Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product
Works great. Defiantly worth the money. Its strips really thick wire as well as thin wire. But it does the thick stuff very well
Published 17 months ago by kaitlyn

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It does what it suppose to, but barely!
If you are considering buy this, Don’t. This is not a good hobby starter. And it really is not for those who have a lot of cable to strip.

First the good;
It is of solid construction. And it is not flimsy.
When it does work it can speed up the process slightly and you don’t have to fiddle around with a knife too much. So you minimize your...
Published 20 months ago by Ashik A. Khandker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It does what it suppose to, but barely!, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you are considering buy this, Don’t. This is not a good hobby starter. And it really is not for those who have a lot of cable to strip.

First the good;
It is of solid construction. And it is not flimsy.
When it does work it can speed up the process slightly and you don’t have to fiddle around with a knife too much. So you minimize your chance to cut yourself.

Now the Bad;
The cutting pin is strong but not very deep or sharp so you will have to constantly change and adjust the pin position depending on the thickness of the plastic. And if its double layered which any worthwhile copper cable is then you have to do the process twice. Supper west of your time and effort.
And forget about it if you have anything with a 1.5CM or higher diameter the designer was extremely short sighted, the three stabilizers need to be further out with longer adjusters. You can adjust in for small cables but not out so a cable like the cable pictured on their adds would fit but you won’t be able to secure it.
You are fiddling and adjusting the tool enough that it does west a lot of time on just setup.
It has a skinny designee and doesn’t feel sturdy when mounted; I wish it had a handle or a bigger footprint.
There is no stabilizing unit to feed the cable so cable will always dangle and give you all kinds of traction issues and through put nightmare. You will hate yourself trying to feed the cables when it is Vertical.

What I had to do is create a feeder system (kind of defeats the purpose of buying the tool)
1. I cut a hole on two wood boards and mounted them aligned on a 2/4 frame so I can pull the cables through boards then pull through the tool for a more stable throughput.
2. Still I had to constantly keep the tool aligned to the feeder system for some kind of a consistent flow. Every few minute something would come loose.
3. Still it was quite difficult, so I then took the tool off of its mount and laid it flat on my feeder system as its better to pull up the cables.

Unbelievably bad designee execution so makes the item super awkward to use no matter what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for big cable, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
This item is only good for small wire I have big cable like 350,750,500 cannot go in the machine to start, could have been better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
Works great. Defiantly worth the money. Its strips really thick wire as well as thin wire. But it does the thick stuff very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay., March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
it worked good on bigger wire like auto battery cables not good on smaller stuff.made my money back in few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
It saved me a lot of time and effort!! For the price it did exactly what I needed it to do. I just wish it would do up to 3/4 inch as it advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not strip wire as large as they claim it will., June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
Good only for 10 gage wire or less. will not strip wire as large as they claim. Returned the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stripping, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
This tool is awesome! I stripped 65 lbs of copper cable in a matter of minutes. I made over $200 instead of only $140
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
the wire doesn't stay in the needle and its just not constructed very well. We returned it for a different one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars wire stripper, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
i don' t like it very much at all in a short term it is an exspensive piece of scrap the needle don' t stay on center the brittle plastic knobs are crap the flat bearing don't hold the wire in place . NOT A GOOD PRODUCT can't believe the lies in the write- up .who pays those people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It works well for most sizes, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper (Tools & Home Improvement)
It works very well for most sizes, but leaves a little to be desired on 18AWG and smaller. It can be a little tricky to use at first, but once you get the hang of how to adjust the rollers and blades it works pretty well. Saved me a lot of time and makes scrapping easier. If you're on a budget (like me) this is great, but if you have the money spend it on something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hardin WS-1270 Manual Cable and Wire Stripper
$45.95
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.