Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fistful Of Raquel
Since I was a teenager growing up in the late sixties, I always thought that Raquel Welch was greater than the sum of her parts (no pun intended) and always gave excellent performances which were few and far between when the public craved the cheesecake rather than the actress. She proved this with 'FATHOM', one of the best female secret agent movies ever made and her...
Published on July 26, 2010 by William Amazzini

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Above average 70s western drama
I caught this on the tube, having not seen it in over 30 years. I was expecting something very campy, in keeping with Raquel Welch's overall film oeuvre and was rather pleasantly surprised. Despite flaws, this is an above average western with the unusual addition of a strong female protagonist.
Hannie Caulder is raped and left for dead by a gang of three outlaws...
Published on June 19, 2004 by Charismatic Creature


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fistful Of Raquel, July 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hannie Caulder (DVD)
Since I was a teenager growing up in the late sixties, I always thought that Raquel Welch was greater than the sum of her parts (no pun intended) and always gave excellent performances which were few and far between when the public craved the cheesecake rather than the actress. She proved this with 'FATHOM', one of the best female secret agent movies ever made and her trio of westerns ,'BANDOLERO' in which she played a grieving widow with teeth, '100 RIFLES' playing Burt Reynolds girlfriend of the Revolution and could handle a gun and Jim Brown as well as her bandit team, and 'HANNIE CAULDER' the best role of her career and one of the most underrated films in the Western genre. Written and Directed by Burt Kennedy , this was a British, Spanish,co-production which is in the company of Edward Dmytryk's 'SHALAKO' with Sean Connery and Don Medford's 'THE HUNTING PARTY' with Oliver Reed and Gene Hackman and could almost pass as a Spaghetti Western but not quite. Not only does it give Raquel a pivotol role as the heroine obsessed with revenge but it has a stunning cast. Robert Culp shines as Thomas Price , a bounty hunter who takes Raquel under his wing and teaches her the way of the gun, Sir Christopher Lee licking his acting chops in the great role of Bailey, a lethal gunsmith who creates the perfect weapon for Raquel's vengeance and the targets of her revenge, three of the greatest character actors : Ernest Borgnine, Strother Martin, and at his leering best, Jack Elam. Add Stephen Boyd in a special cameo and you have an incredible mix. A rousing music score by Ken Thorne and beautifully photographed by Edward Scaife , 'HANNIE CAULDER' is a masterpiece and along with 'FATHOM', demonstrates the underrated acting ability of Raquel Welch who deservedly had the mantle as the most beautiful woman ever to grace the screen. Kudos to Olive Films for finally releasing this film for fans and future generations in need of great entertainment, the quality is outstanding. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, May 16, 2010
This review is from: Hannie Caulder (DVD)
Obviously this "review" is not for the DVD - it hasn't been released yet. The 5 stars are a kind of "what took you so long" for an official Region 1 release! I bought an import version (Korean I think) of this movie several years ago because I got tired of waiting, but I have no idea yet how it compares to this upcoming release.

This movie is a strange bird. I find it a very enjoyable "revenge" Western. But there IS something jarring about the slapstick way the gang of rapists (Elam, Martin and Borgnine) are portrayed. There is also something stupid about the way the "mysterious stranger" is introduced into the plot towards the end of the movie - I have often wondered if some part of the story line was just left out through bad editing, or if the director was just manifesting contempt for the audience. Maybe this release, if it includes commentary, will clear up the matter.

Anyhow, neither of these two criticisms ultimately detract from my overall enjoyment of Hannie Caulder. And, of course, Raquel Welch is a welcome sight in any movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hannie Caulder, July 27, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hannie Caulder (DVD)
I'm so glad that this movie is finally to be released on DVD. I have an "imported" copy. Although I have difficulty with the, almost comedic,antics of the villains,as well as the mysterious stranger, this movie is a gem. The late Robert Culp was always one of my favorite actors. As Thomas Luther Price, his courage, integrity and prowess with a gun are unmatched...as is his compassion. Being a shooter and collector of "Old West" firearms, I found that as a teacher, Robert Culp was unbeatable. He showed Hannie the proper form, and approach to shooting a six gun, with a mixture of toughness, understanding, and patience. His advice, at all levels, was both wise and true. Such was Thomas Luther Price's "presence", that something about the movie seemed to die with his absence. For those who value courage and integrity, coupled with compassion,and the "romance" of a love left unspoken, I highly recommed this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge western with Raquel, June 4, 2004
By 
T O'Brien (Chicago, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hannie Caulder [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Hannie Caulder is a surprisingly good western with a very good cast. After a failed bank robbery, three bumbling brothers come upon a lone house in the desert. They kill the man of the house and rape his wife, Hannie. The trio burns the house and leaves her for dead. However, Hannie survives hoping to one day get her revenge on the three gunmen. She runs into a bounty hunter who begins to teach her how to handle and fire a gun with some sort of accuracy so she will be able to exact her revenge on the brothers. In a way, this is the female version of Nevada Smith with Hannie chasing after three gunmen just like Steve McQueen's character, Max, did in Nevada Smith. The gunfights are well choreographed with blood squibs, ala The Wild Bunch. Hannie Caulder is a very good revenge western that is well worth a watch.
Raquel Welch stars as frontier wife turned gunfighter, Hannie Caulder, who teams up with a bounty hunter so she can kill the men who raped her and killed her husband. She does a lot with so little, and it doesn't help that she never looked better than she did in this movie. Much of the first half hour has her in a poncho and nothing else. Robert Culp is also excellent as infamous bounty hunter, Thomas Luther Price, who teaches Hannie how to handle a gun. The bumbling Clemens brothers, Emmett, Frank, and Rufus, are played by Ernest Borgnine, Jack Elam, and Strother Martin. For such despicable people, this movie gives them lots of comedic moments. Christopher Lee stars in a small part as a gunmaker, Bailey, who makes a specialized gun for Hannie. The movie also stars Stephen Boyd and Aldo Sambrell in uncredited roles. It is a shame there is no DVD release for Hannie Caulder since it is such a beautifully shot movie. For a better than average revenge western with the gorgeous Raquel Welch, check out Hannie Caulder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New age woman in an old fashioned western, October 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannie Caulder [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I think this may be one of my favorites of westerns because of the angle it takes on revenge. Ironically enough, it is the hardened bounty hunter who tries to persuade Hannie Caulder to walk away from the situation. A reversal of roles, very interesting for a movie made back in the late sixties, several years before the Women's Movement. Welch's acting is believable and Robert Culp is wonderful as Thomas Luther Price. Christopher Lee is great as the gunsmith who watches the relationship between Caulder and Price grow and tries to persuade Caulder to "throw her gun in the water bucket and ride out with Thomas and don't look back". The movie does not end on an entirely positive note either - as Caulder kills the last of the Clements brothers, her revenge is complete, but Price's words come back to her "win or lose, you lose Hannie Caulder". I believe that this movie, for all it's violence does have an undercurrent of anti-gun, anti-violence solutions to such problems. And I especially liked the fact that Hannie Caulder was portrayed as a strong woman. She knew what she wanted, and she had the strength to see it through, no matter what the consequences were. An interesting western to watch and think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shoot Again Hannie Caulder..., February 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hannie Caulder (DVD)
Director Burt Kennedy reveals "peckinpah style" influence in this violent western, "Hannie Caulder", 1971. Raquel Welch is featured in her air of stunning beauty, one of her better acting roles...supported with an all-star cast, Robert Culp, Ernest Borgnine, Jack Elam, Strother Martin, and Christopher Lee. This film is a British production and captures the feel of a euro or spaghetti...the music, the scenery, the violence, more graphic than your typical Italian western, very much like the bloodbath of 1969's "Wild Bunch", my personal favorite. The dvd transfer & audio are superb here, the audio may be too good, you'll hear the gunshots loud and clear along with the excellent music score, this is not 5.1 surround. If you like hardcore westerns and Raquel, not one to be missed, 85 minutes, no features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hannie caulder, March 17, 2000
