Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific resource for nonprofits
I have used this resource with clients who have few resources and little experience in social marketing. It is a well written guidebook that explains the steps in developing social marketing strategies and provides well constructed worksheets. The book is extremely enlightening for organizations who are doing this for the first time or who cannot afford high-priced...
Published on February 26, 2003 by Susan Hills

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, more develop on social marketing research would be useful
The book has a lot of what I was looking for in terms of the content. The author really did a wonderful job on putting into a simple perspective, key elements of social marketing, in a very easy-to-read way, and it really helps to put into practice the theory explained, with real and non-real examples. I would have liked that the author would have developed more the...
Published on May 13, 2010 by Daniel Salas Peraza


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific resource for nonprofits, February 26, 2003
By 
Susan Hills (Burke, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hands-On Social Marketing: A Step-by-Step Guide (Paperback)
I have used this resource with clients who have few resources and little experience in social marketing. It is a well written guidebook that explains the steps in developing social marketing strategies and provides well constructed worksheets. The book is extremely enlightening for organizations who are doing this for the first time or who cannot afford high-priced consultants. As a writer without much social marketing background, it helped me help my clients. It might be worth noting that the reference is designed for U.S. use and cites resources only available here, but I still found the basic approach helpful for an overseas client.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made-to-Order for Social Marketers, December 16, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hands-On Social Marketing: A Step-by-Step Guide (Paperback)
This work book is chock-filled with practical help for preparing an effective social marketing plan. I enjoyed the easy-to-use forms. Many great ideas for applying social marketing too. It's so hard to find resources that relate to the unique nature and challenges of this kind of marketing. If you are a non-profit change oriented social marketer you need this book on your shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, more develop on social marketing research would be useful, May 13, 2010
This review is from: Hands-On Social Marketing: A Step-by-Step Guide (Paperback)
The book has a lot of what I was looking for in terms of the content. The author really did a wonderful job on putting into a simple perspective, key elements of social marketing, in a very easy-to-read way, and it really helps to put into practice the theory explained, with real and non-real examples. I would have liked that the author would have developed more the marketing research chapter, since it's really helpful to clarify this component of social marketing substantially more, specially for an organization which is getting into this field. Or perhaps, another specific book on social marketing research would be useful, unfortunately, I haven't found any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Useful Book, December 24, 2010
The Social Marketing Handbook is a very practical guide to social marketing. Each chapter is filled with valuable information and checklists and worksheets walk you through the process. When my copy arrived, I couldn't put it down. A must have book for any social marketer interested in incorporating social media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need to Learn How to Market for Change? This Is It., November 29, 2011
From discussions of each media form to a very pragmatic and useful discussion of how social change communications varies from traditional marketing, Nedra delivers a text that should be in every nonprofit communicators hands. If there was one book, this would be it.

There are many, many books out there about marketing and fewer books, but still quite a selection on nonprofit management. Of late there has been a growing but still sparse lexicon of books dedicated to social marketing, or how to affect change through a cause or other nonprofit. None of them are as comprehensive and hands on as Nedra's fantastic book.

In my work with nonprofits I see so many communicators who are change advocates, but they don't have the basic fundamentals of communications or marketing. That's why I really appreciate this book. It answers a need for savoir faire and capacity building in this particular skill set.

Please, don't ignore this book for a more popular title that has nothing to do with the sector. Every tool you need is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Social Marketing 101 - Great Introduction, March 3, 2009
This review is from: Hands-On Social Marketing: A Step-by-Step Guide (Paperback)
This book is a good first look at social marketing. I was trying to figure out how to create my own bacon explosion...which I think should replace "viral marketing" as the term. I invited the guys to present and we have a webinar scheduled. You can also access on demand after the event.

You can attend a webinar with the BBQ Addicts guys coming Tuesday, April 7th 2009 11:00am (PT) and learn how they did this Social Marketing phenomenon. Hosted by Marketbright ( Marketing Automation Software)

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hands-On Social Marketing: A Step-by-Step Guide
Hands-On Social Marketing: A Step-by-Step Guide by Nedra Kline Weinreich (Paperback - June 14, 1999)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.