Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With two beers it's better
This is a funny "no brainer" movie with a sweet ending. You don't have to think about the plot, it is very predictable. Just relax and enjoy the slap stick humor. This is a good movie to watch after a hard day of work with a couple beers and some popcorn. It will make you laugh and you don't have to bring your brain. This would be a great first date movie too.
Published on September 9, 2008 by Samantha Revis

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It may be stupid, but it's still kinda funny...
Okay, so sue me; I laughed a lot while watching this movie. My wife said that the film was horribly stupid but I didn't care. Sure, it was predictable beyond belief but why would you expect anything but a predictable romantic comedy? I mean, yes, at times the humor was a little off color or just plain ridiculous, but in a world embracing the comedic genius that is Judd...
Published on September 17, 2008 by Andrew Ellington


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It may be stupid, but it's still kinda funny..., September 17, 2008
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Okay, so sue me; I laughed a lot while watching this movie. My wife said that the film was horribly stupid but I didn't care. Sure, it was predictable beyond belief but why would you expect anything but a predictable romantic comedy? I mean, yes, at times the humor was a little off color or just plain ridiculous, but in a world embracing the comedic genius that is Judd Apatow (don't get me wrong, this is no where near as good as an Apatow production) why would you get mad over that?

`What Happens in Vegas' is exactly what you'd expect from a comedy starring Aston Kutcher.

The film tells the story of control freak Joy and slacker Jack. Joy was just dumped by her fiancé and Jack was just fired by his own father. When all goes wrong the only viable option is to go crazy in Vegas, so that is what they decide to do. It is in Vegas where they meet and get drunk and get hitched only to wake up desperate to end their relationship; that is until Jack wins $3,000,000 with Joy's quarter and each wants the cash. What happens next is highly unlikely (very highly) but for the sake of the film we'll follow along. A judge sentences them to a half year of marriage before either of them can be awarded the money. Jack and Joy are thus forced to live together and `work on their marriage' in order to attain the cast they so desperately desire.

The pot shots taken are over-the-top at times, but funny none-the-less. The situation is more preposterous than any of the jokes, and the actions taken by the two main characters, as immature as they are, are believable when you take into context the nature of the characters they are playing.

I mean seriously, a lot of people are that stupid.

Cameron Diaz is above this, I will say that. She is a wonderfully talented comedic actress who deserves better than the material she is provided here. Her performances in films like `Vanilla Sky' and `Being John Malkovich' and even `My Best Friends Wedding' all prove her talent and should have garnered an Oscar nomination by now. Instead she is reduced to starring alongside Aston Kutcher in a film tailor made for his persona as apposed to her talent. This is not above Kutcher, in fact it is a step up for him (look at what he's done up until now). Honestly, if you are looking at this film because you are a fan of Kutcher then you have nothing to complain about since this is undeniably one of his better films. If you are watching this because you are a fan of Diaz then you may have reason to be bitter since this may be the worst film she's ever done.

Forget them for a minute though, because the real stars of this film are Rob Corddry and Lake Bell who play Hater and Tipper, the happy couples best friends. These two have such a brilliant love/hate chemistry that is seriously the funniest part of the film.

In the end I can't say that this is a great movie or one that I would highly recommend, but if you are a fan of the genre or the films male lead then you already know what to expect and you most likely will enjoy this film to an extent. If you are not a fan of either then you should really be looking elsewhere. Regardless, look at it for what it is and you will find something enjoyable about the whole experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barely worth the gamble, September 14, 2008
Two people down on life do what losers do. Jack (Kutcher) is a grown up adolescent who just got fired by his own father. Joy (Diaz) is a control freak who just got dumped by her fiancé - in front of all her friends.

Naturally, the two dimwits think going to Vegas will solve all their problems. What follows is pure Britney Spears - they get trashed, party, and do incredibly stupid things. Awaking the next morning, they learn one of the stupid things was a drunken marriage. No longer inebriated, they agree that the marriage was a mistake, and after a brief argument, they agree to an annulment. Moments later Jack uses Joy's quarter and wins 3 million dollars. Naturally, they argue over ownership, and the wacky paint-by-numbers script ensues.

Considering that I find Kutcher and Diaz two of the less appealing stars in Hollywood, the movie didn't have a great chance of impressing me. The two stars were OK at best, providing a few chuckles along the way. Luckily, however, Jack and Joy's best friends who tagged along to Vegas were hilarious. Their constant banter, asinine behavior, and hatred for one another provide the only real hard laughs of the entire movie. Anyone who walks away from this movie without laughing at their "junk punch" scene doesn't have a sense of humor.

If it weren't for the co-stars, this would be a two-star snoozer for the most part. Much like actual gambling in Vegas, however, there are times when a lucky person rubs off on another. The friends in this movie are the lucky streak and overall I'd recommend it as a light comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With two beers it's better, September 9, 2008
By 
Samantha Revis (Sante Fe, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
This is a funny "no brainer" movie with a sweet ending. You don't have to think about the plot, it is very predictable. Just relax and enjoy the slap stick humor. This is a good movie to watch after a hard day of work with a couple beers and some popcorn. It will make you laugh and you don't have to bring your brain. This would be a great first date movie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happens in Vegas ... is a rental for most, September 1, 2008
By 
terpfan1980 "Barry" (Somewhere near Washington DC, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're looking at this film and considering purchasing it ask yourself just how much entertainment you expect from your purchases. If you're tight on money, and even if you aren't, you'd probably find this one is a rental at best and not something that is crying for permanent addition to most video collections.

Diaz and Kutcher do well enough with the material they're given, but that material is all too predictable and all too familiar for most viewers. Take two pretty people and their friends and send them to Las Vegas after they've both experienced life changing events, have them cross paths accidentally and then get together for alcohol fueled partying until, surprise! surprise!, the two lead characters wake up to find themselves married. The story could end right there, but gee, there's a lot more film to go, so here comes the convenient plot twist that keeps these two from separating until after they've made it past their mandatory time living as husband and wife.

Will they stay together? Can they live with each other at all or will the habits of the single caveman permanently and totally offend the beauty that he's been paired with?

Honestly, again, if you are considering this one go rental first. Unbox is a bargain compared to the regular purchase price. Even with the bonus digital copy that you'd get on the Blu-ray version, the value would be hard to attain for most viewers. The picture quality is ok, the load of bonus materials is ok (with a mix of some of the content being HD and some being standard definition on the Blu-ray version) and again, the Blu-ray comes with a Digital copy but is it all enough to justify making the purchase versus simply renting and watching it once? Probably not, at least not from where I sit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, if you are going to copy, copy from the best, September 27, 2010
Hollywood loves copies. it takes some of the risk out of investing in movies, or so the legend goes. This film is another version of Honeymoon in Vegas. I don't mean kind of, or sort of. The male lead is similar, the female lead (Cameron Diaz) is VERY similar to Sarah Jessica Parker. How similar? SJParker is a beautiful actress playing a companion about to be lost. Cameron Diaz is a beautiful actress playing a companion about to be lost...well, you get the picture. If they follow similar plots, even similar casting, you know you have a similar film. SO? Well, Honeymoon in Vegas, with James Caan, was very good. It had real plot twists, and real angst about losing a very foxy wife. This film, a derivative, is light and fluffy. It is pleasant enough viewing, but if you must get one film, do not get this but get the original: Honeymoon in Vegas, also in stock on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect comedy, May 24, 2008
By 
Reuben Roa (Murrieta, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the best kind of comedy you can make. Nothing far-fetched just people being people with hilarious humor and not over-the-top romance. It is a little cliche and predictable but what movie isnt. I could watch this over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its charms, but mostly quite average., May 15, 2008
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Here's another great example of a movie that will scarcely stay in your memory long enough to last for the ride home. It is a pleasant diversion that provides nothing new and very little in the way of something clever. You can predict the twists and turns of this movie pretty much down to the minute.

A romantic comedy of this sort requires good rapport between its performers. If a trifle of a film like this doesn't generate good chemistry (Ralph Fiennes & Jennifer Lopez, Matthew McConnaghy and Sarah Jessica Parker spring to mind), then it is doomed, because the shallowness and unlikeliness of the plot are exposed to the blinding glare of light. When two stars really click, the blinding light becomes a pleasant candle, and we ignore the "stupid" stuff (Hugh Grant & Julia Roberts, for example...heck Hugh Grant and just about anyone).

WHAT HAPPENS IN VEGAS falls somewhere between. Cameron Diaz and Ashton Kutcher make an okay couple...but they are burdened by their characters both being more immature than we might like. The best couples are full-blown adults who become childlike in their love...or childlike adults who mature into an adult couple (KNOCKED UP being a recent, outstanding example). Diaz and Kutcher remain stubbornly immature throughout.

Diaz is a high-strung control freak with a stressful job (she plays a trader on the floor of the exchange...boy, I sure didn't believe her for one second in that occupation), who, following a horrible break-up embarrassment, allows her friend (Lake Bell) to convince her to blow off some steam in Vegas. Kutcher is a lazy, immature carpenter who gets fired by his own father after goofing-off at work for the umpteenth time. To blow off steam, his best friend (Rob Corddry) suggests they head to Vegas. A mistake at the front desk has these two mis-matched pairs suddenly sharing the same hotel room. The hotel fixes the mistake and provides them with all sorts of freebies...so they all head off together to get really drunk at really high-end clubs. Kutcher and Diaz end up married by the end of the night!! (You might consider this stuff to be spoilers...but in my opinion, there's almost nothing I've mentioned here that isn't covered in the trailers for the film.)

