Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for designers and artists
An excellent sourcebook for illustrations of hands. Hands doing anything and everything. Keep in mind when the title says 19th century, it literally means 1800-1899, so there will be no modern subjects in the illustrations. No phones, computers, remote controls, etc., but there are hundreds of hands performing 19th century tasks. Also included are prosthetics, a...
Published on June 22, 2000 by Andrew Dickrell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful
A lovely book filled with wonderful (and some odd) illustrations of hands. the illustrations are nice and big. I would have loved to have a hardcover copy of this!
Published 6 months ago by Gabriella


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for designers and artists, June 22, 2000
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
An excellent sourcebook for illustrations of hands. Hands doing anything and everything. Keep in mind when the title says 19th century, it literally means 1800-1899, so there will be no modern subjects in the illustrations. No phones, computers, remote controls, etc., but there are hundreds of hands performing 19th century tasks. Also included are prosthetics, a sign language alphabet, palmistry illustrations, medical illustrations and even hands performing shadow puppets. All in all you get a lot of drawings of hands. I found this book better than most clip art books in the fact that the style of the illustrations varies more. There are pen and ink using crosshatching technique and solid, bold line art, so the feel of the illustrations varies more and you are more likely to find what you are looking for. Great Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hands by Harter, June 23, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
This book must have taken a while to research as it has the most wonderful illustrations of hands. Being an artist I really appreciate this book. The illustrations are perfect for photo- copying and can be used for photo transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hands!, March 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
hands, hands and more hands in all sorts of positions. if you're looking for hyper realistic hand reference, then this is not what you're looking for. i think it's an awesome reference book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HANDS UP!, August 8, 2011
By 
J. Manning (santa barbara, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
This book is another wonderful Dover publication, full of tons of useful images of hands. I love having this book to incorporate the hands in my artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources, December 20, 2007
By 
Mary (San Antonio, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
I love these pictures for use in all types of collage work. The "hands" come in a variety of sizes, shapes and actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
I bought this book out of sheer curiosity. I was curious how an entire clip art book of hands was possible and, truthfully, I dreaded I made a mistake making this purchase. However, I was wonderfully surprised when this book arrived. Many of the hands featured are operating wonderfully bizarre 19th century machines and mechanisms and there are even some anatomical skeletal hands included. Also, noteworthy, was the sign language, both one-handed and two-handed alphabets. I am very impressed with this book and it is a definite keeper for my mixed media art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
A lovely book filled with wonderful (and some odd) illustrations of hands. the illustrations are nice and big. I would have loved to have a hardcover copy of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One for a Graphic Designers collection!, July 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Need reference for an "Ole Timey" sign saying "This Way!" this is the book you want. I mean it has a lot of other good reference for differently position hands and gestures. For the price, if you're a graphic designer this book will pay it self off after one job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hands: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources (Dover Pictorial Archive)
$12.95 $10.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.