Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Hard Truth About Soft Skills: Workplace Lessons Smart People Wish They'd Learned Sooner
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 21, 2010
This book is extremely heavy on anecdote. Nearly every page has one or two "real life" examples illustrating the author's points. As a result, the book is very easy to read, but it's not very instructive.

If you are impressed by the abundance of 5-star Amazon reader reviews, you shouldn't be. Many of them look like shills: they're heavily clustered at the start of the book's availability; the reviewers have no other reviews; many mention the author by her first name and describe her personality rather than the book itself. It's really sad that so many authors, publishers and agents feel they are entitled to "game" the Amazon review system.
77 comments|253 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2008
More or less a book about being nice at work. More of general guidelines as opposed to structured advice on learning to deal with people. Perhaps a good launch pad, but a little thin in content.
0Comment|76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2009
It's a good book, but definitely not definitive. I'd consider it more of a "primer" than anything because it doesn't go into great depth or detail. It's only 175 pages so I got through it in two nights; it's a very easy read. Most of it seemed like refresher (which I admittedly needed) from other books I've read or training I've taken. Another reviewer wished she'd had this as a college graduation present - actually, this would be a good book for anyone just starting their first job, simply to create awareness of the importance of soft skills. Since finishing this book, I've started reading "Secrets to Winning at Office Politics", which goes much deeper into the topic, and so far, I'd highly recommend it.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 19, 2013
I recommend this book for those who are just starting their careers. If you don't know already, soft skills are critical to anyone's career success. Without it, your opportunities will be limited.

The book is about career management more than just soft skills.

This book goes over all the how to manage your career. The author justifiably emphasize that it is everyone's responsibility to keep his/her skills updated. The company will not do that for you.

Some of the soft skills covered are basic such as communication and listening, and how to deal with politics, your boss, and your enemies. I wouldn't say there are breakthrough ideas in this book. But just a good solid coverage of the basics.

Pros:
1)Good coverage on how to manage your career.
2)Good coverage on how to manage your boss, allies, enemies, and most important of all, yourself.
3)Good coverage of in-and-out of corporate politics such as Do's and Don'ts.

Cons:
1)Basic coverage and doesn't cater to the those who are more advanced in their careers.
2)The book has lot of breadth but not necessarily great depth.
3)you can't really learn soft skills by reading a book. You need to apply the concepts in this book on a regular basis, and that's when the real learning happens.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2010
Pros: a fast read. a very good handbook for college grads who work for big corporates. a lot of the points made in the book are apparent to most people, but a lot of people tend to forget these rules in reality. it is a good reminder to have before embarking on a career.

cons: same as many reviews here, i do find many anecdotes in the book redundant. after all, Peggy is a real life consultant than a writer. so the book overall is not effectively written. also, i find it annoying that the writer implies to sell her consulting service between the lines of the content. Such as talking about how all the big company employees/managers go to her for advice in case of a dilemma.

I gave it four stars because overall the content/selection of the topics of the book is much better than similar self-help books on the market right now. they are good points made in the book that every career starter should grasp before entering the workplace.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
This book is great. It provides real life issues and stories as examples. Unfortunately it does not really provide much of solutions.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
This book is filled with the same boring and bland advice you can find on countless blogs written by amateur writers. It's mostly common sense filled with endless anecdotes about people and how they used this advice. It's a frustrating read because it has potential, but it's just not well-written. Did I mention the endless anecdotes?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
One the few self-help/ advice books that I managed to get through. Although the advice is mostly obvious, it is presented in a way that makes sense. Examples are concise and the author gets to the point quickly. The book is structured well and doesn't get too tiring to read. It's true this is not for people who need the extra help with problematic situations at work. It doesn't even offer a lot of career advice. But what it does offer is a broad perspective on general behaviour / actions at work. How we should conduct ourselves in general. Picked up a couple great points that I probably know but need to put into practice. Quick and worth the read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2014
The the book has many great ideas, concepts, and information. I felt like the book fell a bit flat when providing thorough explanation for each level with lots of generic lead ins.

Overall liked the read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2013
I never read a book that really tells the truth. But reading the book, makes me realize how much I still have to learn about soft skills. I makes me approach these skills with a little more patience and how to deal with the siturations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse