Customer Reviews


725 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (197)
2 star:
 (119)
1 star:
 (136)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Movie Review! - [...] - @tss5078
Moviegoers want sequels, that's why they are made. As fans, we want to see more and learn more about the characters we know and love, but no matter how good that sequel is, not all of the fans are going to like it. If the movie is too much like the first one, the fans say it's the same movie, but if it's too different, they say it doesn't fit the story. The only place the...
Published 15 months ago by Todd Smith

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Movie Hangover 2 Was Meant To Be (3.5/5 Stars)
Synopsis: Alan (Zach Galifinakis) decides to purchase a giraffe, but his recklessness inadvertently causes his father's heart attack and subsequent death. Fed up with his immaturity and drug abuse, his family decides that he needs to go to intervention. Alan agrees, but only as long as Phil (Bradley Cooper), Stu (Ed Helms) and Doug (Justin Bartha) take him to...
Published 14 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Movie Hangover 2 Was Meant To Be (3.5/5 Stars), June 20, 2013
By 
Mike (Here and There) - See all my reviews
Synopsis: Alan (Zach Galifinakis) decides to purchase a giraffe, but his recklessness inadvertently causes his father's heart attack and subsequent death. Fed up with his immaturity and drug abuse, his family decides that he needs to go to intervention. Alan agrees, but only as long as Phil (Bradley Cooper), Stu (Ed Helms) and Doug (Justin Bartha) take him to intervention in Phoenix, Arizona. As the men are on their travels, they get sideswiped by Black Doug (Mike Epps) and crime boss Marshall (John Goodman). Marshall abducts Doug for ransom in an effort to get back millions of dollars which were stolen from Marshall by Leslie Chow (Ken Jeong), who has broken out of Thai prison since the end of Hangover 2. The men are tasked with finding Chow and getting the money back, which sends them on a wild goose chase that sees them chasing Chow across the American Southwest and Mexico. As the men chase Chow and attempt to get the money, they reconnect with some of the people they met previously, such as Jade (Heather Graham) and her growing son (who was an infant in the first Hangover movie.) Will the men find Chow? If so, will they maintain an allegiance to Marshall or help Chow along the way? Will Doug get killed before the ransom is delivered? What crazy antics will Chow get them into this time? And will Alan ever grow up?!

This was the movie that Hangover 2 was meant to be: A comedic action film that threw twists and turns along the way. The reason that Hangover 2 was a flop was largely due to the fact that they tried to apply the action formula that was perfected in this movie to the exact same story (more or less) that was told during the first film. Though the movie was critically panned, I laughed harder that this than I did Hangover 2 and found some moments to be as funny as the first. Perhaps the reputation of the second movie made movie critics too cowardly to give this one better praises, but the reputation this one has is wholly unwarranted. No it's not a classic, but it's certainly not a dud, either. In the end, you have a very serviceable sequel that would be a slightly above-average film to watch even if you hadn't seen the other two.

I recommend this for fans of the other Hangover films, action movies, and comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a memory, June 2, 2013
This review is from: The Hangover Part III (Blu-ray+DVD+UltraViolet Combo Pack) (Blu-ray)
For the viewer who, like me, reveled and rolled with laughter at the characters, surprises, spring-loaded moments of subtlety, uproars, and mad funnies of the original The Hangover and its sequel, The Hangover Part II (+ UltraViolet Digital Copy), this Part III is much less than all that. But it still is worthwhile. The first two movies were so over-the-top, that the allusions and invocations of great memories already are worth the price of admission to The Hangover Part III.

Alas, the plot and characters here lack the width and contrasts, and the element of surprise is pretty much gone. But compared to all the schlocky stuff out there, this is a movie I'm glad to have spent a couple hours of my life seeing. Once is enough, though. And if you're not already a devotee from those first two, I would not start with this one.

