Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12,251
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 179 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on January 8, 2006
It's a shame that such a wonderful book was translated so poorly. The translator, Alicia Dellepiane, has a tendency to translate literally. For example, she translated to "have a fit" (referring to the baby, Dudley, on the second page of the book), as "tenía un berrinche." In Mexico it's "hacía un berrinche" and in much of Latin America it's "daba un berrinche." Errors such as this one abound. It's awkward for readers who know Spanish well and misleading for those who might pick up this book to study Spanish.

I rate the English version as five star.
44 comments|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2005
Nunca se deberia traducir palabras como "embarrased" a "embarazado". No tiene sentido. Le quita la dicha a uno de leer este libro. Lo compre para leereselo a mi hijo pequeno y tengo que siempre cambiarle las palabras "al vuelo" para que las oraciones tengan sentido. Una lastima que una obra tan buena se feamente desmejorada por la pesima traduccion
33 comments|173 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
Obviously, Harry Potter is amazing. However, if you're looking for a collectible , don't waste your money with this cheaply made knock off. I bought the original at Barnes and Noble, and it looked perfect. This version, however, was no where near that. The paper book sleeve was off from how it should be on the actual book, and the texture of the gold embossing of the title was completely cheap. The colors were more faded than the original, and the corners of the book were bent in. This is good if you're looking for a cheap version just to read, but not for a collectible. Spend the extra $15 and get it from B&N.

Also, notice in my pictures how the legit version says $26.99 and the cheal one says $19.99. The jacket art credit is also missing from the bottom of the cheap version.

The legit version from B&N is on the right in my pictures, the one from this site is on the left.
review image review image review image review image
33 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
This is not a true hardcover first edition, which were published by Bloomsbury in England. This book is published by Raincoast which is located in Canada, and who knows what printing it is. It is not a collectable print of the Philosophers Stone, a true first edition sells for thousands of dollars still 59 dollars is a lot to pay for a used book worth about 10 dollars. Watch out for these type of scams when buying books, there are sites on google where you can educate yourself how to determine a true first editon so scammers can't rip you off.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
I would like to say that, first, the Harry Potter books are amazing. However, Pottermore?! It goes to show that Amazon is completely worthless. They could have done so much better, such as allowing you to purchase your favorite books without visiting a third party site. As if J.K. Rowling didn't make enough money as is. I seem to be able to purchase Rick Riordan's books like a normal person, and the Kindle store is secure enough without other sites' help. Also, I would like to say that the Kindle store and Amazon suck because when you download a sample, you get the first few pages of a book only, and by that I mean the copyright page(s), the title page(s), and the table of contents. Yes, I also understand the Kindle screen is b/w, but image quality is so grainy Cheerios can be made from it. Now that I have vented my frustrations, I have only to add the new update is trashier than perhaps a landfill, the mobile site made the browser sick, and the keyboard forgets to refresh and you can still see the pound sign where the "a" is (Pound sign as in currency of Great Britain).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2010
The translation of this book into spanish is "literary" literal.... I started to read it, but, as a spanish native speaker, it did not move me. It was not to my reading standard. The story line, didn't make sense sometimes.... Better stay with the english version. I got more out of the rich language of this book.
Good for english speakers, though! Who want the exact translation of the words.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2009
I love this story, but the translation is not good. Several passages were changed from the English language version. The cause of a tantrum was alterted from a lack of ice cream to a too-small sandwich. A pet toad was changed to a tortoise/turtle. There were several other liberties taken in addition.
This is a good book, but a poor translation.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2001
The translation is very bad. Just a couple exampleS: in the original version, Neville's pet is a toad; in the translation, it is a turtle. In the original · In the original, the bank of the gringotts is managed by goblin; In the translation, this bank is managed by gnomes. (I haven't read the second one, so I don't know how the translator is going to solve this problem when the Weasleys have to de-gnome the garden, are they going to try it at the bank? Or the bank itself is a garden?)
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
Instead of updating this digital edition with Bookerly and proper drop caps, so called " Enhanced Typesetting", good old Pottermore decides to release a different version found here http://www.amazon.com/Harry-Potter-Sorcerers-Stone-Rowling-ebook/dp/B0192CTMYG/ref=pd_sim_351_1?ie=UTF8&dpID=51NyRnx-FOL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_UX300_PJku-sticker-v3%2CTopRight%2C0%2C-44_AC_UL160_SR107%2C160_&refRID=1ZN288Z0VTKY5DJH91SPon

So what, I have to purchase these eBooks again? Why is this eBook not getting updated?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2016
I've read the Harry Potter series several times. This ebook left the dramatic ending out. While thankfully I know how the book really ends it was disappointing to not get the closure. It ended with Harry entering the chamber with the sorcerers stone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse