Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Happy Birthday
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Happy Birthday Extra tracks, Import

2 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Amazon Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Extra tracks, Import, February 2, 2004
$196.69 $31.21
"Please retry"

Editorial Reviews

This special edition features six bonus tracks (nearly all of them appear on CD for the first time). The package includes rare photos as well as the distinctive early 7" picture sleeves, along with annotation drawn from an interview with Clare Grogan.

1. Intro - Happy Birthday
2. Love And Kisses
3. Real Toys
4. Idols
5. Legionnaire
6. Faithless
7. Beckoning Strings
8. Happy Birthday
9. Midnight
10. A Day's Wait
11. Leave Me Alone
12. Insects
13. Outro - Happy Birthday
14. Dead Pop Stars (Bonus Track)
15. Sentimental (Bonus Track)
16. Who Cares (Bonus Track)
17. Happy Birthday (12 Dance Mix) (Bonus Track)
18. So We Go (whispering) (Bonus Track)
19. Jeepster (Bonus Track)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 2, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Extra tracks, Import
  • Label: Diablo Records UK
  • ASIN: B00016W7PE
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #556,145 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Scott Davies on August 27, 2006
Format: Audio CD
The debut album by Altered Images is a mixed success. The majority of the album was produced by Banshees bassist, Steven Severin, and often sounds like a collection of demos. This is especially when compared to the improved Martin Rushent production of the title track. While the title track is a bright bit of mindlessly fun New Wave pop, the majority of the album is more brooding.

Some of the brighter moments are classic cuts, such as 'Real Toys' and 'Beckoning Strings'. Though nothing is necessarily dreadful, filler songs, such as the 'Happy Birthday' intro and outro, as well as 'Love and Kisses', are easy to skip on repeated listens. While 'Happy Birthday', the song, was a top 3 hit in the UK, there was a wise decision not to release any further singles from the LP, and to continue on to new single releases, also produced by Rushent.

This CD release includes a number of necessary bonus tracks, including both sides of the band's excellent debut single, 'Dead Pop Stars' and 'Sentimental'. Both of these tracks are better than much of what's on the album. The only track from this era that is missing is the original, and superior recording of 'Leave Me Alone'. There was a superior re-recording of 'Insects', which originally appeared on the 'I Could Be Happy' single B side. That version is only available on the US Happy Birthday CD release. This latest CD reissue was sourced entirely from master quality sources. The sound is not damaged by loudness or compression, and is very satisfying.

Happy Birthday was one of three albums Altered Images would release during their short time together, and one of the three very different styles this young band displayed with each release. Though Happy Birthday may not be something to expect to be in heavy rotation in any CD collection, it is well worth having so the listener can hear the promising start of what should have been a long career.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By bRET r. LAPIERRE on October 29, 2003
Format: Audio CD
i fell in love with this band the very first time i heard them and have all their stuff on album format as well as CD. They are quirky and very danceable. Clare Grogan, the vocalist sings like i expect angels to sing when i die, if they don't then heaven is not for me. But this group is an either love or dislike, there is no middle of the road but i love them because to me they epitomised the 80's new wave movement. It is a shame their albums Pinky Blue and Bite aren't available in CD format. But record companies are notoriously shortsighted.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?