Amazon.com: Customer Reviews:
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

  • Customer Reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 12, 2010
Please see my review for Russell Athletic pro cotton t shirt. My wife bought me two Hanes Beefy-T shirts in colors that I couldn't get in the Russell Athletic shirts. When I received and washed the Hanes shirts, I noticed several differences which I'll identify as negatives. One of the shirts had two little holes above the pocket which became frayed and noticable after the wash; something you see after a T-shirt is several months old. I also noticed that the sleeves were much shorter then the Russell Athletic shirts; this is a negative for me. The last thing I noticed was the material in the Hanes shirts were not of the same quality or thickness as the Russell Athletic. Overall, I rate the Hanes shirts as average and for the price, your better off with the Russell Athletic Pro T shirts. I've worn the Russell shirts for almost a year and the color has not faded and the shirt has kept it's shape with no little frayed holes that mark the end of the shirt's life.
33 comments|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
June 29, 2012: Update. I've just lowered my rating from 5 to 4 stars because, although they kept their sizing and shape after washings, the bottom hem turns up, and even ironing won't keep it in place. I also really dislike the sewn in label although it is on the bottom and not on the neck. The review now stands for all colors, not just forest green. Had the same trouble with navy, gray, burgundy... Still comfortable, and great for hiking.

***

May 15: I just ordered 6 more. I've laundered four, and two twice. They're almost wrinkle free, but most important, they don't shrink. XL is still XL. I wish I wasn't, but that's another story.

April 30: The don't shrink! For quality and sizing and color, worth twice as much.

April 29: Just got these Hanes Beefy-Ts (I suppose "Beefy" is better than "Portly"), and just got back from a 9 mile hike in 85 degree weather. This is truly a comfortable T, has my much-needed and used pocket, and the neck didn't bind. It's certainly soft enough and felt good through the hike. Seemed to stretch with me when I was climbing, and didn't bind at all.

I do have one concern - and will report on it in a couple of days: Is this going to shrink? It's a perfect fit NOW, but it's 100% cotton - albeit pre-shrunk - and that's going to mean it'll be tight after the first wash. I honestly can't read the instructions even with a magnifying glass, but I think it says, "For best results, let your wife wash this T. She'll know what to do."

Since my experience has been that color does make a difference in softness, this review is for the Forest Green. I have a couple of gray on the way.

EW
44 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2012
I have at home quite a few large t-shirts bought over the years from different manufacturers including Beefy-T(Hanes). They're all great t-shirts. I just bought 5 of these large t-shirts from this vendor but I can tell you these are not large. They seem to be a half a size smaller, like in-between medium & large. So all 5 shirts do not fit me. Also, the weight of the fabric is not heavy by any means. These are light weight fabric. My advice is, if you must buy them, buy one size larger than you normally get, but as for me, if Hanes is gonna try & increase their profit margin by giving me a substandard product, they aren't going to ever get my business again. And I have to add that my employer buys us Beefy-T's every year, and they aren't cheezie like these are, so I don't know what's going on except to say I'm really unhappy with my purchase. If you want to know which t-shirt I ended up with that is a fantastically good buy, check out my other reviews.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
I have worn Hanes Beefy T shirts for a lot of years. The quality has declined horribly. This is the most pitiful excuse of a shirt I have seen in a long time! I have always bought Hanes Beefy T shirts in size M and they have always fit perfectly. I was barely able to get this shirt on. It is so thin and stretchy it wouldn't even make a good polishing cloth. If you want one of these shirts, order the next size larger, at least, maybe two sizes larger. I think I will buy some dye and recyle all my old Beefy Ts, even the ones that have holes! I am very, very disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hanes Adult Beefy Tee shirts with a pocket come from heaven! These shirts really wear well on me--at least for now while I try to lose some weight and go back to the other shirts I was wearing! They are comfortable in warm weather; and the double needle sleeves and hem prove they are made to last. I also like the shoulder to shoulder fit--it makes the shirt look like one of the better made T-shirts out there. What's more, the 100% cotton feel is great.

Hanes makes these shirts in all types of sizes--all the way from small to XXX-Large! In a world where big and tall people have fewer choices, unfortunately, Hanes provides them with a very handsome T shirt. That's excellent!

The pricing and availability table is very easy to read; and of course women can wear these fine tee shirts just as well as the men can. Great!

