Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How and why some teams "shoot out the lights"...and most don't
Those who aspire to help create and then lead create teams that deliver high-impact results will find the material in this HBR book invaluable. It is one of the volumes in a series of anthologies of articles that first appeared in Harvard Business Review. Authors of the ten articles focus on one or more components of a process by which to boost team performance through...
Published on September 14, 2011 by Robert Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
Good illustrations. Bought this book for a class. It is fairly easy to read. Generally neutral feeling about this book.
Published 21 months ago by bonnie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How and why some teams "shoot out the lights"...and most don't, September 14, 2011
This review is from: Harvard Business Review on Building Better Teams (Paperback)
Those who aspire to help create and then lead create teams that deliver high-impact results will find the material in this HBR book invaluable. It is one of the volumes in a series of anthologies of articles that first appeared in Harvard Business Review. Authors of the ten articles focus on one or more components of a process by which to boost team performance through mutual accountability, motivate large and diverse groups, increase team members' emotional intelligence, salvage an under-performing team, prevent or overcome decision deadlock, extract excellent results from "a bunch of touchy superstars," compete constructively senior-level colleagues, and ensure productivity of far-flung teams.

Having read all of the articles when they were published individually, I can personally attest to the brilliance of their authors' (or co-authors') insights and the eloquence with which they are expressed. Two substantial value-added benefits should also be noted: If all of the articles were purchased separately as reprints, the total cost would be at least $60-75; they are now conveniently bound in a single volume for a fraction of that cost.

I now provide two brief excerpts that are representative of the high quality of all ten articles:

In "The Discipline of Teams," Jon Katzenbach and Douglas K. Smith offer some practical suggestions that are relevant to almost any team (whatever its objectives) in almost any organization (whatever its size and nature may be). They suggest that a team's essential discipline comprises five characteristics:

1. A meaningful common purpose that the team has helped to shape.
2. Specific performance goals that flow from the common purpose.
3. A mix of complementary skills.
4. A strong commitment to how the work gets done.
5. Mutual as well as individual accountability.

They also discuss several different approaches that have worked well for many high-impact teams:

o Establish urgency, demanding performance standards, and clear direction.
o Select members for skill and skill potential, not personality.
o Pay particular attention to first meetings and actions because initial impressions always mean a great deal, for better or worse.
o Set crystal clear rules of behavior

In "The Tough Work of Turning Around a Team," former NFL head coach Bill Parcells offers this advice:

"If you want to get the most out of people, you have to apply pressure - that's the only thing that any of us really responds to. As a coach, I've always tried to turn up the heat under my people, to constantly push them to perform at a high level.

"Creating pressure in an organization requires creating confrontation, and it can get very intense, very emotional. I've seen coaches avoid confrontations with their players because they don't like conflict, and I assume the same thing is true among the leaders of business teams. But I've actually come to relish confrontation, not because it makes me feel powerful but because it provides an opportunity to get things straight with people. It's nit until you look people in the eye that you get to the sources of their behavior and motivation. Without confrontation, you're not going to change the way they think and act."

Other articles in this anthology I especially enjoyed include "Why Teams Don't Work" (Diane Coutu), `Building the Emotional Intelligence of Groups" (Vanessa Urch Druskay and Steven B. Wolff), and "How Management Teams Can Have a Good Fight" (Kathleen M. Eisenhardt, Jean L. Kahwajy, and L.J. Bourgeois III).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Team Building, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvard Business Review on Building Better Teams (Paperback)
I manage a team of financial analyst whose job is to review our business performance, develop new strategies and drive the implementation of those strategies across our business. I bought this book to help build a better team environment because many of the tasks they do are individualistic.

With that said, this booked helped give me new and different ideas on how to grow the team, both horizontally as well as vertically.

Like most of the self-help type books it gives you some new ideas,some new ways to look at things and most importantly really makes you think about how to apply them to your team. There is a lot more "art" than there is "science" when it comes to developing people and this gives you some new colors to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!!!, August 18, 2013
By 
Tony (Charlotte,NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had a lot of great ideas that I have not thought about when managing a team. HBR has never let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars get your mind moving, May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book. I spent a few years coordinating projects and found this book insightful and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvard Business Review on Building Better Teams (Paperback)
Good illustrations. Bought this book for a class. It is fairly easy to read. Generally neutral feeling about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvard Business Review on Building Better Teams (Paperback)
This book is a compilation of multiple articles about team building. It is a great resource for anyone in a leadership position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what I needed for class, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvard Business Review on Building Better Teams (Paperback)
exactly what I needed for class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Harvard Business Review on Building Better Teams
Harvard Business Review on Building Better Teams by Bob Frisch (Paperback - May 10, 2011)
Used & New from: $16.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.