Qty:1
  • List Price: $22.95
  • Save: $6.83 (30%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Tuesday, April 22? Order within and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: About 50% of the book has underlining in pencil.
Add to Cart
Trade in your item
Get a $4.06
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Hanoi Jane: War, Sex, and Fantasies of Betrayal (Culture, Politics, and the Cold War) (Culture, Politics & the Cold War) Paperback

ISBN-13: 978-1558498150 ISBN-10: 155849815X

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$16.12
$13.94 $9.94

Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student



Frequently Bought Together

Hanoi Jane: War, Sex, and Fantasies of Betrayal (Culture, Politics, and the Cold War) (Culture, Politics & the Cold War) + Double Standard: Social Policy in Europe and the United States
Price for both: $40.46

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

China
Engineering & Transportation Books
Discover books for all types of engineers, auto enthusiasts, and much more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: Culture, Politics & the Cold War
  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: University of Massachusetts Press (May 14, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 155849815X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1558498150
  • Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.1 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #846,714 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Pulsing with brilliant insights and invaluable scholarship, Hanoi Jane is much more than a biography of a single myth. It is an exploration of some of the tangled cultural, psychological, and historical strands that constitute American memory of the Vietnam War, memory with profound influence on American culture and behavior in the last quarter of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. --H. Bruce Franklin, author of 'Vietnam and Other American Fantasies'

This is not a narrowly focused effort
to compare the real Jane Fonda to the image of Hanoi Jane. Rather, Lembcke shows how Fonda s demonization played an important part in a powerful rightwing campaign to attribute American defeat in Vietnam to left-wing scapegoats and to reconstitute U.S. power as well as the ideal of aggressive masculinity. --Christian G. Appy, author of 'Patriots: The Vietnam War Remembered from All Sides'

As Lembcke tackles the question of where the moniker Hanoi Jane first appeared, he offers fascinating anecedotal evidence of the fervent beliefs that continue to fuel the betrayal myth in the twenty-first century. . . . In this provocative study, Lembcke probes the way in which political dissent combined with American anxieties about class, gender, and celebrity to vilify a woman who followed her political conscience. --Women's Review of Books

Recommended [for] general readers and undergraduate students. --Choice

About the Author

Jerry Lembcke is professor of sociology and The College of the Holy Cross and author of 'The Spitting Image: Myth, Memory, and the Legacy of Vietnam.'

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
3
See all 7 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Tyak on October 4, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Extremely interesting and objective.. I am a Vietnam Veteran who was with the VVAW after I came home from Vietnam. I appreciate her efforts to expose the war as very wrong for America and for those who had served or were serving at the time, and our involvement was especially wrong for the Vietnamese. Over 5 million killed. It took great courage for her to travel to North Vietnam. She was wealthy, an international star, and member of the "jet set". She didn't have to do anything. The war would never affect her, but she chose to travel Vietnam, and put herself in harm's way. She in an honorable, classy woman who should be praised for her efforts, because her being there may have brought our servicemen and woman home earlier thus saving many lives. I respect and admire her for standing up to help end that senseless war.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Computer Maven on October 13, 2010
Format: Paperback
Lembcke is a Vietnam vet who has been intensely interested in how the lost Vietnam War has been reinterpreted and understood by conservative veteran groups and the broader U.S. right wing. In his earlier book The Spitting Image Lembcke researched and wrote a fact driven book that proved, contrary to massive propaganda to the contrary, that returning GI's from Vietnam had NOT BEEN spit upon by anti-war protesters as alleged in Hollywood films, novels, GI memoirs, and journalists. In Hanoi Jane Lembcke continues his de-bunking analysis by looking at Jane Fonda/Hanoi Jane. The book is not at all about Fonda, but instead about Hanoi Jane, a fictional creation in the tradition of Tokyo Rose and Mata Hari. The Hanoi Jane myth targets Fonda as a treasonous figure responsible for the loss of the Vietnam War. The right's Hanoi Jane characterization serves to erase historical memory of the valiant Vietnamese struggle for independence along with the large scale resistance within the U.S. military itself that eventually forced the government to mercifully end the war. Lembcke also explains how the "spit upon vet" and Hanoi Jane have been used to sell the Gulf War and the post-9/11 wars to the American public. To the hard core right this book will be further evidence of left wing venality, but to those with open minds who understand and can recognize reason, research, evidence, and skilled argumentation, Hanoi Jane will provide a valuable educational experience.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
HANOI JANE: WAR, SEX & FANTASIES OF BETRAYAL offers a historic and scholarly analysis of the myth and origins of Hanoi Jane, considering fantasies of home-front betrayal and considering how the Hanoi Jane expression and myth began. Anxieties about America's declining global status and deteriorating economy fueled an antiwar movement and popular conflicts with the military: this reconsiders the origins of the myth and its impact on American social and military culture alike.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Mike on May 31, 2011
Format: Paperback
Yes, one widely circulated story about Jane Fonda, that she had reported several POW's to her North Vietnamese, turned out not to be true and was the product of a email chain letter. So according to Lembcke, this is enough of an excuse to write this feeble piece of Fonda apologia. While Lembcke spends a good deal of time tracing the phony chain letter, he neglects to address the more substantive and appalling things Hanoi Jane did when she and her husband Tom Hayden were the guests of the North Vietnamese government. Fonda called returning POWs "hypocrites and liars" saying that "these were not men who had been tortured. These were not men who had been starved. These were not men who had been brainwashed" Fonda went on to say "I'm quite sure that there were incidents of torture... but the pilots who were saying it was the policy of the Vietnamese and that it was systematic, I believe that's a lie." Fonda also said that the POWs were "military careerists and professional killers" who are "trying to make themselves look self-righteous, but they are war criminals according to the law."

That's why American's in general and Vietnam Veterans in particular, hate Hanoi Fonda. Disagree and protesting the war is one thing, but going to the capital of a nation that the US is at war with and regurgitation their propaganda word for word is inexcusable.

Much like Lembcke's widely discredited "The Spitting Image" this book looks only as deeply as it needs to in order to support its ludicrous thesis and no further. A few examples of Lembcke's historical ignorance and willful misrepresentations:

He refers to a story about a brutal female NVA squad leader nicknamed Apache as a "character more likely found in a comic book than a history book".
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0x9fec363c)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?