Two cautionary notes exist, however. First, as of the time I am writing this, you do need to check the "pricing and availability chart." It's not hard--just click on the link above. Unfortunately, not all colors are available in all the sizes as I write this. I hope stock increases soon! Second, although these shirts are machine washable, I would wash these shirts with garments that have similar colors. That way if any color dye accidentally leaks from the shirt it won't bleed onto your white garments.

Overall, these T shirts with a pocket are very reasonably priced for the high amount of quality control that goes into each shirt and the very broad range of shirt sizes. I highly recommend them for men and women during warm weather; they will be comfortable to lounge in or sleep in, too.

Wear them in good health! SMILE
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
Good sturdy fabric--love the color. Bought more. Since it's overcast here more than half the days -- often a week without seeing our sun at all, it's nice to wear something that is so, so sunshine yellow. Even if we got to see our central star more often, I'd still like these. Do they make a sleeveless version or an "A" version of this?

These shirts are built tough. When walking or running, often take it off, fold it over double or quadruple and do isometrics with it to build the arms -- The fabric holds up great -- does not stretch, does not tear. These are tougher than many sweatshirts I own. Going to take two of these shirts, pair up with a buddy and give them some additional "abuse" to see how they hold up doing some wrestling/light "street-clothes" MMA in them.. Stay tuned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
Generally wear under other clothing but fit is great. Hanes makes the best T-shirts--good heavy material cotton, tight lay flat necks, proper half length sleeves and good sized pocket! Overall length is usually adequate to cover my body to my hips. An aside; Hanes also makes perfect long sleeve T's (w/pocket) and sleeve length is ALSO perfect for size! 👌
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
I like a traditional weight and fit T with a pocket. Just personal preference, but one I feel strongly about.

I had been buying my pocket T's from a national work-clothes/uniform supplier, but each repeat purchase brought a slightly different fit and feel, When the last purchase from them came in too tight in the chest but with tails hanging down to my knees I chucked thier catalog in the trash and went looking for a reliable replacement.

Many tries and many brands later I have settled on Hanes Beefy T as my current favorite, and here is why:

I fall near the top of large and just below extra large on the size chart. I like a trim fit, not the skin tight muscle look, but not the sloppy "grunge" look either. Just a decent trim fit that I can wear by itself or under a chamois shirt or sweat shirt and look neat and presentable while working or when in town to run work-related errands. The Hanes "men's large" gives me that fit. In my experience in most brands of T's "men's large" always has fit like that for me. For some guys you might prefer to have a looser fit, and you would pick a larger size, but whatever is your usual size choice, this Hanes T will run in a similar vein.

I like a neat look so I wear my shirts tucked in. I don't need or want a shirt tail down to my knees. In fact the extra long shirt tails are a minus in my mind. These "Beefy T" shirts have normal length tails which can be worn tucked in our left out, but at least when left out they'll hang somewhere below your waist, not somewhere down around your thighs.

The cotton material is of good weight. Most of the T's seem to be competeing for low price and a big part of that is to use the cheapest, thinnest cotton they can buy. Stuff you can see right through. In particular another national brand that has fruit on the lable makes a decent pocket T, but it is so lightweight I would reserve them only for wear on the hottest dog-days of summer. (If you are looking specificaly for a hot weather pocket T give the fruit guys a go!)

After several washes the Hanes shirt has stood up well. It hasn't shrunk or faded or fallen apart.

The Hanes Beefy T is a proper "old school" T shirt with a cotton weight suitable for year-round wear, of good quality construction, stands up in the wash without shrinking, fits true to size, is and is priced well for the product you get. If that sounds like what you are looking for, pick your color and size and give one a try.

Peter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
Pre shrinking minimizes shrinking so very little was expected. Short sleeves are shorter than expected but neck hole is high and tighter than others. Pocket over L chest area and overall length is minimal
Material appears thicker (pre shrunk) w/more opacity than others. Enjoy
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
Well made, neck is high & tight, tagless, but w/pocket in front--easy to figure out. Made by Hanes so quality is there along w/good materials used. Thicker cotton than most, so definitely warmer--could be utilized as sole shirt! ☑️
Update! Some confusion re above review...above was for short sleeve, white T-shirts but instead wanted review for Hanes long sleeve pocket T in Ash color. Got th' larger size (XL) since th' large was too form fitting! Wanted more room in shirt since I wear th' short sleeve under in Winter! Neck is larger so neck of undershirt shows inside! Both made by Hanes, so similar quality exists!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.