By 
This review is from: Hannie Caulder [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Racquel Welch is great! Hannie Caulder is one of the best movies she has ever done. She is a good actress , she puts everything she can into her movies. This western is Racquel at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raquel Rocks!!!, April 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hannie Caulder (DVD)
You can not go wrong with Raquel Welch in leather pants, a poncho on with nothing on underneath and packing some heat!! The gang led by Borgnine is one of the best groups of idiots on the screen! My only confusion was the gunslinger in black? He appeared and disappeared without much explanation??
Fun western film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I waited a long time for this to come out on DVD!, November 27, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hannie Caulder (DVD)
I saw this movie almost 40 years ago and was very satisfied to see it FINALLY released on DVD. I have had a VHS copy for a long time but it is not in WS. Rather than repeat what many others have said about the cast, story, etc, I will stick to the DVD itself. It is in Widescreen 2:35:1 ratio. Great quality transfer. You will not be disappointed with this one. My second favorite Robert Culp role (First is Hickey and Boggs). I do, however, find it difficult to refer to this as a "spaghetti" western. You can see the lips move in sync with the dialogue and there did not appear to be any dubbing. And it had a good musical score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Above average 70s western drama, June 19, 2004
By 
This review is from: Hannie Caulder [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I caught this on the tube, having not seen it in over 30 years. I was expecting something very campy, in keeping with Raquel Welch's overall film oeuvre and was rather pleasantly surprised. Despite flaws, this is an above average western with the unusual addition of a strong female protagonist.
Hannie Caulder is raped and left for dead by a gang of three outlaws (Strother Martin, Jack Elam and Ernest Borgnine...reprising roles that each of them played over the years many times). She hooks up with a bounty hunter (Robert Culp) who teaches her how to shoot so she can get revenge on the rapists.
Certainly there are some aspects of this film that are severely dated: Raquel Welch hangs around in a poncho for the first half of the film...a kinda mini-dress with apparently nothing underneath, so you find yourself looking salaciously to see some flesh. This is a Playboy magazine-like detail that is more distracting than anything else...it plays off of Ms. Welch's beauty (and she is absolutely at the peak of her loveliness here) and the image of her in nothing-but-a-short-poncho is quite iconic. But it's dumb...how on earth can she ride a horse in the desert with NOTHING on the lower half of her body? Ouch! Later, she acquires a pair of super-tight deerskin slacks, which is equally ridiculous. No woman of the 1800's would have been caught dead in men's clothing. Neither would one have worn her hair long and straight or tons of black mascara. This superimposing of modern styles on a period drama is particularly badly handled and quite unnecessary, as Ms. Welch was more than beautiful enough to handle this role in proper period attire.
Robert Culp is delightful in an unexpected turn as a be-spectacled bounty hunter with a gentlemanly demeanor. The budding romance between his character, Price, and Hannie is nicely handled. This is a good example of how unexpected characters often blend better romantically than "conventional" stock characters. Christopher Lee has a nice supporting role as a grisly old gunmaker -- further evidence that he's a fine actor who deserved a lot better than the typical horror movie roles he often got stuck with.
The worst of this film is the comedic treatment of the three gangsters. If they had been treated more seriously, the rape would be more devastating (Price wants Hannie to forget about it and go off with him) adn it's aftermath more understandable. The attitudes about rape here are very simplistic and dated, unfortunately, but if you watch other movies about rape victims from the same era, you will see it was a standard treatment. However, comedic villains are not frightening nor do they warrant being killed off, so the "Three Stooges" quality defeats much of the thrust of the plot.
Despite these flaws, "Hannie Caulder" is consistently interesting and generally well-acted, with good cinematography. It represents a very rare attempt to show a western with a female protagonist, let alone an "action hero" type who gets to ride and shoot and defend herself! The budding feminism that produced this still had a long way to go in terms of understanding the psychology of rape, but compare "Hannie Caulder" to such otherwise excellent modern westerns such as "Unforgiven" or "Open Range" where the female parts are limited to prostitutes or schoolmarms.
It would be fascinating to see this remade today with some of these elements addressed (the rape, the "funny" rapists). However, this is a nicely done and unusual western drama from a period where corny Spaghetti Westerns were the norm. It took some guts and creativity to break that mold and "Hannie Caulder" is the interesting result. Hopefully, they will get this out on DVD one of these days...it would be fascinating to hear commentary from the surviving cast members about this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa22c89f0)

This product

Hannie Caulder
Hannie Caulder by Burt Kennedy (DVD - 2010)
$24.95 $13.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.