Automotive Holiday Deals GG Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Martha Stewart American Made Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now HTL

  • Customer Reviews

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
on September 12, 2010
Please see my review for Russell Athletic pro cotton t shirt. My wife bought me two Hanes Beefy-T shirts in colors that I couldn't get in the Russell Athletic shirts. When I received and washed the Hanes shirts, I noticed several differences which I'll identify as negatives. One of the shirts had two little holes above the pocket which became frayed and noticable after the wash; something you see after a T-shirt is several months old. I also noticed that the sleeves were much shorter then the Russell Athletic shirts; this is a negative for me. The last thing I noticed was the material in the Hanes shirts were not of the same quality or thickness as the Russell Athletic. Overall, I rate the Hanes shirts as average and for the price, your better off with the Russell Athletic Pro T shirts. I've worn the Russell shirts for almost a year and the color has not faded and the shirt has kept it's shape with no little frayed holes that mark the end of the shirt's life.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
June 29, 2012: Update. I've just lowered my rating from 5 to 4 stars because, although they kept their sizing and shape after washings, the bottom hem turns up, and even ironing won't keep it in place. I also really dislike the sewn in label although it is on the bottom and not on the neck. The review now stands for all colors, not just forest green. Had the same trouble with navy, gray, burgundy... Still comfortable, and great for hiking.


May 15: I just ordered 6 more. I've laundered four, and two twice. They're almost wrinkle free, but most important, they don't shrink. XL is still XL. I wish I wasn't, but that's another story.

April 30: The don't shrink! For quality and sizing and color, worth twice as much.

April 29: Just got these Hanes Beefy-Ts (I suppose "Beefy" is better than "Portly"), and just got back from a 9 mile hike in 85 degree weather. This is truly a comfortable T, has my much-needed and used pocket, and the neck didn't bind. It's certainly soft enough and felt good through the hike. Seemed to stretch with me when I was climbing, and didn't bind at all.

I do have one concern - and will report on it in a couple of days: Is this going to shrink? It's a perfect fit NOW, but it's 100% cotton - albeit pre-shrunk - and that's going to mean it'll be tight after the first wash. I honestly can't read the instructions even with a magnifying glass, but I think it says, "For best results, let your wife wash this T. She'll know what to do."

Since my experience has been that color does make a difference in softness, this review is for the Forest Green. I have a couple of gray on the way.

44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Hanes Adult Beefy Tee shirts with a pocket come from heaven! These shirts really wear well on me--at least for now while I try to lose some weight and go back to the other shirts I was wearing! They are comfortable in warm weather; and the double needle sleeves and hem prove they are made to last. I also like the shoulder to shoulder fit--it makes the shirt look like one of the better made T-shirts out there. What's more, the 100% cotton feel is great.

Hanes makes these shirts in all types of sizes--all the way from small to XXX-Large! In a world where big and tall people have fewer choices, unfortunately, Hanes provides them with a very handsome T shirt. That's excellent!

The pricing and availability table is very easy to read; and of course women can wear these fine tee shirts just as well as the men can. Great!

Two cautionary notes exist, however. First, as of the time I am writing this, you do need to check the "pricing and availability chart." It's not hard--just click on the link above. Unfortunately, not all colors are available in all the sizes as I write this. I hope stock increases soon! Second, although these shirts are machine washable, I would wash these shirts with garments that have similar colors. That way if any color dye accidentally leaks from the shirt it won't bleed onto your white garments.

Overall, these T shirts with a pocket are very reasonably priced for the high amount of quality control that goes into each shirt and the very broad range of shirt sizes. I highly recommend them for men and women during warm weather; they will be comfortable to lounge in or sleep in, too.

Wear them in good health! SMILE
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on October 3, 2012
I have at home quite a few large t-shirts bought over the years from different manufacturers including Beefy-T(Hanes). They're all great t-shirts. I just bought 5 of these large t-shirts from this vendor but I can tell you these are not large. They seem to be a half a size smaller, like in-between medium & large. So all 5 shirts do not fit me. Also, the weight of the fabric is not heavy by any means. These are light weight fabric. My advice is, if you must buy them, buy one size larger than you normally get, but as for me, if Hanes is gonna try & increase their profit margin by giving me a substandard product, they aren't going to ever get my business again. And I have to add that my employer buys us Beefy-T's every year, and they aren't cheezie like these are, so I don't know what's going on except to say I'm really unhappy with my purchase. If you want to know which t-shirt I ended up with that is a fantastically good buy, check out my other reviews.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 17, 2013
i like the beefy tees, they feel thicker then other tees. i smoke so the pocket is handy in the winter i put thermals under,in summer i wear as is. they hold up great to washing and minumal shrinkage
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 19, 2013
The pocket is good. The fabric is good weight. I have no problems with this shirt. It washes just fine. It is very comfortable and a good weight. It is now my favorite T-Shirt.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 17, 2013
I love my new T-shirt! It's a great fit and I love the color as well. The next that I purchase a T-shirt, it will be from this company.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 4, 2013
I have worn Hanes Beefy T shirts for a lot of years. The quality has declined horribly. This is the most pitiful excuse of a shirt I have seen in a long time! I have always bought Hanes Beefy T shirts in size M and they have always fit perfectly. I was barely able to get this shirt on. It is so thin and stretchy it wouldn't even make a good polishing cloth. If you want one of these shirts, order the next size larger, at least, maybe two sizes larger. I think I will buy some dye and recyle all my old Beefy Ts, even the ones that have holes! I am very, very disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on September 29, 2010
Be advised that you can probably get the beefy tees for less directly from Hanes, as I did.
Also (a big bummer) over the last few years, I have received a tee shirt that is not
as thick a material as it used to be. I have worn beefy tees ever since I had a
sign company that also did silk screening on just about anything, and we used to order only the beefy tees as they were a better T shirt than any other, but this was
thirty years ago, and the product has definitely changed no matter what Hanes or anybody else says. I don't have a problem with the sizing as others do, and at $9.00 each with pocket directly from Hanes, it is still a good deal.
Contacted Hanes and gave them all the sorted details they ask for in hopes you
will not E-mail them back (Color, where they were made, price, etc. etc.).
All a bunch of bunk when they have my order number.
This is nothing more than Corporate greed, just like Levi, Maytag and so many others.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 18, 2010
T-shirts are my preferred attire during warm weather and when I am working at home. For several years I have worn shirts with symbols of sports teams or my favorite organizations. Unfortunately, wearing my t-shirts meant I need to carry more objects in my trouser pockets.

The "Hanes Short Sleeve Beefy Pocket T-Shirt" is an excellent choice for me. The pocket holds my pen, my nitroglycerin tablets, and my cell phone. Since the pocket is "double stitched" it is sturdy as well as convenient.

I like the cotton material because it is cooler and more comfortable than polyester.
Hanes provides the product in multiple sizes and 28 color choices. I chose forest green, which my wife likes on me. Some other colors are attractive: cardinal, deep royal, deep forest, deep red, and purple. They also offer orange which may be good for English to wear on St. Patrick's day (My debate partner in college loved orange and wore his orange trousers proudly on St. Patrick's day at a predominantly Irish school. By noon his trousers were flying from the flag pole, so one needs to be careful)

I highly recommend these t-shirts. I wear mine regularly and intend to order more (while avoiding orange as my wife is Irish).
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.