Customer Reviews


2,291 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,371)
4 star:
 (447)
3 star:
 (211)
2 star:
 (123)
1 star:
 (139)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation of the book! Brought it alive!
As a Harry Potter fan, I'm so happy with this movie adaptation. It's very true to the book (which is fabulous in my opinion, I don't know why some people complained about that), although there are some slight differences. The movie makers have done a wonderful job bringing Rowling's world on screen. The visual effects, especially Fluffy, ghosts, chess pieces, Quidditch...
Published on June 1, 2002 by ophelia0526

versus
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Awful DVD
The movie is great and true to the book. The DVD is an atrocity. Someone had no clue about user interface design. The special features are unimpressive and it takes forever to get anywhere. I do not know who thought following an intricate 18 step process to get to the deleted scenes would be fun. For a video game with controllers, great, with a remote in hand,...
Published on June 5, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation of the book! Brought it alive!, June 1, 2002
As a Harry Potter fan, I'm so happy with this movie adaptation. It's very true to the book (which is fabulous in my opinion, I don't know why some people complained about that), although there are some slight differences. The movie makers have done a wonderful job bringing Rowling's world on screen. The visual effects, especially Fluffy, ghosts, chess pieces, Quidditch game were done exceptionally well.
The second disc is all extras. I guess it was designed for Harry Potter fans and people who enjoyed the movie very much because it was assumed that you've watched the movie beforehand. The deleted scenes were a little hard to find since several steps have to be taken. First I had to go to get the key and take money from the Gringotts bank in Diagon Alley. Then purchase wand from Olivander's. Then return to the school and attend classes. Go to potions class and answer three questions. The questions were a little bit of a hassle for me. Answer for the 1st question: Aphrodel and the tube next to it (forgot name); 2nd question: wolfsbane and monkhood; 3rd question: snake fangs and porcupine quills. After the questions, select winged key by trying out a few. Then select the orange colored potion and you will see the mirror of erised. There are a total of 7 deleted scenes. Although some will say they are not worth the hassle, but I liked them. My other favorite extra is the interview. It was good to learn about the behind the scenes interaction of the director/producer/actors etc and production of the movie in general. They also mentioned something about the second movie.
Overall good buy. Worth every cent. Will rewatch it on DVD many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone ULTIMATE EDITION Blu-ray, December 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To start off this isn't a review of the movie itself, by now you should have already formed an opinion of the movie for yourself or from other reviews of just the film. This is a review for the Ultimate Edition.

Two words: Absolutely Amazing!

This isn't just some scam from Warner Bros to get a few more dollars squeezed out of the Harry Potter movies, this is brand new and refreshing. Warner Bros packaged this set to be (or what appears to be) the last Harry Potter set to be had. Everything that you could want in a collectors set it included here.

The booklet included is surprisingly well done. The book keeps with the theme of the special feature exclusive to the ultimate edition. For example, in the Chamber of Secrets edition the booklet is all about the characters and their development, both at the beginning of the series and how they have evolved through the years. Included are stills from the movie, pictures of the theme (ie. characters, buildings, sets), and my favorite... concept art.

As for the character cards that are included they aren't anything super special but at the same time they aren't cheaply done. The cards are solid and printed well. I could see where some people will find them very satisfying and a highlight of the edition.

The thing that I was most impressed with, however, was the presentation. Finally someone released a special edition of a film and made it presentable and convenient. The boxes are made to look like books that fold open and are neatly packed on the inside. Also on the inside of the book there are images from the film, making it look very much like a collector's item. Warner Bros has really set themselves up nicely for the release of the next six of these.

Overall I was extremely pleased with this edition of the movie and cannot wait for the rest to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the fans, January 6, 2003
By 
Spirited adaptation of the first of J.K. Rowling's phenomenally successful children's books is so keen on being faithful to its original source that it loses a bit of its magic but is marvelous entertainment nonetheless (particularly for the kiddies). Harry Potter is a young orphan boy raised by his meany uncle and aunt who one day learns from a gruff giant named Hagrid (Robbie Coltrane) that he is a wizard, and has been accepted into Hogwart's, a school of sorcery for the magically-abled. Once there he experiences all sorts of adventures with new best friends Ron and Hermione, many of them to the chagrin of the school's kindly headmaster Dumbledore (Richard Harris) and the sharp-as-tacks Professor McGonagall (a wickedly zesty Maggie Smith). Perfect casting all around is a plus, not to mention state-of-the-art visual effects, a boisterous score by John Williams and inspired production design by Academy Award winner Stuart Craig (The Last Emperor, Dangerous Liaisons, The English Patient). Fans of the book will delight in seeing all their favourite aspects of Hogwarts brought to life so accurately, but those less familiar with the world of Harry Potter will lose their patience by the time they get to the anticlimactic last third. It's not as winsomely funny as the book, but it's still quite the charmer. Title in America is Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collector's item., March 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These box sets are extremely nice; at almost 7-3/4 inches (194mm) tall, 5-3/4 inches (145mm) deep and just over 2 inches (52mm) wide, make sure you have enough room on your shelf to display these (remember, there's going to be eight of these sets). The box itself has to be the best design of a blu-ray package I have seen yet, it is constructed of very heavy laminated cardstock with a magnetic catch to hold it shut and has a thin cardstock sleeve to protect it. The two blu-rays and one dvd are stored in a folding plastic and cardstock case that is kept inside the box.

The film itself is beautifully remastered so the stunning scenery and somewhat impressive special effects truly come to life. If you are a true Harry Potter fan, then this Ultimate Edition is a must own especially on blu-ray.

The contents include:
A blu-ray disc with the theatrical version and the extended version with 7 deleted scenes of over 6 and a half minutes worth of film and the "In-movie experience" (picture in picture commentary with behind the scenes footage for the theatrical version only).
Languages: Spoken - English and Spanish; Subtitled - English (for the hearing impaired) and Spanish.

A second blu-ray disc with special features such as:
Behind the Story -
-Introduction with Daniel Radcliffe (2 minutes)
-Creating the World of Harry Potter, Part 1: The Magic Begins - a behind the scenes documentary about the endeavor of casting and creating the world for filming. (1 hour, 2 minutes)
-A Glimpse into the World of Harry potter - an international TV Special from 2001

Additional Footage -
-Deleted scenes that are included in the extended version: Dudley's new School Uniform, Petunia Cracks Eggs with Letters Inside, Tube Ride, Kids Leave Girls Bathroom, Harry sits by Fire in Great Hall, Harry Finds Nicolas Flamel Card, Snape Classroom (extended)

Trailers and TV Spots -
-3 Theatrical Trailers
-15 TV Spots

A dvd disc of various special features from the first special edition release on dvd (I think, since I never owned this dvd):
-A guided tour of Hogwarts in 3D (like internet home tours with narration)
-An interactive scavenger like setup for exploring the world of Harry Potter
-Interviews with the Producers, Director, Screenwriter, Production Designer about cast, scenery, screenplay and special effects of the first film. (16 minutes)
-Dvd-rom features, packed full of cool stuff

An envelope with two collectible cards of a series (Harry Potter, Minerva McGonagall)
A disc for the digital copy
And a photo book of stills and concept art from the entire storyline focusing on locations and sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WONDER OF ENCHANTMENT, May 9, 2003
For a lot of reasons, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is probably a tempting movie to criticize. After all, there is almost nothing a critic hates more than a film that is practically - baring some unforgivable act of gross incompetence - a guaranteed success, despite anything he or she might happen to write about it.
At any rate, while some may quibble with the notion that Sorcerer's Stone is too much like the book that inspired it, the upside for moviegoers is that neither Rowling nor director Christopher Columbus have forgotten the film's primary audience: young readers between the ages of 12 - 16. For those whose parents read the book to them, the age may actually drop a bit below that.
For the most part, as every parent knows, it is an audience frequently patronized with the worst sort of infantile pap imaginable, inundated with coarse language and gratuitous violence, or simply ignored altogether. Columbus, to his credit, does none of the above. In remaining true to his audience, Columbus has, in fact, delivered a film for all of us.

It is obvious Columbus knows, for instance, that a young audience wants to see on the screen what it read in the book. In pursuit of this goal, Columbus and screenwriter Steve Kloves have fashioned characters and settings true to the letter and the spirit of the novel. The characters, especially, strike just the right chord of familiarity. Certainly, we all know that familiarity can wander over the line into disinterested comfort. Remarkably, the characters in Sorcerer's Stone never do. Robbie Coltrane's Hagrid, for instance, looks just as we expect him to. More important, he radiates a warmth and trust that serves as a secure anchor in those moments when events seem to be spinning out of control. As good as Hagrid is in the book, Coltrane's Hagrid is more vivid on the screen.

