Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of good political quotes
This free book for amazon kindle owners has 2,138 quotations from 255 authors arranged alphabetically. The first is abashed, then abbots, then abdication. Shakespeare's Othello is used for absence - "Thou lost to sight, to memory dear Thou ever wilt remain" - a good quote to send to significant others when the two are parted. Other Shakespeare quotes are: Macbeth- "Wise...
Published on April 7, 2011 by Israel Drazin

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of quotations
This book was written in 1901. The printed version has 268 pages and a wordcount of 68,877. The quotations are listed in alphabetical order. The book is written in oldfashioned language.

This book is not available in Europe via Amazon at the moment I write this, but this book can be found for free on several places on the web, so you can download it even if you...
Published on February 10, 2012 by Mei


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of good political quotes, April 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Handy Dictionary of Poetical Quotations (Paperback)
This free book for amazon kindle owners has 2,138 quotations from 255 authors arranged alphabetically. The first is abashed, then abbots, then abdication. Shakespeare's Othello is used for absence - "Thou lost to sight, to memory dear Thou ever wilt remain" - a good quote to send to significant others when the two are parted. Other Shakespeare quotes are: Macbeth- "Wise men ne're sit and wail their loss, But cheerily seek how to redress their harms." Troilus and Cressida - "The world's a theatre, the earth a stage which God and Nature do with actors fill." From other sources: "Pleasure and action make the hours seem short" and "All things are ready if your minds be so." These examples show that the quotes can be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of quotations, February 10, 2012
This book was written in 1901. The printed version has 268 pages and a wordcount of 68,877. The quotations are listed in alphabetical order. The book is written in oldfashioned language.

This book is not available in Europe via Amazon at the moment I write this, but this book can be found for free on several places on the web, so you can download it even if you are in Europe.

The first two quotations of the book will give you a good idea of what this book is like:

=Abashed.=

Abash'd the devil stood,
And felt how awful goodness is, and saw
Virtue in her shape how lovely.
1
MILTON: _Par. Lost,_ Bk. iv., Line 846.

=Abbots.=

To happy convents bosom'd deep in vines,
Where slumber abbots purple as their wines.
2
POPE: _Dunciad,_ Bk. iv., Line 301.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really needs better navigation, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being able to see a topic index would be helpful rather than having to scroll through in the hope of finding something useful. If there is an index I was unable to locate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outline not quite "handy", April 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not quite what I expected as far as the layout of the text ... a little confusing in terms of finding what you may be looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you know, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you know exactly what you are wanting this is a good reference. I sometimes happened upon just the right thing but I need it in another format with indexes I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Way too cumbersome to find anything of value in this free Kindle book. I feel bad giving it 2 stars when I got it for free, so I'm giving it 3 stars instead. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Free, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What you pay for is what you get, so I guess since it's free maybe it's still worth just checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only reason I got this was because it was free. It wasn't what I expected, but still a decent compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth adding to your collection, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like collections of quotes & prose, this is a good one to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very limited, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All older quotes, of course, and not exactly comprehensive. But what the heck, it was free. Worth a look over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Handy Dictionary of Poetical Quotations
Handy Dictionary of Poetical Quotations by Various (Paperback - November 3, 2006)
$22.95 $16.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.