Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
77
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Little Critter books have always been favorites in our house. My 13 year old loved them when he was very young and now my 2 1/2 year old loves them. Mercer Mayers illustration style just seems to draw kids in as he captures the emotions of children in his own silly way. As the title suggest this book has the Little Critter and his family celebrating Easter beginning with the kids finding the treats the Easter Bunny has left them.

From there it's off to church service. Little Critter does NOT like getting dressed up. So much like some little boys that I know! After church there's a big picnic where all of the kids dye their Easter Eggs and Little Critter thinks his are the best! The eggs are then hidden and all the kids go on an Easter egg hunt. Critter finds a lot but scowls when he misses one and someone else finds it. It's all good fun!

Now back home the kids finish their easter by digging into the wonderful treats that the Easter Bunny left them. Kids really love this book because they see Little Critter enjoying all of the fun activities and treats that they will be enjoying on Easter Day. Perfectly captures the spirit of Easter. Always a big hit!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
I was waiting for some sort of positivity in this book and it really doesn't have any...The little critter complains about his sister, church, dress clothes, little kids finding too many eggs, other kids finding eggs before him and not being able to eat chocolate for breakfast...then it says Happy Easter. If that sounds good to you then I'm sorry for the spoilers but chances are I just saved you from wasting money on this book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2002
"Happy Easter, Little Critter" by Mercer Mayer was a good children's book, especially for around Easter time. Children would most likely like the illustrations because they are cute and bright. I think the book would teach kids about Easter, and the different things that go on on Easter day. It starts off in the morning and tells about him and his sister getting their Easter baskets and getting ready to go to church. The book also tells about what they do in church and the lunch and Easter egg hunt they go to with other families after church is over. I think there are some good morals to the story such as helping others and getting along with your siblings. It shows children how much fun a family holiday like Easter can be.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2008
My 3 yr old loves the Little Critter books. This one has Little Critter waking up on Easter hoping to be the first downstairs to see what the Easter Bunny has given him, only to find his little sister already playing w/ the Easter toys. The story goes on w/ more disapointments like his mom says no candy until after breakfast, getting dressed for church, and helping younger kids find the hidden Easter eggs, but in the end it was a fun and happy day. If you like the Little Critter series, you'll enjoy this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
One of my 3yos favorite books, we are still reading it in August. Overall a sweet Easter book, one brief mention of Little Critter going to church, but nothing more than that if you are looking for a religious book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
ISBN 0307117235 - Easter books are all the craze today and I'm finding that there are few, so far, for people who just do the eggs, basket, candy part. For the non-believers, the Critters go to church in this one.

It's Easter morning and Little Critter wakes up and tries to sneak downstairs to get to his basket before anyone else wakes up - but his sister, as usual, has beaten him! After looking through their baskets and having breakfast, the family is off to church and then all the kids dye Easter eggs. A picnic lunch with friends fills the time while the eggs dry and, once everyone is full, the parents hide the eggs for the children. An egg hunt follows and then it's time to go home!

For the non-believers, the church thing might be enough of a turn-off to keep them away, but it's really a small part and there's no particular religion emphasized. The story is nice, especially the egg hunt, during which some of the older kids have to help some of the younger ones to find any eggs. Author/illustrator Mercer Mayer couldn't write a bad book if he tried - but this one is a little "eh" to me.

- AnnaLovesBooks
44 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
For what I paid, it's alright. My 2 year old didn't love the book. He really likes some of the other Little Critter books. We've read this one only 2 or 3 times. It's very lightweight. I bought it for part of his Easter basket. It did the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2015
My daughter and I read this lastnight and it is such a cute Easter story. We have alot of the Critter book collection, and they are so fun and lighthearted and simple for little ones to understand. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2016
i usually don't write reviews but this one was a big disappointment. I wasn't looking on buying specifically a religious Easter book... but this one (especially in the illustrations) really just 'complained' about the religious parts. I usually love these books but this one was such a downer..not just by dissing the religious parts of Easter but also by just outwardly complaining throughout the entire book (aside from the very last page where he eats candy). Not a good one at all. You wouldn't expect childrens books to be written so pessimistically. If getting ready for church, going to church, not being able to see in church, etc is a negative thing to the writer, then maybe they shouldn't have written about it and strictly made it about easter bunnies and eggs. This is supposed to be a childrens book!!
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2014
I really like the LIttle Critter books, but this one added a little something special to our Easter holiday. The book includes examples of sharing and helping others that I found particularly useful when talking to my children about the Easter holiday.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse