Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Currently, this is THE Hanson DVD to buy
As the proud owner of the oversized, hideous form in the front row of this concert, I can tell you that it came off well both live and on video. While previously released versions (on PPV and in movie theaters) of this concert showcased an abbreviated setlist, this is going to be the most complete version of the concert you can find, with only a miniscule amount of songs...
Published on June 7, 2004 by KaneRobot

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work in the U.S.
This dvd is only for out of the U.S. dvd players. U.S. dvd players are "Region 1" DO NOT BUY
Published on December 1, 2012 by kmore


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Currently, this is THE Hanson DVD to buy, June 7, 2004
By 
KaneRobot "kanerobot" (Rochester Hills, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
As the proud owner of the oversized, hideous form in the front row of this concert, I can tell you that it came off well both live and on video. While previously released versions (on PPV and in movie theaters) of this concert showcased an abbreviated setlist, this is going to be the most complete version of the concert you can find, with only a miniscule amount of songs (3) missing from the original concert setlist (one of which wasn't even taped in the first place).
This disc will also house a trailer for the upcoming documentary that details the struggles they went through as they split with their former label...this is also the reason for the title of this review, as that one will undoubtedly be the most interesting video release the band puts out to date.
On a strictly concert-video level, this DVD blows away the two previous concert video releases (Live At The Fillmore & Live From Albertane) in both quality and quantity. This is one of those things that even non-fans may be impressed with in small doses. The low price on this DVD pushes it from 4 stars to 5 stars. An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Concert ever!, June 28, 2004
By 
Ryan Schwartz (New York City,NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
Wow! Hanson is back and better then ever. This concert was filmed at the Chicago 11/11/03 and was the last concert of the Acoustic '03 Tour. The setlist was great and enjoyable. When I watched it on PPV It was like I was actually at that concert. With an Hour and 20+ minutes of songs it makes you feel like your in Heaven.
Setlist:
Strong enough to Break
River
If Only
Rock n' Roll razorblade (Electric)
Tightrope
Teach Your Children Well
I will Come To you
Underneath
With you In Your Dreams
Ain't No sunshine
Crazy Beautiful
Penny & Me
Where's The Love
You Never Know
MMMBop
Rip It up
This Time around
Plus it may come with the Penny & Me Music Video if you buy the DVD. I'm not sure of that but I am sure you should buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing!, June 7, 2004
By 
Chrissy Wareikis (PA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
This concert was shown for one night only in Regal Theaters on April 19th. I went to see it and it was just incredible. I went to four acoustic Hanson shows since last year, and this film brought back incredible memories.
If you haven't heard any Hanson songs since "MMMBop", you may want to check out this DVD. They're not 11, 13, and 16 anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanson doubters, look no further..., July 27, 2004
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
If this concert DVD doesn't change minds about Hanson, I don't know what will. The guys are in top form on the last show of their Acoustic '03 tour. My husband and I were at this show, enjoying it chaos-free from the balcony. The songs rocked even harder than I remembered...just try to sit still during "Rip It Up," I dare you!

The bonus features of the behind-the-scenes are nice; the whole "oops, we forgot our in-ear monitors" was a wonderful Spinal Tap moment, and the Strong Enough to Break documentary trailer (doc coming in 2005) makes me want to see that thing tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanson rocks . . . really., September 25, 2004
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
It's going to be an uphill battle trying to convince other people that Hanson really and truly--and literally--rocks. But if anything can do it, it's definitely this DVD. I got interested in the band when I saw the Penny and Me video--how can you not be after seeing Tay? I bought this DVD when I saw it was being sold, and after watching I became a 100% fan.

The band itself is superb. These guys have talent in spades. I can't think of another band with such raw talent. They get up on stage, just the three of them and their instruments, and they play their hearts out. Every note is precisely where it's supposed to be. Muscially, this is a phenominal concert. Firstly, the vocals are heartfelt. I will admit that it takes some effort to understand what the lyrics are. But when you figure it out, you're always pleasantly surprised. The instrumentals are fabulous as well. I think the boys are particularly crisp on the piano. Zac's playing on "The Walk" is almost other-worldly. Tay keeps you hooked until the very end on all the other piano riffs, including I Will Come to You and With You in Your Dreams. Isaac's guitar playing is crisp and clean and is precisely where it needs to be.

The video itself is beautiful--the boys/men don't hurt, of course. The angeles really play to the music and to the atmosphere of the crowd. Watch out or you'll find yourself mesmerized. There is also a great behind the scene clip and a trailor for an upcoming documentary on the brothers.

In this concert, the boys cover three songs--Teach Your Children by Crosby Stills and Nash, Aint no Sunshine by Bill Withers, and Rip it Up by Little Richard--and they each get a solo. My Special attention should be paid to The Walk, Rock n Roll Razorblade, With you in Your Dreams, I Will Come to You, and Teach Your Children. The Walk is Zac's solo and his voice is angelic as he sings the heartfelt ballad. Rock n' Roll Razorblade directly precedes The Walk, and is its polar opposite. This is a rock song through and through, making any sane person tap their foot or clap their hands or even jump up and down. The boys' maturity is showcased on reworked versions of their older ballads, I Will Come to You and With You in Your Dreams--a very touching song told from the perspective of the dearly departed. If their talents shines anywhere, it is on Teach Your Children, a cover. Their harmonies are impeccable.