Remember how you felt after watching The Godfather Part III? Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deja vu..., September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I felt like I have seen this movie before. Oh wait! Those were only the trailers... All the funny scenes were in the trailers, I guess you put your best foot forward. 1 and 2 were way better, so don't be disappointed when you watch this one. I recommend it, especially if you've seen the first two. Rent it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
but not good. Its was slow pace. some laughs on way. First two were more crazy. Make sure you watch through the credits. The best part of movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where are the laughs?, December 9, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Hangover Part III (Blu-ray+DVD+UltraViolet Combo Pack) (Blu-ray)
It may be hard to imagine, I know, but "The Hangover Part III" is an even worse movie than "The Hangover Part II." I won't bore you with the details of the "plot;" just know that the movie begins with a giraffe decapitation, then goes downhill from there.

Bradley Cooper and Ed Helms play virtual straight men to Zach Califianakis and Ken Jeong, the latter as the notorious Mr. Chow, whose theft of $20 million worth of gold from mob boss John Goodman winds up getting all the boys in trouble. The least member of the Wolf Pack, Justin Bartha, lucks out yet again by being safely escorted off-screen for most of the duration. Clearly, he has a more influential agent than the other actors.

The movie might have been better - and certainly more honest - if it had just been titled "The Chow Show," since he pretty much takes over every scene he's in - and not always to the movie's or the audience's benefit.

If Hollywood had any mercy at all on its paying customers, it would immediately announce that there are currently no plans for a "Hangover Part IV," nor will there ever be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Runs out of jokes and steam, November 5, 2013
Hangover 3 continues the story when one of the wolfpack is kidnapped by an angry gangster and they must track down Mr. Chow, who has escaped from prison in Thailand and is on the run with gold he stole from the gangster.

I loved the original Hangover movie. At the time, I thought it was one of the funniest, most original comedy I had seen in a long time. Hangover 2, basically repeated the story in a different setting and lost some of the magic that the original had. And now Hangover 3, doesn't even come close to matching the effort of the 2nd installment. The movie seems less of a comedy with its crude humor and laughs like in the first two movies and more of a dark humor action film. if I hadn't seen the first two movies, I may have not been so disappointed because as a dark action movie it was average enough to watch but I kept expecting the jokes to happen that never did.

It seems like the writers ran out of original jokes that made us laugh in the first movie and went into a different direction with the same basic plot.

For all the things that the first movie did that worked, this movie lacks all of that. Definitely a disappointment and maybe a good thing that they are ending this series before it totally ruins my memories of the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I WILL NEVER CHANGE, June 1, 2013
I was hoping "Hangover 3" would be a remake of 1 and 2 when Alan (Zach Galifianakis) avers "I will never change." For those who complained that "Hangover 2" was too much like the original...be careful what you ask for.

This film builds upon the events from the first film for plot and humor. Our threesome must capture Leslie Chow (Ken Jeong) or else Doug (Justin Bartha) will be killed by crime boss Marshall (John Goodman). Goodman revives his famous potty line from the "Branded" scene of "The Big Lebowski" which might go unnoticed among the 100 or so F-bombs dropped in the film.

The plot was boring compared to the other two features. This film relies on the delivery of over the top jokes from Zach Galifianakis which incorporates bizarre dark humor. Without this, the film is a bust. Good use of classic rock lyrics incorporated into the film.

No need to rush out and see this on the big screen.

Parental Guide: Excessive F-bombs. No sex. Brief nudity(?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sucks. More stupidity. I lost brain cells. At least part 1 and 2 were wildly funny, if also stupid. This one has no real laugh super hard moments like the first two movies. Just a few chuckles and at the halfway point, you will ask yourself: "Is it over yet?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really!!! Don’t these guys have enough money!?, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can’t believe someone finically backed this movie. Even more outrageous is when the movie was all edited and all the finishing touches were complete, someone had to have said,’ok, we’re done. Off to the theaters!” this guy needs to be removed from society. Etrememly predictable and after watching it, i can’t really figure out if anything actually happened or if these guys just drove around and Glaifikonikis made stupid comments, Vegas….happy ending…the end. Seriously? Refund Please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst film of the year?, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had fun watching the first two movies, but this one is not funny at all.
I also found disgusting the several killing of animals during the film.
Avoid watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hangover Part III (Blu-ray+DVD+UltraViolet Combo Pack)
The Hangover Part III (Blu-ray+DVD+UltraViol
et
by Todd Phillips (Blu-ray - 2013)
$35.99 $14.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.