Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2013
I have to preface this review by saying I'm not a hunter. I don't know a single things about ducks, other than the fact that sometimes they like to swim in my pool and drive me nuts. I've also never seen Duck Dynasty. I don't have a beard (and that's a plus, considering I'm female...) (No offense to any hairy women out there. I'm sure your beard is lovely!) Anyway, I have absolutely nothing in common with Phil Robertson. In fact, before this book's release, I didn't even know who he was. So, for all intents and purposes, I had no reason on earth to pick this book up. But the cover really stood out to me; Something about Phil and his "happy happy happy" title drew me in, so I had to check it out. And I'm so glad I did.

I'm sure I'm not saying anything that fans of his don't already know, but for those of you who (like me) may be coming from an outside perspective, let me just say that this guy is awesome and the book about his life and experiences live up to it's title. I'm happy cubed.

It really goes to show that although we may have very different backgrounds, interests, hobbies, and lifestyles, many of us still stand on very common ground. We all make mistakes, we've all struggled to find happiness in our lives. But, it's all within our power to change. A big life lesson I try to drive home with my kids is that you can't live your life for other people. If you love something, then you love it with everything you've got and don't ever half-ass it. Then, and only then, will you will find true happiness. And that's what this book is about, told through the stories of his past, his present, mistakes, accomplishments, and his close family.

Fans of Phil Robertson, I'm sure, will love this book; they don't need to read a review from me. But, I'm here to prove that this book has a much bigger reach than just satisfying fans. His passion, drive, work-ethic and loyalty are truly inspirational. It was also really entertaining and easy to read. Consider me a Phil Robertson fan from here on out.

Now maybe he can write another book telling me how to get rid of these stupid ducks in my pool...
1212 comments| 468 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 24, 2013
Recently my son introduced my wife and I to the A&E networks television series, "Duck Dynasty." We quickly fell in love with this show, belly laughing through each of the episodes in the three seasons.

Going through withdrawal while waiting for the fourth pseason, I found myself searching the internet to learn more about the real life background of the famed Robertson clan. While doing so, I noticed Phil Robertson the patriarch of the Duck Dynasty had written this book, Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander. I normally buy my books at amazon.com; however, when I spotted it at a Sam's Club the other day, I grabbed it and read it at one sitting.

Folks, this is a great family story. It has its moments of humor, but this is a true to life story of a family that is growing rare. They work together, pray together, hunt and fish together, eat together and genuinely love the Lord and enjoy each others company.

Phil Robertson is the fourth of five sons of James and Merritt Robertson, who also raised two daughters. Phil was born on April 24th, 1946. His brother Jimmy Frank is 10 years older than him, while his brothers Harold and Tommy are 6 and 2 years older respectively. Judy is his older sister while Silas and Jan are his younger brother and sister.

Phil's parents lived in hard times and raised their kids like they were living in an era 100 years earlier. They lived primarily off the land hunting, fishing, picking berries and fruit, growing vegetables and working together enjoying what they had, not complaining about what they did not have.

Phil excelled in baseball, basketball and football and like his older brother, Tommy received a full football scholarship at Louisiana Tech in Ruston, Louisiana where he earned the starting quarterback job as a redshirt freshman his second year on the team. Future NFL Quarterback Terry Bradshaw was his college teammate and second string behind him in that position.

At 15, high school cheer leader for his football team Miss Kay Carroway and Phil, then 16 were married. Phil went on to received a Bachelors Degree and Masters Degree in Education and taught school for a while until running with the wrong crowd and drinking too much nearly cost him his family--Miss Kay and son's Alan, Jason and Willie.

At 28, Phil dedicated his life to the Lord, quit drinking and set a positive example for his boys. His fourth son, Jeptha was born in 1978.

Miss Kay, the keystone of the family, stuck by her husband through thick and thin. While the kids never showed any sign of disrespect toward Phil, they knew in advance what their punishment would be for disrespect or disobedience to their mother or misbehavior--three whacks, no more or no less.

Thanks to Miss Kay for holding the family together and raising their son's to love God, the land and its creatures and family, the boys all grew up to be ordained ministers like their father. Alan and Jeptha had problems with alcohol and drugs like their father, but they came back to the fold and left that life behind.

When Phil put his mind to accomplishing something, he never gave up. Starting out with meager returns as both a commercial fisherman and a duck call manufacturer, Phil and his children are now millionaires, yet are humble, serve their church, minister to others, work together, fish and hunt together, eat together, prosper and live a Happy, Happy, Happy life; and like Phil's brother, retired army veteran, Silas says: "that's a fact, Jack!"

This is an awesome story about an unusual family in this day and age. Phil and Kay's boys are all married with children of their own now. Alan and Lisa have two daughters, their eldest, Anna is married to Jay. Jason and his wife Missy have 3 kids. Willie and his wife Korie have 4 children. Jeptha and his wife Jessica have 4 children.

The thing I like the best about the A&E series is that it is a show that the entire family can watch without censorship whether you are 5 or 95.

The thing that I find most impressive about Phil's story is that this is a family who actually enjoys spending time together sharing a special bond. They may look a little weird, but they have their priorities in order.

Enjoy!
2424 comments| 130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
I admit, I live in the same town as the Robertson's, and I love their show. That is not what impresses me most about this family. What really impresses me, you will see in this book, they are the real deal! They don't just talk the talk, they walk the walk. They do not condemn others, they lift everyone around them up. They make no excuses, they live the way they believe God wants them too. They motivate, inspire, and assist others to have a better life. They have not let their money go to their heads. They are just real down to earth people who love God, Family and Ducks. They made their money the old fashioned way, they EARNED it, not from the tv show, from selling duck calls and hunting videos long before the tv show came along.
Take the time to get to know the Patriarch of this family. He looks different from your regular Joe, but he speaks wisdom and it comes straight from his heart.
11 comment| 152 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
The book is inspirational for business and family. Most of all it gives God the glory! I really like the family comments in the back.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
What a legacy, but more important what a testimony for the Lord. Thank you for your service to the King of kings.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2013
This is a Good summer or travel reading. Its Funny, and light, yet packed full of good lessons for every day life.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
This was an outstanding read and a must have for a fan of the show! This book will leave you Happy, Happy, Happy! See what it took for Phil and his family to be where they are today!
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
awesome story about how a man can change his life and others. A book all young men should read, Jack!
11 comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
Finally someone standing up for Christ and family . May God bless the Robertson family. This is a good book for men and women alike
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
Awesome and inspiring book. I can't wait to read more about the Robertson family. Phil's philosophy is amazingly simply, God.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse