Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has 180 pages and lots of border sheets. It's a fat book!
First it has ten lessons of praticing letters and sentences. Then it has twenty-seven lessons which take four days. Then it practice's cursive. How you write the letters. Then it has twenty-seven lessons in cursive. I like it because it has you practice letters firsts. Then they have you write parts of scriputure with it. You could easly make it last two years...
Published on November 30, 2005

versus
74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so good
We have used "A Reason For Handwriting" for three years and have been very pleased with it. We are currently using the Book K & Book C and love them! However, the Transition book was not what I expected. I thought that this book would provide a smooth transition from Manuscript handwriting to cursive handwriting. However the book has two sections: Manuscript (first...
Published on December 12, 2007 by Mom in Michigan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, December 12, 2007
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
We have used "A Reason For Handwriting" for three years and have been very pleased with it. We are currently using the Book K & Book C and love them! However, the Transition book was not what I expected. I thought that this book would provide a smooth transition from Manuscript handwriting to cursive handwriting. However the book has two sections: Manuscript (first half) and then cursive (second half). There is no transition section. The cursive section is exactly the same as the first part of Book C. We are having great success having moved directly from Book B to Book C. The Transition book is not only unhelpful, but not necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has 180 pages and lots of border sheets. It's a fat book!, November 30, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
First it has ten lessons of praticing letters and sentences. Then it has twenty-seven lessons which take four days. Then it practice's cursive. How you write the letters. Then it has twenty-seven lessons in cursive. I like it because it has you practice letters firsts. Then they have you write parts of scriputure with it. You could easly make it last two years. I'm learning quite a bit of cuarsive. The border sheets are have nice diseghnes and I realy like them. It's as fun as a handwriting book can get.

I'm 7 years old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only penmanship curriculum we've used, January 24, 2008
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
We have been homeschooling our children for 9 years. We've never used any other penmanship curriculum. The whole series is fantastic. My 4 school aged children use the K book for 4 year old preschool, started the A book in Kindergarten, B is 1st grade, transition for 2nd grade because they aren't quite ready for cursive, and skip the C book but start D in 3rd grade. They finish the series by 5th grade. We do have one child that we discovered had a vision problem that really affected his handwriting and ability to color, so until that was fixed, no penmanship curriculum would have helped him.

This is also a great ministry tool for children. At the end of the week, they have something tangible to give to shut ins, elderly, discouraged people, or to share with grandparents who live far away.

I recommend the Transition book for kids who might not be ready for cursive until later in the year. If you use Transition, you don't need the C book...I think they recommend you choose one book or the other, but not both.

My only complaint is that for Day 4 exercises, it's hard to find appropriate sized lined paper for the kids to practice for their Bible verse/Day 5 assignment. I wish the publisher provided lined paper for extra practice when necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous way to learn handwriting!, July 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
This was my first time purchasing a Reason For Handwriting book, and I really love it! My daughter, who is in grade 3, really wanted to learn cursive, but I felt her printing needed a little work first. The first half of this book practices printing and the second half cursive, so it's perfect. She was always frustrated or bored with printing practice in the past (so was I). This book engages her interest and is also highly motivating. Each week has four lessons where she practices a few letters and words, building up to the last day where she gets to copy out an entire Scripture onto a fancy border sheet from the back. She also enjoys coloring the pictures on the sheet and proudly displaying her work. Another key aspect of the Reason For Handwriting series is how they use a little house to show children where the letters should go (a, c and e "sit on the main floor"; b, d and f "go upstairs"; and "g, j and p" go downstairs). I've tried and tried to teach all my children proper letter formation, but the minute they saw this visual cue, they all got it. As for my grade 3 daughter, her printing has drastically improved in only a few lessons, and she is learning Scripture as well! I will continue with this entire series for all of my homeschooled children. You can see inside this book and read a detailed product description on the christianbook website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You could get by with just the Transition book., June 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
I've used this with my 3 daughters. We don't make penmanship a top priority in their education, but I want them to have a good foundation. I use this book because we like it and it's the only one we've needed. After they finished the manuscript section, I set it aside and let them write any Bible verses they wanted in neat printing (maybe once every few weeks). When they were ready for cursive, I dug their books out again. After they finished the cursive lessons, I just saved the sample pages for reference, and again, let them write the verses of their choice. They've had fun with it, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 years at least, September 3, 2008
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
We love A Reason for Handwriting's Method, and this text is even better because it is almost twice as big for the price. You get close to a whole year of manuscript and a whole year of cursive for the same price you pay for one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It worked for us., June 6, 2012
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
My son was not the best at printing. The first section of the book focuses on printing before it gets into cursive. This worked well for us. By the end of the book he was writing cursive quite well. I like that it takes the cursive slow and brings them into longer text by the end. Like I said, it worked for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite handwriting program!, September 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
A Reason For Handwriting has been of my favorite handwriting programs for homeschool! It is fun and easy to use. A lesson a day helps my son keep up on his handwriting work each day. You don't need the teacher's guides if you don't want to purchase them. The transition book has been going well for us as my third grade son is working his way into cursive handwriting. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool for cursive writing., August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
This is my second go round with this book. It works well with both girls and boys transitioning into cursive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful books that teach your child the Bible as they ..., August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) (Paperback)
Wonderful books that teach your child the Bible as they learn to write legibly. Used these for all 5 of our children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting)
Handwriting Transition Student Worktext (Reason for Handwriting) by Carol Ann Retzer (Paperback - June 2001)
Used & New from: $10.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.