Customer Reviews


2,626 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,034)
4 star:
 (289)
3 star:
 (113)
2 star:
 (69)
1 star:
 (121)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,304 of 1,416 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, but a couple of comments
I'm actually very pleased with this product! It's very cheap, and very good quality. There are, however, a couple of things that I feel I should point out.

First, the case that it comes in is a standard mass production case that most multi-disc sets use. Don't expect a lavish collectable case, especially for the price. The case is still very durable, and allows...
Published on November 16, 2011 by AAL113

versus
444 of 554 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, buy the region-free UK version
Nobody in their right mind should buy this. Seriously. If you don't have any of the HP films on Blu, go on Amazon.co.uk and buy the version from there. You get all 8 movies on Blu, same as this set, plus three extras discs that this set does *not* have, and it costs you about $30 less even AFTER shipping. You'll have to wait a few extra days to get it in your hands...
Published on November 19, 2011 by The Helmsman


‹ Previous | 1 2263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,304 of 1,416 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, but a couple of comments, November 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm actually very pleased with this product! It's very cheap, and very good quality. There are, however, a couple of things that I feel I should point out.

First, the case that it comes in is a standard mass production case that most multi-disc sets use. Don't expect a lavish collectable case, especially for the price. The case is still very durable, and allows all of the movies to be stored in a small amount of space.

Second, the films in this set ARE NOT THE SPECIAL EDITIONS. They are standard edition, as if the first disc from each movie was put in here. While there are some special features, there are not a lot.

Next, the discs themselves appear to be great quality. All of mine worked extremely well, and there were no defects whatsoever, save one thing. The disc that I received for Deathly Hallows Part 1 is missing a cover. The disc is all black, and the title and copyright information are on there, but there is not picture. This, however does not in any way affect the viewing of the movie, and is only an aesthetic concern.

Also, the box that the DVD's come in is not the absolute best quality, but it is sturdy. It serves it's purpose, and it looks very nice!

PLease note, if you want something that's collectible, DO NOT BUY THIS SET. There are others out there that will better suit your needs. However, this set satisfies all of the casual viewers' needs. It presents the movies in an accessible, affordable manner, and is absolutely a great buy! I recommend this to all Harry Potter fans who wish to have all of the movies!

EDIT As of Nov 12, 2013: It seems that the original product that I wrote this review for has been altered in some way. I'm very sorry for any confusion that results form this. Just to clear up, the set that i bought only included the 8 movies on regular DVDS. There were not any special features or extra discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,127 of 1,236 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cheap package with all eight movies... the way I like it., September 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like how a lot of fans are slamming Warner Brothers for offering up a box set containing all eight films in one compact package. They accuse how WB constantly does this for the Harry Potter franchise, and to be fair, WB has been doing incomplete Potter boxed releases for years, starting with "Prisoner of Azkaban" onwards. But when the WB actually makes a nice package with all eight films included, they still complain because there's hardly any bonus material. WB did this for their first four Batman movies before the glorious Batman Anthology came to be, so those fans have been waiting a long time that as well.

The set will just have a repressing of the initial releases, and the first three movies include their respective trailers, while "Deathly Hallows Parts 1 & 2" have deleted/extended scenes, so the "no extras" claim doesn't hold as much water. They have some, as opposed to none. Not to mention the quality of the past three Ultimate Editions' bonus features have declined to the point where I just stopped buying them (bulky packaging, no commentary and no extended editions are the deal-breakers). For me, I just want the movies, and this set allows that. For that alone it gets 4 stars. It's a no-frills package but worth it if you just want the movies and save shelf space.

If you want a comprehensive box set with tons of extras for each movie, you'll have to wait. Don't buy it if you don't want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


548 of 670 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just use amazon.co.uk, October 1, 2011
amazon.co.uk has the three different HP movies 1-8 sets
just go to the site and type in "harry potter 1-8"

ALLL BLU RAY CUSTOMERS can order, as these are region free and with HD media, there is no such thing as PAL encoding.
"Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011][Region Free]"
and "Harry Potter: The Complete 1-8 Film Collection - Limited Numbered Edition (Blu-ray + DVD) [2011][Region Free]"

I live in philly, i ordered the regular set, its going to come to around 40 bucks i believe
the special edition version will be way less than 100 and far surpasses this version sold here

the dvd set is SUPER cheap but it is not region free and it IS in PAL. so most americans wont be able to see it

this is true for most of amazon.co.uk 's inventory. as far as blu ray, as long as it says region free, it will work in america, and it only takes a week to get here, and it is ALWAYS cheaper. and they have WAY more unique box sets and artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


444 of 554 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, buy the region-free UK version, November 19, 2011
By 
Nobody in their right mind should buy this. Seriously. If you don't have any of the HP films on Blu, go on Amazon.co.uk and buy the version from there. You get all 8 movies on Blu, same as this set, plus three extras discs that this set does *not* have, and it costs you about $30 less even AFTER shipping. You'll have to wait a few extra days to get it in your hands because they have to ship it overseas, but I think most people would probably rather wait than spend than the money.

Okay, the UK box isn't quite as spiffy-looking (or maybe it's better, if you're into Daniel Radcliffe). Is a better box worth a $30 price premium? The UK 1-8 box set is undisputably a better version, and it costs significantly less. Warners, why are you trying to sell us this? Anybody with a half a brain sees right through you.

**December 2012 edit**
This is STILL applicable advice, but in light of some of the comments I think I should clarify that I am ONLY talking about the Blu-rays, not the DVD set. The UK DVD set is Region 2 and will not work with most players in the US and Canada. Current price as of this edit is GBP 20.00, which works out to around $33 or so before shipping. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great but..., February 6, 2014
When are we going to get a set that includes the movies in the format like they're broadcast on ABC Family? ...you know, with all the extra bits reintegrated? I'm holding onto my money until that comes along. And I have no doubt it will, eventually, because nothing puts money in the WB coffers like re-re-re-releasing some movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 183 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still Holding Out (Even though it will never happen), February 6, 2014
Please, Warner Bros, stop repackaging everything, and give me a real collection. Ones that include ALL the extended versions of the movie. I know you have them. Please give them up. If you released this same package but it includes all extended versions, I will pay the 170.00. Until then, I will continue to with hold. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cost effective, September 22, 2011
This is a great package for those of us who are not interested in all the extra features that you have to pay alot more money for and not even watch the price is good for just the movies. If you want the extras then just wait and pay alot more it'll be out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection DVD What You Get, February 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this DVD set knowing it was a bare-bones edition and received basically what I expected. All films have a menu with scene selections and all discs have nice cover art (no black disk like another reviewer had).

Here's a full list of all the other minor features:

Sorcerer's Stone
-English and Spanish language and Subs
-Cast and crew list (really, just a list)
-Teaser and theatrical trailer

Chamber of Secrets
-Same as Sorcerer's Stone except additional French Subtitles and short recap of first movie

Prisoner of Azkaban
-English, Spanish, and French language and Subs
-Cast and crew list
-theatrical trailers for first 3 movies

Goblet of Fire
-English and Spanish language and Subs + French subs

Order of the Phoenix
-English, Spanish, and French language and subs + English subs for the hearing impaired

Half-Blood Prince
-Same as Order of the Phoenix minus French language and subs

Deathly Hallows Part 1
-English (subs only for hearing impaired) and Spanish language and subs
-5 additional scenes

Deathly Hallows Part 2
-English(subs only for hearing impaired), Spanish, and French language and subs
-8 additional scenes

As for the films themselves? All awesome, personally I think the last two films are the best due to the improved acting for all the main cast, Alexandre Desplat's incredible musical score, and of course the darker, more engaging storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll save you the CONFUSION!, August 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I want to help clarify the difference between the 2 affordable Harry Potter Blu-Ray series, to you all. I've been back and forth on which to buy for the last several months. When searching on Amazon for this set, you'll notice that there are 2 sets, both with all 8 movies, both with the same number of reviews. These are INDEED different, regardless of how similar they are described. Here's why...
I'll start with the blu-ray that has 3 differently aged Harry's on the cover. You'll notice that it is bigger than the other collection being sold. What they don't tell you is that the discs are all in separate cases, as they are sold by themselves in stores. There are also 11 dics, not just 8. But to be clear on this as well, these are just bonus content from the last 3 movies. It's not bonus content on the entire series. You'll also notice, from a side view picture, the list of movies that are in the box. The first says, "The Philosopher's Stone", rather than "The Sorcerer's Stone". Don't worry, it's not a bootleg copy. It's the English (UK) version of the set. The U.S. version changed the name for marketing purposes and it doesn't affect anything about the set.
Now for the OTHER set being sold:
You'll notice about a $15 price difference in the two. This set, with the cover being of the castle, is smaller and more compact. This is because it has an insert the unfolds with all movies attached to each fold. It's neater, takes up less space, and in my opinion, looks more like the set it should be. However, this set contains only 8 discs (1 for each movie). I know about this set because It is the same that I borrowed from a friend.
So, there's not much of a difference here. I bought the bigger looking box because of the extra content and it was cheaper. The other box looks more like a classic collection but lacks content.
Hope this helped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Title Says it All... so stop complaining., December 1, 2011
The reviews warning against this product due to a lack of special features are completely misguided. The title of this release is "The 8 Film Collection"; it is not called "Collector's Edition" or "Deluxe Edition" or "The Bonus Features Galore Collection". This is a nice little set for casual fans who simply want all 8 films on blu-ray. And considering this set is (currently) less than $80, how can you complain?

Yes, if you're a huge fan of the franchise and want extended cuts and bonus features, save your time and money and wait for a possible future release. But I find it silly that so many reviewers are "warning" others not to buy this release because it doesn't have all the bells and whistles.

You know what it does have? The films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Harry Potter: The Complete 1-8 Film Collection (Limited Numbered Edition)
Used & New from: $199.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.