweets and Savories by Sarah Billingsley (Hardcover - November 23, 2011)
$19.95 $15.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.