Happens Every Day: An All-Too-True Story and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$6.00
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $9.00 (60%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Happens Every Day: An All-Too-True Story Paperback – Bargain Price, March 2, 2010


See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, Bargain Price
"Please retry"
$6.00
$1.46 $0.91

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details


Frequently Bought Together

Happens Every Day: An All-Too-True Story + A Year and Six Seconds: A Love Story + How to Sleep Alone in a King-Size Bed: A Memoir of Starting Over
Price for all three: $24.63

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Choose Your Own Autobiography
Step right into Neil Patrick Harris's shoes in an exciting, interactive autobiography that places the reader squarely in the driver's seat. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Scribner (March 2, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1439126623
  • ASIN: B004E3XDDU
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (227 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #353,888 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Gillies left her recurring role on Law & Order: Special Victims Unit to follow her poet-professor husband to Oberlin, Ohio, when he got a tenure-track position in the English department. She threw herself into caring for her two sons, renovating an old house and teaching drama part-time—but her idyllic life was shattered when her husband decided he didn't want to be married anymore—or at least, not married to Gillies. (He subsequently wed a fellow professor.) Gillies brings both humor and sorrow to the narration. Despite a tendency to trail off at the end of sentences, which leaves listeners straining to hear the completion of a thought, she gives a brave performance that will have her audience cheering as she pluckily reassembles the pieces of her broken life. A Scribner hardcover (Reviews, Mar. 23). (Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

"Fans of Eat, Pray, Love will devour this book."

— John Searles, MSNBC.com

“A memoir so raw you feel like it's your best friend telling you her story.”

Glamour, “Must-Read”

“A smart, rueful memoir of love, betrayal and survival.”

O, the Oprah magazine

“You gobble up [Happens Every Day], rooting for the engaging Gillies? A guilty pleasure for readers."

USA Today

“I couldn't help but admire her bravery in exposing the dark side of her seemingly perfect life in such a good-humored, self-effacing way?. You feel nothing but deepest sympathy.”

Elle


More About the Author

Isabel Gillies, known for her television role as Detective Stabler's wife on Law and Order: Special Victims Unit and for her cinematic debut in the film Metropolitan, graduated from New York University with a BFA in film. She lives in Manhattan with her second husband, her two sons, and her stepdaughter.

Customer Reviews

I read this book in one day - could not put it down.
L. Zises
We never get to know what Isabel is really like and I get the feeling that she really doesn't know either.
Bonnie Brody
This is a perfect description of her writing style; it feels very conversational.
K. Carroll

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful By Mary Lins TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on April 6, 2009
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I confess that I seek out stories of heartbreaking betrayal. I'm like the ambulance chaser of these kinds of sagas because I've been through it and I'm compelled to hear others' tales. It make me feel not alone in my pain, but I also like to see if the writer "got it right", the unimaginable pain of trusting someone completely and thinking things are fine and then in a matter of seconds having your entire world shattered. The shock alone could kill ya. If this has not happened to you, I'm so glad for you and this book will help you understand what a friend or family member is going through. If you HAVE had it happen to you, this book might dredge it all up and make you sad, but it also might uplift you to know that others know how you feel. It really does happen every day.

So it was that I saw that Isabel Gillies had written a book "Happens Every Day" about how her husband suddenly left her and their two very young sons, and I was compelled to read it. I'm very glad I did. It's wonderfully told; honest and touching. Gillies doesn't wallow in it, and she offers no excuses. She is honest about herself and all the red flags she missed. She even muses on why people in love miss or ignore red flags and clear warning signs...we all do it. It must have something to do with what love does to the chemistry in our brain. Later, after the boom has been lowered on you, the signs are all there - clear as day - only to make you feel like an even bigger fool.

Gillies paints a detailed cringe-inducing description of how she unwittingly befriended and sponsored the woman who "ran off with" her husband. We readers are uncomfortable while reading these passages because we already know that this woman is going to betray her, and we can't warn her...it's too late.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
44 of 52 people found the following review helpful By Dr. M. Bruno on June 18, 2009
Format: Hardcover
Perhaps the academics in this book could have written a more lyrical tome, but this book is heartfelt and poignant at times. Gilles is not the best of writers---she uses too much slang and cliche--but she writes from the heart and that goes a long way. It is a story of a reasonably good marriage that falls apart in a matter of weeks, and for that alone makes it good reading.
As an academic myself, I find it easy to despise the faux-French "other woman." For once she lands Gilles' husband, she becomes a spousal hire at Oberlin and does not have to search for another job. She avoids having to settle for teaching four sections of freshman composition a semester at a third tier university. In my experience, that alone for any fledgling professor is enough to break up a marriage. Now she can concentrate on some drab 18th century research that few outside academia will ever read. The only problem is she is married to a man who clearly has a fear of commitment;he left his pregnant first wife and left his second wife with two very small children for other women. So in one way she is like Sylvia Plath who was married to the poet Ted Hughes, the womanizer who was/is despised by millions, mostly academic women. Unlike Plath, she is like the many women who go after married men, who do not respect women enough to stay away. She may rationalize it as fate, finding her soul mate, something obscurely French about joy, life, love-- but the truth be told, she went after another woman's husband and took him, and even when Gilles begged her to stop, she did not.

For him: he is an average poet and scholar who is at a college with no graduate students. He is married to a woman with a cloying French accent who grew up in Vermont of all places. This may ultimately be a nightmare for a Harvard Phd.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
162 of 200 people found the following review helpful By A. Andrews on April 1, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I really, really wanted to like this book but two chapters in, I found the author's tone so annoying that I couldn't take it. The phoniness and constant detailing of the haute bourgeois lifestyle and stressing how genteel it all was is just TOO MUCH. Not that there's truly anything that justifies leaving your wife and kids, but my God, could this BE any more stereotypical. Of course the hot professor is up to no good. Of course the catalogue-perfect organic hippie lifestyle is a sham. Most of us figured this out when we were college sophomores. If I had to read one more detail about cheese souffles, summering in Maine, and flower arrangements in Mason jars, I felt like I would start sympathizing with the husband. I really regret not liking this book but I found it frankly irritating.
30 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
51 of 62 people found the following review helpful By Christie on March 24, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I loved this book. The authors struggle to hold onto her family while it falls apart is gut wrenching. You feel her agony for herself and for her children. Isabel's life is perfect and then it is completely broken. Her telling of her life falling apart around her and her efforts to keep things glued together is compelling and difficult to put down. You feel tremendous passion for the author, you hope that you are able to conduct yourself as well if you are ever in her shoes. Truly a worthy book. Brava!
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Jo Ana Starr VINE VOICE on March 26, 2009
Format: Hardcover
Statistically speaking, approximately 60% of our population has experienced divorce at least once, so this book hits a resounding chord for a majority of us. What's so admirable about this storyteller's view of her experience is that she's not whinny or punitive, she's just shocked by the sudden change in the structure of her entire life, and struggles to make sense of it.

This is a story about a woman whose fairytale life was cut short by circumstances, human vagaries, and perhaps chance. She tells her story with compassion, understanding and grace.

Happens Every Day is a heart-warming look at love lost, love found, forgiveness and finding joy in the present moment. This is a wonderful, uplifting book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?