If you aren't a Hanson fan, then watch this DVD and you will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an awesome dvd!, July 27, 2004
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
This is a must see for all Hanson fans young and old. Seeing that I went to the first acoustic concert on the tour, this was awesome to see how they ended the tour. I thought the concert was amazing and the guys really show their talent on this dvd. The setlist is fantastic, and the guys really put on an awesome show. The 3 covers they do are welldone and are worth listening to. Hanson has outdone themselves again on such a level past "Live at the Fillmore." Their maturity shows and this concert would be appreciated even by the littlest hanson fans.

Not only is the concert awesome, but the mini interview lets you see into Hanson and the tour a bit more than you realized. Also, the trailer to the documentary that is coming out in '05 leads to a year of suspense for all Hanson fans alike.

So definitely, take the time and buy this DVD. I'm sure you'll enjoy it, especially if you love the band and music as much as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to make someone a Hanson fan?, March 17, 2005
By 
L. Spencer (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
Show them this dvd. I showed it to a friend of mine who was visiting for a weekend, and it took all of three songs to go from "Hanson? the 'MmmBop' kids?" to "okay, I need to buy this." It honestly doesn't hurt that the video showcases the fact that these are three astonishingly good-looking young men, but it also perfectly showcases the fact that they are three astonishingly accomplished musicians. Go beyond the tight album tracks and you get covers of others' (and their own!) music that is just infectious and fun, like the amazing "Ain't No Sunshine," the ever-infectious "MmmBop," the breathtakingly harmonious "Teach Your Children," and the tear-you-out-of-your-seat "Rip It Up." This is a rare concert dvd where even the 'weaker' tracks are better than most other bands' best material, so, yeah, if you're looking to pimp Hanson to your friends or want to try them out for the first time yourself, pick this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanson's best DVD yet ..., July 27, 2004
By 
JKSobonya (East Norriton, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
If you're looking for Hanson concert footage, look no further! This DVD is packed with 21 songs from Hanson's last acoustic tour date in Chicago, IL at the House of Blues. Hanson are stripped down to the bare essentials as they sing and play favorites like "Where's The Love" and "Runaway Run", to new songs like "Rock N Roll Razorblade" and "Underneath" to covers like "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Rip It Up".

There is also bonus interview footage and a three minute trailer of Hanson's soon-to-be-released documentary (the doc. footage alone is worth seeing). I encourage you to buy this DVD and see the true essence of who Hanson is - a great band of singers, songwriters, and musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable DVD for an incredible tour!, June 10, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
As an actual attendee of this concert in Chicago, the DVD surpassed my expectations. I originally saw it on the big screen at Regal Theaters in April. It took me back to the precise time, place and feeling of that concert. The setlist is fantastic, the performances incredible and this DVD should open the doors for new fans who originally cast-off Hanson as a one-hit wonder back in 1997. This DVD is the one to buy! I know I will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UAL is such a treat to watch!, January 24, 2005
By 
Sunny324 (Grand Rapids, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hanson: Underneath Acoustic (DVD)
I was wary at first of buying a DVD of an acoustic show - I don't care for acoustic shows much and I thought it would put me to sleep. Man, was I wrong. This is NOT a sleepy DVD. The Hanson boys succeed in pulling off a very entertaining and energetic show even without being plugged in. They do a nice updated version of River, with a bridge not found previously on Three Car Garage. Favorites like If Only, Penny & Me and MMMBop are played dutifully, even if not with much originality. However, other hits like This Time Around and Where's The Love get new interpretation with crowd participation and new layers of sound, respectivley. Other treats include the non-album songs Rock 'n' Roll Razorblade and The Walk, and the covers of Teach Your Children, Ain't No Sunshine, and another crowd-participation highlight Rip It Up. Also included are are soulful With You In Your Dreams, I Will Come To You, and Underneath. Some songs that get a new and welcome treatment are Run Away Run and You Never Know. They both sound new, fresh, and amazing for this DVD. Also, the Taylor solo of Crazy Beautiful is played in a brand new way that is surprisingly effective and beautiful. Almost the entire set is engaging, entertaining, and spectacular.

The bonus features are not very extensive, but quality. The preview of the upcoming documentary, Strong Enough To Break, piques interest in the upcoming film. The behind-the-scenes featurette gives a small glimpse of what Hanson goes through during a show and a little bit of what they thought about certain songs they played and what they thought of the venue, thier fans, and playing acoustically.

This DVD is shot beautifully - you don't miss a single thing. Underneath Acoustic Live is so much incredibly better than Hanson's previous video and DVD offerings, so you are almost guaranteed to be very pleased with it. The only improvments would have been a few more extra features, perhaps the music videos to Penny & Me and Lost Without Eachother, or more interviews or in-studio video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hanson: Underneath Acoustic
Hanson: Underneath Acoustic by Dave Diomedi (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: $0.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.