Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of songs
I love this album. Todd has selected some of his favorite songs to cover and the band has made them their own. They arranged the songs to tell a story. Here is a track list with the original songwriter:

"Blackland Farmer" by Frankie Miller
"Another Train" by Will Kimbrough
"Down to the Well" by Kevin Gordon and Lucinda...
Published 10 months ago by S. DeToffol

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Get It
This record is in the same category as Elvis Costello's "Almost Blue" and Lyle Lovett's "Step Inside This House": a popular artist leaving a trail of bread crumbs back to their less well known influences. In this case, the Amerricans are doing songs by Gillian Welch, Drivin' and Cryin', and Bottle Rockets, among others. The price is right and the...
Published 10 months ago by Smiley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Get It, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
This record is in the same category as Elvis Costello's "Almost Blue" and Lyle Lovett's "Step Inside This House": a popular artist leaving a trail of bread crumbs back to their less well known influences. In this case, the Amerricans are doing songs by Gillian Welch, Drivin' and Cryin', and Bottle Rockets, among others. The price is right and the sentiment is noble; however, none of these versions improve on the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of songs, February 12, 2014
By 
S. DeToffol (Bloomington, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
I love this album. Todd has selected some of his favorite songs to cover and the band has made them their own. They arranged the songs to tell a story. Here is a track list with the original songwriter:

"Blackland Farmer" by Frankie Miller
"Another Train" by Will Kimbrough
"Down to the Well" by Kevin Gordon and Lucinda Williams
"The Mountain Song" by Kieran Kane
"Stomp and Holler" by Hayes Carll
"Straight to Hell" by Drivin' N' Cryin
"Welfare Music" by The Bottle Rockets
"Mr. President, Have Pity on the Working Man" by Randy Newman
"Run a Mile" by Dan Herron and Chuck Mead
"I Don't Have a Gun" by Will Kimbrough and Tommy Womack
"Wrecking Ball" by Gillian Welch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stellar production by a stellar line-up, May 5, 2014
By 
Tessandori (BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (MP3 Music)
I'll start with a bit just to let some of you know who all we are dealing with:

Hard Working Americans is an American rock supergroup formed in 2013. The band consists of singer Todd Snider, bassist Dave Schools from Widespread Panic, Neal Casal of Chris Robinson Brotherhood on guitar and vocals, Chad Staehly of Great American Taxi on keyboards and Duane Trucks, younger brother to Derek on drums.[1]

Their debut performance was December 20, 2013 at a Boulder, CO benefit for Colorado Flood Relief.[2] They embarked on a US Tour shortly thereafter.

Their self-titled debut album Hard Working Americans was recorded in 2013 at Bob Weir's TRI Studios in San Rafael, CA. It is comprised entirely of cover songs from artists ranging from Randy Newman to Drivin N Cryin. The album was produced by Schools and Snider, and was mixed by John Keane. John Popper guests on harmonica. Hard Working Americans was released on January 21, 2014 on Thirty Tigers/Melvin Records.

Alright...if you have never heard of any of these guys its because you are gettin' your new music from the wrong sources...I.E. your local corporate radio regurgitator. This disc will help cure that.

Because this is an album of covers done by some of the best in the biz all we can rate is the performance and delivery. The musicianship on this record is beautiful and tight without being an overproduced nightmare and yet the songs are fresh and raw as if they were being performed by the artists who composed them but in an alternate lifetime. If you want something exceptional that will grow on you, and stands apart from the crowd of garbage heard everywhere. This is that record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I wanna do is stomp and holler!, January 21, 2014
By 
slg (BROWNS SUMMIT, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
This is a delightful album featuring an all star cast of top notch musicians performing tunes by some of America's most talented songwriters. The songs meld seamlessly together, drawing the listener into a cleverly crafted storyline. From the highly addictive, hell raising Stomp and Holler, written by Hayes Carll, to the hauntingly mesmerizing Down to the Well, written by Kevin Gordon, this album is one of those you will be playing over and over in your head long after your first listen. Featuring the exceptionally gifted Todd Snider, Dave Schools, Neal Casal, Chad Staehly and Duane Trucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really like this album, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (MP3 Music)
I heard a review of this album on NPR and decided to buy it. It is very good. The feel of the band is tight and the songs are all good. I read somewhere that all the songs are covers as if that were a negative or a shortcut taken by the band. Unless you are a hard core alt country fan I doubt you would notice. The music is played with real commitment, the vocals a very good and there is a quality to the music that makes you want to listen over and over. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the music doesn't break any new ground or reveal great ambition. It is just great American music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocking Hippies, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (MP3 Music)
Love Todd Snider, I buy anything the guy puts out so for $6 I figured I would take a chance. Not disappointed. As other people have mentioned these are all covers but since I have never heard any of them before they are new to me. This record is fun and in the case of "Straight to hell" moving, all the way through. Not one bad track. I hope they tour because I would love to see these guys live. Help out some hard working Americans and buy this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad song on here., May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
All the songs are covers but I like em all. It did take me a few listens to get to that point. Wrecking Ball from Gillian Welch - is one of my Favorites, Run a mile is great.....and on and on and on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (MP3 Music)
This is a great, great album. I love every single song on it. Recommended for all fans of Todd Snider and American roots music in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very high and also very ok, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
There are 3 songs that are absolutely killer, but most sounds like a first start. I expect the next album to get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty Roots Rock, January 30, 2014
By 
Dennis Stephens "seberg99" (Champlin, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hard Working Americans (Audio CD)
Well produced and tight, this is a good album of covers by the band fronted by Todd Snider. Todd pretty much only sings here, leaving the rest of the band to shine. It's not 5 star, but pretty dang good. Love "Stomp and Holler."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hard Working Americans
Hard Working Americans by Hard Working Americans (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.