Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harlequin: A Change of Place - I like it
As I stated in another review of harlequin turned movie, I enjoy these simplistic movies. I really enjoyed this one. I thought it was rather good and I am not sorry I made the purchase. I try to collect just about all of the Harlequin based movies because I like un-complicated viewing.
Published on December 5, 2009 by micohawinds

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A switched-twins light romantic drama set in beautiful Paris
Twenty-something Kimberly is as different as night and day from her identical-twin sister Domenique (both parts played by Andrea Roth). Kimberly is a dedicated scholar working on her Ph.D. in art history, and Domenique is a successful model based in Paris. Kimberly hasn't seen her sister in years when she suddenly shows up on Kimberly's doorstep in the U.S. It is obvious...
Published on August 28, 2010 by Kate McMurry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harlequin: A Change of Place - I like it, December 5, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
As I stated in another review of harlequin turned movie, I enjoy these simplistic movies. I really enjoyed this one. I thought it was rather good and I am not sorry I made the purchase. I try to collect just about all of the Harlequin based movies because I like un-complicated viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted to Romance, May 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
Interesting romance movie with romantic tension and intrigue and an interesting twist in the story. If your looking for a "take me away" movie and one you want to watch over and over this is it!!!! At least in my opinion. Nothing like a Harlequin movie. Love a great romance with romantic tension between the characters!!!! Why can't American romance movies be made like this, especially without all the psychological drivel or the ding bat fluff! Canada has made the best romance movies in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A switched-twins light romantic drama set in beautiful Paris, August 28, 2010
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
Twenty-something Kimberly is as different as night and day from her identical-twin sister Domenique (both parts played by Andrea Roth). Kimberly is a dedicated scholar working on her Ph.D. in art history, and Domenique is a successful model based in Paris. Kimberly hasn't seen her sister in years when she suddenly shows up on Kimberly's doorstep in the U.S. It is obvious Domenique has a major drinking problem, but she has been unable to check herself into a rehab facility for fear her career will tank in the ultra-competitive world of modeling while she is out of commission for 28 days. When Kimberly expresses concern and states she wishes she could help her sister, it suddenly occurs to Domenique that with a bit of fashion and grooming help, Kimberly could be a dead ringer for her and actually take her place in Paris for a few weeks while she gets medical help. Though Kimberly protests strongly at first, it is clear that her sister's very survival is at stake and she ultimately gives in.

Life as a model is far more challenging than Kimberly could have imagined, but what truly takes her by surprise is the powerful attraction she feels toward Philippe (Rick Springfield), the co-owner of the famous fashion house where Domenique is scheduled to participate in a huge, glitzy fashion show--in spite of the fact that it's no fun to be on the receiving end of the disdain that the handsome and sophisticated Philippe clearly feels for Domenique. On Philippe's side, he is amazed to discover that the flighty Domenique he's previously viewed as a drunken mess has amazing depths he never previously suspected.

For fans of Rick Springfield as a talented actor, this movie will be a treat. But fans of Rick as a singer may be disappointed that he doesn't sing, as he did for the fun movie, Hard to Hold, filmed 10 years before this one at the height of his fame as a rocker. This movie isn't a romantic comedy either, as is HTH, but it is a pleasant, light drama for those who want to spend a relaxing hour and a half enjoying the interaction of two attractive, appealing romantic leads and the exciting sights and sounds of Paris.

For those who read Harlequin Romance novels, you will notice that there is not nearly as much emphasis on the romance as is the case in the novel the film is based on. The focus in the movie is much more on the relationship of the two sisters initially, and later on the "fish out of water" tale of Kimberly dealing with the various messes her alcoholic sister has gotten herself into prior to Kimberly taking over Domenique's life. The romance doesn't get warmed up until well into the film. But Rick does a good job as the male romantic lead once it begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really liked this movie!, November 6, 2010
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
Put aside realism for a moment and enjoy this movie. It had glitz and glamour with a bit of intrigue and suspense thrown in. The gorgeous Andrea Roth plays both Kim and Kate "Domenique" Jameson, and the duel role showcases this actress' wide range of acting as she alternates between the bookish sister and the glamorous sister in the early part of the movie. The scenes where the twins are together are very well done.

Rick Springfield as Philippe looks older and a little worse for wear when up close, but no woman in her right mind would say he isn't still handsome. He has perfected the soap opera look from his work on General Hospital and he gives a fine performance of a distrustful hero with a painful past. I must admit I have a soft spot for Rick, who comes from my hometown of Sydney. And who can forget his hit song from the 80's, Jessie's Girl?

The first-rate supporting cast includes the beautiful Stephanie Beacham (Dynasty) and classical actor, Ian Richardson, who appeared in a wide variety of films throughout his career. Add to the mix magnificent buildings, grand architecture and stunning art. Music with a trendy background beat gives the movie a liveliness that complements the cosmopolitan storyline. A really enjoyable movie. High-Society Seduction (Silhouette Desire)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Springfield Movie, August 30, 2009
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
This was a wonderful romance movie. Love to see Rick Springfield in a variety of roles. I recommend it for anyone who is a Rick fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hot damn, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
been lookin for this movie for years and I mean years!!!! an now I finally have it. to me it's worth buying and watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Change of Place, January 28, 2013
By 
EvaM (Connecticut Yankee) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
This is a romance for a quiet afternoon, with good acting and a simple story. The plot is no surprise, but still nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick ROCKS!, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
I love the fact that this movie is less known compared to hard to hold. A must for any collector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER ROMANCE MOVIE, October 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
HARLEQUIN DOES IT AGAIN; THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE; ROMANCE, INTRIGUE, THE LIFE OF FASHION AND THE LIVES OF TWO TWINS WHO CHANGE LIVES TO HELP EACH OTHER AND ONE FINDS LOVE WHERE SHE LEAST EXPECTED IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie on a lazy weekend!!!!, January 11, 2010
By 
Susan M. Franklin "imlugan" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harlequin: A Change of Place (DVD)
Cute little movie starring Rick Springfield. I enjoy watching it with a cup of hot tea on a lazy Saturday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Harlequin: A Change of Place
Harlequin: A Change of Place by Donna Deitch (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: $2.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.