Which brings us to the performance of Daniel Radcliffe in the role of Harry Potter. At first glance, Radcliffe seems reticent and withdrawn, hidden behind a gauze curtain, an uncertain hero. Yet we cannot forget that Harry Potter is an eleven year-old orphan whose parents have been murdered. He is a foundling whose caretakers resent his existence and actively disapprove of everything he is and, worse, in their own eyes, everything he will become. He is forced to sleep in a closet under the stairs and absorb a constant stream of verbal and physical abuse from his malevolent aunt and uncle and their overindulged son, Dudley.
Yes, of course Harry is withdrawn. Small wonder. Or, as my daughter would say, "Duh!"
In fact, Radcliffe's performance is entirely consistent with Harry's history and upbringing, and Columbus has wisely ensured that, as the chronicle of films progresses, the character of Harry has somewhere to go. There are, after all, six movies still to come. Columbus has clearly determined that, unlike some other celluloid heroes of recent memory (Indiana Jones springs to mind), the character of Harry Potter should have some room to develop, otherwise both the young wizard and his friends would grow quickly stagnant.
Another notable attribute of the film is that the atmosphere and setting, through the more subtle elements of special effects, are beautifully realized. As the first-years are journeying across the lake, their - and our - first view of Hogwarts Castle is absolutely breathtaking, a spectacular, gothic memory from a medieval dream. Inside the castle are stairways that move, pictures that talk and go about their daily routines, and a splendid dining hall that evokes the grandeur of a cathedral. When the Sorting Hat pronounces "GRIFFINDORE" on this opulent stage, Harry's adventures officially begin.
Yes, the adventure has its obvious, special effects masterpieces. The Quidditch match is a high-flying, fast-paced extravaganza of soccer, polo, and basketball on broomsticks. The chess match is the high point of the film. At the same time, there are special effects so well done that they don't draw attention to themselves. The messenger owls flying gracefully into the dining hall to deliver envelopes and parcels is a brief, finely structured, aerial ballet that is easy to take for granted because we are momentarily suspended in the world of Hogwarts and have willingly cast aside our powers of disbelief. When Hedwig flies above Hogwarts Castle, our spirits and our sense of wonder soar with him. It is an impressive accomplishment.
Because it is true to itself and never panders to its audience, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is both exciting and entertaining, an escape to a world where magical things can still happen. It is, in short, a film for the child in all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Awful DVD, June 5, 2002
By A Customer
The movie is great and true to the book. The DVD is an atrocity. Someone had no clue about user interface design. The special features are unimpressive and it takes forever to get anywhere. I do not know who thought following an intricate 18 step process to get to the deleted scenes would be fun. For a video game with controllers, great, with a remote in hand, preposterous. There are few interviews and no commentaries. You get two disks full of annoying and ridiculous graphics..I would be insulting game designers everywhere if I refered to them otherwise. They should release a new single disk DVD with the movie and some decent features that you can reach in a straightforward manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical movie the whole family will enjoy, February 3, 2005
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What a sensational family movie! Daniel Radcliffe stars as Harry, a rather pitiful orphan, who lives with his mean aunt and uncle. On his 11th birthday, Harry discovers he is a wizard and happily leaves home for Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. There, he makes his first-ever pals - classmates Ron and Hermione, and their friendship is the heart of the story. We follow the trio as they go through their first year at school attending magic classes, finding adventure, and even solving a mystery that puts Harry face-to-face with the dark wizard who killed his parents.

Radcliffe captures the innocence and sadness of Harry, as well as his daring-do and sense of fun. Rupert Grint, as his sidekick Ron, delivers most of the comedy lines and is very appealing. Emma Watson plays Hermione with a heart of gold underneath her bookish bossiness. They are supported by a stellar cast, including Maggie Smith and Alan Rickman. There is lots of action, fun special effects, and some sweet, poignant moments as well.

All ages can enjoy this movie, even if you haven't read the book. It's wholesome family entertainment that will leave you feeling good and looking forward to the next film in the series.

Kona
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deleted scenes, May 27, 2002
By 
I also loved the books and the movie but just like someone else said, the film is the real highlight of the DVD. All the special features are aimed to kids except an interview of 15 minutes with Chris Columbus and others. I'm writing this review to give a fast way to find the deleted scenes but you must have the SEARCH function on your DVD player. Go to track 80(80/84) of the second DVD with the SEARCH function. Then, select the 5 th bottle and the stone. That way, you can see the deleted scenes without playing the whole game each time. There is only 6 minutes of deleted scenes on the DVD. Not 10 minutes like I read on the HP website. The deleted scenes are interesting but hardly essential and you can find them as well on the video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A future classic!, March 2, 2002
I saw the movie 4 times - something I've never done before! I found it to be a wonderful retelling on J.K. Rowling's most excellent book. Each successive time I saw it, I found something I missed and things that I eagerly anticipated seeing again. It is wonderful to have a face to put the names to in the book. This will make rereading them all the more enjoyable for me. Even though the movie is almost 3 hours long, I found the time to have gone so fast that I was left wanting more. I would have liked to have seen more than just the one Quidditch match, although that one was very thrilling to watch - made me feel like I was in the stands cheering. I eagerly look forward to the next two movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!!!, May 4, 2002
By A Customer
At first I was reluctant to see this movie because I didn't want to ruin the books. I decided to see it anyways in the small hope that it might be good. I am so glad I saw it!!! This movie is completly true to the book. Besides a few minor details at the end it was almost exactly like the book. The director obviously relized the importance of not changing the movie from the book... This movie stays interesting all the way to the last scene. If your a Harry Potter fan than you should definetly see this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone [Blu-ray]
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone [Blu-ray] by Chris Columbus (Blu-ray - 2007)
$14.98 $10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.