The unique twist this film offers is that the couple agrees it was all a mistake and decide to divorce quietly. Unfortunately, Diaz provides Kutcher with the quarter that wins $3 million on the slot machine...and neither person is willing to give up a dime of the winnings. A judge tells them they have to live together and work on their marriage for 6 months before he'll grant a divorce. "Hilarity ensues," as they sometimes say.

From this point, the plot creaks along very predictably...with the two leads trying really hard to make us care. We don't. They are charming individually (Kutcher, in particular, does well), but as a couple we want to see together...we just shrug our shoulders.

Other strong points...Lake Bell and Rob Corddry as the two friends have a very interesting hate/hate relationship that clearly has roots in a physical attraction neither wants to admit. They are funny together in their insults and mockery. Often the characters of the "best friend" are little more than sounding boards for the lead characters. Corrdry and Bell are a nice exception. Bell, in particular, is an unusual and interesting actress. Corrdry is much better here than in his over-the-top caricature of a Homeland Security Agent in HAROLD & KUMAR ESCAPE GUANTANIMO.

Weak spots: Dennis Miller as the marriage-loving judge couldn't be worse in the role. It's terribly written, the rulings he delivers don't really make sense and Miller clearly knows this. He's thinking "Just get me through this and give me my check." Also, what the heck is Queen Latifah doing as their marriage counselor?!?! She's unconvincing as well, trying to tone down her natural exuberance to seem "professional." Lastly, Dennis Farina, as Diaz's boss is a poorly thought out throwback to the `50s. A boss like him wouldn't last in this day and age, because he's a horrible manager of people.

One final thought...does everyone who lives in Brooklyn have a great apartment that's within spitting distance of the Brooklyn Bridge? I've seen this in so many movies...I guess Brooklyn must not be as big as I thought it was...they all live in the same row of apartments with a killer view of the bridge and the city on the other side. How nice for everyone!

You can go see WHAT HAPPENS IN VEGAS, and you'll be amused during its running time. But if you miss it, you aren't missing that much either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predictable But Not Bad, September 10, 2008
By 
Fred Rayworth (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This is definitely NOT the usual genre I'm interested in, but my daughter rented it, so to get our money's worth...

I was actually kind of surprised that it was as good as it was. This is really the first time I've ever seen Ashton Kutcher act, except for That 70's Show, and he's a lot better than I expected. I have never been able to get through the Butterfly Effect, so I can't say much about his acting skills in that one.

Cameron is still a major babe, no doubt. I've actually never seen her do a drama, so this is right in line with what she is good at.

Dennis Miller has the best line in the movie when he says, "I sentence you to six months of hard marriage!" That was also the line used in some of the trailers. Maybe that says something about the rest of the dialogue, but then again, I'm easy to please, as long as the heroes don't die in the end.

I had fun with the interaction between Ashton's lawyer buddy and Lake Bell. They had a hate-turned-to-lust thing going that was pretty amusing. I really miss that sci-fi show she did a few years ago!

Nothing about the movie made me laugh out loud, but nothing upset me or made me roll my eyes too much. This is just a mildly humorous love story. I don't think I'd watch it again unless I was a captive audience, but I wouldn't hate seeing it again, either. If you are into romantic comedy, I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roll a Four, August 26, 2008
What happens in Vegas is supposed to stay in Vegas. Not in the case of Jack Fuller (Ashton Kutcher) and Joy McNally (Cameron Diaz), two complete strangers who venture to Vegas to forget life's problems. One crazy night brings them together. One drink turns into many and a night they will never forget...here comes the bride. Luck lands them with three million dollars and three million reasons to get rid of their spouse. Their problem then comes to court with them. Judge Whopper (Dennis Miller) hands out a whopper of a sentence...six months hard marriage.

"What Happens in Vegas" is no doubt a funny movie. Immature pranks and getting even turn into charm and romance. Sarcasm and anger turn to passion and love. "What Happens in Vegas" bears some resemblance to "Just Married". Both films depict newlywed couples struggling to maintain a marriage. And in the end love triumphs over heartache. However, "Vegas" is its own movie, it has a completely different story and it seems a bit more mature despite the tomfoolery.

"What Happens in Vegas" is supposed to stay there, but it should make its way to your DVD player. At least for a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Why, You Know Why" ~ The Commericalization Of The Film Industry, Or Films About Commercials, September 10, 2008
You definitely know that the American film industry is suffering in the areas of creativity and originality when they begin to make movies based on television commercial slogans. Such is the case with the '08 romantic comedy `What Happens in Vegas' starring the ohh.., so adorable Ashton Kutcher and the irrepressible Cameron Diaz. There's no need whatsoever to recount the storyline because you already know it whether you've seen the movie or not.

Having that said, I also must admit that despite its predictability and shallow plot development it actually works. Kutcher and Diaz work well together and the storyline moves along at a quick enough pace to hold the audiences interest despite the fact of knowing where it's all heading. All that and a happy ending too!

Not Shakespeare but for an evening of light, brainless fun why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What Happens in Vegas (Extended Jackpot Edition + Digital Copy)
$34.98 $26.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.