Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Happy Endings?
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 20, 2011
THIS FILM IS INCREDIBLE!! If you have any interest in the decriminalization of sex work (pro or con), you should watch this film. Happy Endings? is a 2009 documentary about women in the "massage parlors" in Rhode Island during the battle in the State legislature to make prostitution illegal. (Indoor prostitution was legal in Rhode Island between 1980 and 2009 because there was no specific statute to define the act and outlaw it. In November 2009, after this movie was released, a law went into effect to make all prostitution in Rhode Island a crime.) The film follows the life of one of the sex workers ("Heather") intercut with a massive number of interviews and clips of people involved on all sides of the issue, including the Providence mayor, state legislators, lawyers, sex workers, people from the newspaper in which the sex workers advertised, community activists (from both sides), academics, police and "johns." Despite the lack of live lighting and sound crews, the camera work is excellent. The editing is one of the most outstanding aspects of this film -- it is amazing how this tremendous pool of information is pulled together into such a moving, pointed and powerful story. The sound has been rebalanced for this Video-on-Demand version, bringing excellent clarity to the dialogue and a more complimentary placing of the well-produced techno-style music.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2009
In this film Hurley explores the dark secrets of the Rhode Island legal Asian Massage Parlors. Due to a 25 year old legal loophole, it is not illegal in Rhode Island to pay for sex, as long as it is indoors. Happy Endings? follows a number of the women, Massage Parlor owners and patrons of these underground Parlors. Hurley shows an amazing behind the scenes perspective, that you won't see in the papers, or even on television. If you were ever curious about what goes on in a Asian Massage Parlors, you will not be let down.

Hurley's style is unabashed, and shows you a very honest and true version of events as they happen every day in Providence, RI. This film is well balanced, and shows both sides of the story. From interviews with governmental officials, including Mayor of Providence, RI David Cicilline, to interviews with sex workers. Happy Endings? will leave you with enough facts to make up your own mind about Asian Massage Parlors, but will leave it open to your interpretation. You won't be disappointed!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
I did a research paper on the topic of the film for one of my classes just to get an idea of how popular erotic massage parlors are. This video deals with the prostitution that is going on in massage parlors in Providence Rhode Island. This is a documentary about the reality of what goes on in these massage parlors that are in and out of business around the country. This tells us the legal issues that this industry bring, and how law enforcement is handling the situation. This is a good documentary if you are wanting to learn the truth and reality about massage parlors that offer happy endings. However, the documentary was not the best filming job in my opinion. I say one should consider why they are wanting to purchase the video before they make the final decision, and I believe that this should be used as an informative tool only.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2009
This DVD suffers from too loud background music played over the talking of various subjects. Have said that, it is a solid look at AMPs (Asian Massage Parlors) and the lives of the women, managers/pimps, lawmakers and police involved in this subject.

This is a non-titillating movie that shows a fairly objective view of the commercial sexploitation of women. It really doesn't take sides but flushes out the viewpoints of it subjects.

I can tell you that it was an uncensored look at a very hard life for these sex-workers.

It discusses sexual slavery in the trade without any direct examples but I think it is more common than believed, just not here. It appears that the sex workers are really harassed and that it is a very hard life though the subjects here do not appear to be involved in sexual slavery but by personal choice. The johns here are shown to get away with their visits without any repercussions. The underlying racism of some of the law enforcement personal is also discussed.

A powerful and moving documentary.

There is not a Happy Ending but a tragic one.

Highly recommended. Well worth a look.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2009
I love this dvd for a few reasons. I am from Rhode Island and always wondered about the "loophole" in the prostitution law and about those "spas" I drive by every day on my way to work. This film was a great combo of history (background of this 30 year old loophole law) and contemporary (the lives of the women in the spas). This film is full of cult characters, and the filmmaker commentary is great. This really is what indie film is about, so if you like indie films and taboo subjects that are not usually spoken about, grab this one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
I found this documentary kind of difficult to follow and the camera work and audio were a bit choppy. It seemed like it was made with someone's camcorder or cell phone video camera. It's an interesting subject matter but not worth watching based on the production values.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
I would have given this four or five stars if it was subtitled
it was hard for me to hear of the dialog but it appeared to show both sides of the story and
it is scary as to how government can impose on consulting adults and exaggerate and make up lies
to impose religious morals on citizens
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
An unflinching, powerful look inside the massage parlor world and the people it touches. You will not forget Heather.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
Everyone should see this side of the AMP industry and see the harassment most of these women go through. This movie will change the way people think.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2012
Terrible. I thought it would be a documentary about crime and police. Not much of a plot, just a meandering doc, everyone is blurred out. Bad.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.